Fellow Skyliners,

Just wondering if any one has ever spun the rear wheel off their standard Turbo i've heard of this happening with the R33 series 2 turbos and R34GTT due to the ceramic rear wheel i've been running bout 12 psi for ages and just fitted a front mount in the last couple of weeks took her for a cruise tonight and noticed it was playin up a lil when i hit boost comin home it made a noisy pop noise and since that its runnin like a dog and not boostin at all pretty sure i've spun the rear wheel off but just wondering if any of you have done the same thing ive heard this is pretty common for a standard turbo runnig exesive boost but if any one has had the same syptoms/fate can you share your experiances with me

I will pull the turbo off on the week end to confirm what i think but whats your experiances with blown ceramic wheeled turbos guys???????

What part of the exhaust does the impeller end up getting court in? I do have a dump pipe, high flow cat and full 3'' exhaust any help appriciated.

Have you checked all the hoses???

Intercooler piping???

Sounds like an intercooler pipe or a hose has come off

Good luck :yes:

Had a quick check n have had a loose hose before you can still hear the turbo boostin but now boost is not present at all this time thats why im leaning towords the rear wheel spun off

Doesn't really sound like blown turbo, if you did blow it, it should just drive fine, but have no boost.

If the rear wheel was gone, you would not hear the turbo doing anything, because it wouldn't be doing anything.

Check AFM plug, close check over cooler hoses etc.

Edited by salad
Doesn't really sound like blown turbo, if you did blow it, it should just drive fine, but have no boost.

Do you know this for sure has this happened to you or a mate before just lookin for a heads up before i pull her down on the weekend??

It doesn't sound (from your description) that the turbo has fully blown or else there would be no instance of flutter... I think it's something else... checked your hoses, wastegate connection and intercooler piping... would it be an engine problem perhaps?

oh yes... yes it has happened to him.... only a few days ago :yes:

ever had this happen to any one you know man? Im freakin that it could be something more serouis?????????

Surely its happened to someone else B4

It doesn't sound (from your description) that the turbo has fully blown or else there would be no instance of flutter... I think it's something else... checked your hoses, wastegate connection and intercooler piping... would it be an engine problem perhaps?

G day mate how are ya

gott no flutter or boost what so ever only got a car runnin rough as

How ga go with your wing?

Well my turbo shit it over the weekend, but it didn't shoot the wheel off, it completely seized. My car still runs perfectly, it is just very gutless.

If your turbo was missing the rear wheel, it would still run nicely, should be better than mine too as it doesn't have a wheel in the exhaust that isn't moving.

Either way, think about it, if there is no rear wheel, what is left to drive the compressor? If you can hear it spool, or you get any positive boost at all, your rear wheel is still there.

Edited by salad
Well my turbo shit it over the weekend, but it didn't shoot the wheel off, it completely seized. Either way, think about it, if there is no rear wheel, what is left to drive the compressor? If you can hear it spool, or you get any positive boost at all, your rear wheel is still there.

Man ive got nothin no boost no positive pressure at all thats why i reckon its got something to do with the turbo, that makes sense hey??

it does run, but like crap the motor that is but cant hear the turbo at all and boost gauge shows no positive boost what so ever

(- Boost , There's No Boost, No boost here)

how about you list your mods here and we can make some assumptions.

Running 12PSI (bleed valve)

Trust Pod Filter

Front mount cooler

Dump pipe

Hi Flow Cat

Full 3'' Exhust (with cannon)

Extream HD Clutch

every thing else in the way of the motor is standard series Two items i.e. standard ecu, pistons, rings etc

Edited by SXY-33R

Oh my mistake, misread a few times and thought you said you could hear it spool and that it still boosted a little somehow? :yes:

Still, sounds a little odd that it would make it run like crap, unless R33s are different, mine still runs perfectly normally, it just chokes up at around 4000rpm, which yours shouldn't do as there would be nothing in the exhaust.

If you did lose the rear wheel, it will be stuck in the cat, so rip the dump off first and see if there's a wheel/bits of wheel in there.

Oh my mistake, misread a few times and thought you said you could hear it spool and that it still boosted a little somehow? :yes:

Still, sounds a little odd that it would make it run like crap, unless R33s are different, mine still runs perfectly normally, it just chokes up at around 4000rpm, which yours shouldn't do as there would be nothing in the exhaust.

If you did lose the rear wheel, it will be stuck in the cat, so rip the dump off first and see if there's a wheel/bits of wheel in there.

Salad thanks im really hopin thats all it is i was hoping to hear from someone that had the same thing happen to them to see how thier 33S2 ran after spittin the wheel off just for peice of mind .

G day mate how are ya

gott no flutter or boost what so ever only got a car runnin rough as

How ga go with your wing?

hey mate - if you get no fluttering sounds that means the turbo is not functioning at all - my mate's S15 had similiar situation - I think either your Turbo's disengaged itself (connection-wise) or it's blown. sorry to hear that mate, it sucks I know.

Yeah good thanks - after I got my old R33 GT-R wing damaged, I wanted something different and have stuck with the R34 Nismo Wing (without sides) on my R33 it looks tough as... so yeah, very happy with it.

let me know how you go mate...

ifs its running crappy, it could be running rich as well...does it make a rough sounds after 4500rpm?? lower the boost down to 7-8psi and go for a spin if its smoother , ur just running real rich.

also look at teh stock boost gauge, when u plant it , if it only sits on the vaccum side and not boost thats an indication that ur turbos gone

Well Lads n Lasses got a chance to pull the dump pipe off last night n guess what the rear impeller is goneskis it has shatted into little pieces n came to rest in the front of the cataletic converter so thanks heaps for your advice guys im glad its nothin major so high flow n steel wheels look out here i come.

^^^ :P

SXY-33R: Bad luck with the turbo, have a look into the Sliding Performance highflows, heaps of people seem to be having good luck with them and pulling some pretty respectable numbers. And at under $1000, it's definitely worth a think about :mrt: