Winton Sprints - Sat 28 July - Club C/ships Rnd 5

• Replies 105

If anyone is planning on driver training can they please shout out before saturday. Makes things a little easier to arrange on the day if its already sorted

Roy, can you teach me?

I wanna learn to drive like a fkn nutcase and from what I've been told, your the man..

:thumbsup:

Yay Ben rang me today, my car is all good and ready, so will be in for the Driver Training! ( I know such a noob but neway :P ) Will fax my form off tomorrow morning when I get to work :)

Hey Scotsman wanna be my most excellent instructor again? Still gonna be on street tyres though :) unless someone wants to loan me some semi's i'll repay you with much beer! :thumbsup:

Hey it says the bonnet needs 2 separate 'fastening systems' can someone clear this up... i take it the one already keeping the bonnet down is 1.. what else can be used for this?

And the 'Novice' Group.. is that the DT group for this event? The price is lower and talks about an instructor, so bets are that it is.

Anyone travelling down Sat morning?

Hey it says the bonnet needs 2 separate 'fastening systems' can someone clear this up... i take it the one already keeping the bonnet down is 1.. what else can be used for this?

And the 'Novice' Group.. is that the DT group for this event? The price is lower and talks about an instructor, so bets are that it is.

Anyone travelling down Sat morning?

Hey mate,

Yes the factory bonnet catch counts as the first fastening system, but cams expect a backup if it fails.

As far as im aware you can simple use a piece of rope, but i plan on using tie down strap (can purchase from any automotive store).

Paradizzle..you are on the money put the form in and just put DT. For bonnet restraint there are a few different options, from braided lines, to ratchet straps etc. A simple braided line looped around the support panel then through the underside of the bonnet, with a shackle to connect the two, is what i feel the easiest and safest option.

Ppl are generally all too happy to help with driver training. The usual suspects of Scotsman, Snowman, JAGR33, Aaron34, Belsil80 and me are the usual suspects. But there are other who if you feel more comfortable and woudl like to ask can show you around.

Just shoot them a PM and see if you can get it all arranged before the day :laugh:

Paradizzle..you are on the money put the form in and just put DT. For bonnet restraint there are a few different options, from braided lines, to ratchet straps etc. A simple braided line looped around the support panel then through the underside of the bonnet, with a shackle to connect the two, is what i feel the easiest and safest option.

Cheers for the reply mate, where can i get something simple like this from? Or has anyone got something like this lying around?

There are a few options, even as mooabque suggested you can use ratchet straps, but they are quite bulky and unsightly.

Go to your local Bunnings and grab some braided lineds with PVC sheathing. Its basically what ppl have on their clothes line so maybe downa few cans, grab some wire snips and flog some off your neighbour.

Then you just need a shackle to connect the two loops, and a few clamps so that when you loop it around the radiator support etc you can faster then two ends together. I normally have a few spare lyign around, but my kiity was raided at the recent Sandown and PI rounds, and unfortunately im under the pump at work this week so wont be able to arrange one for you, But its not complicated, its pretty simple. Just remember you iell need some bolt cutters to vcut the 6mm braid to the required length

doubt I will be able to drive...

which is shit! cos I just got stuff done to it ready fro action.

wanna lend me your car hahahahaha.... oh wait you have seen me drive :fakenopic:

I'm mega bummed about not making this, haven't been to winton yet and been hanging to go... stoopid cars... there is always next year:(

wanna lend me your car hahahahaha.... oh wait you have seen me drive :fakenopic:

I'm mega bummed about not making this, haven't been to winton yet and been hanging to go... stoopid cars... there is always next year:(

How are the repairs coming along mate?

Ditto, though my problems arent as big as yours. Still need new pads, tyres, have a cracked manifold and the shocks still a bit hairy. So just waiting for all the gear i have ordered to arrive

How are the repairs coming along mate?

just got the engine out and stripped last weekend... I'm posting a part list thread in the FI section now before I start splashing out with the wallet... I want to make sure I'm getting the right bits... doing the build ourselves, probably a big mistake but oh well!

trying not to rush it or go into any debt so could be a long process... I'm so impatient!

yeah Roy I reckon my car would have been good around Winton, the tires and suspension didn't like PI (I did tho!), its just too fast there but Winton would have been good