SAU Community

Ps3 Flop?

smurf80

Hey Guys I just bought a PS3 a week ago and love it to bits but Ive just been doing some reading around on the internet and alot of articles are calling it a flop due to no exclusive releases and the cancelation of the "emotion engine" PS2 chip and replacing it with software emulation. My question is is it going to be able to compete with the wii and Xbox360? I know it has only been on sale for 2 months or so but will it pick up and be a runaway success like the previous models?

• Replies 40
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Ahh yes. People aren't going to like what I would say. So i am going to keep my mouth shut unless some very stupid posts are put foward.

I will say that sony have hurt themselves with the PS3. And they are not in the position they would like to be. Remember that I also work in the industry and have a very good prospective of whats going on.

It will not dominate the market nearly as much as the PS2 did.

Also being in the industry here, and my feelings are that the battle ground is not on the gaming architecture itself but the war between HD-DVD and BluRay. Before the PS3, HD-DVD's were outselling BluRay like 4-1, since the PS3 launch in USA and UK - pretty much overnight BluRay titles outsold HD-DVD's. Now it's just been announced that BlockBuster have decided to exclusively stock BluRay discs. Effectively Sony has won the format war. That has flow-on effects for the company, in that it owns most of the major film and music labels. It was a simple but risky strategy for Sony, that's paid off, big time for them.

^^^

Yes also JB are only supporting Blu-Ray as well.

This is quote from PALGN.

The Sony High Definition Benchmark report, courtesy of marketing group GfK, has released information regarding the penetration of high definition products in Australia, and it appears as though Aussies are keen to embrace the new technology.