• Replies 42

I get 550 easily ! I just put on my bowling hat, keep my eye on the boost guage and try to keep it off boost as much as possible cause when you shove your foot in it the fuel guage needle moves faster than the speedo !!!

Ah..yeah... :rofl:

Maybe I need one of them there hats for me...... :wacko::)

That way my eyes would be glued to the centre console....... :D ...and not on the road.. :domokun:

The most economical trip I've ever done was in a R31 Wagon, roughly 480kms to 40L, driving from Sydney to a great little place called Gilgandra :D . Not fantastic, but considering the age and milage of the car I thought it was OK.

Around town it would burn around 30L of fuel for a week of roughly 150kms. Disgusting, but used to drive a little like a tool... and maybe not just a little. Oddly enough, got the same economy out of a Subaru Liberty (2.2L, flat 4 if your lazy :P ). It seems I burn that amount of fuel no matter what :rofl: .

My R33 though... well I've had it for just over a week so I don't know for sure what the fuel economy is going to be like. I fueled up last monday, have traveled a little over 210kms and the fuel guage says a little under half, and my driving style has been a mixed bag of cruising to and from work, and trying to keep up with my mate from work's RX-7 on Barrenjoey Road (I apologise for anyone that heard a rotary with a screamer pipe on Thursday night, apparently my definition of "cruising" is different from his :domokun: not that I didn't have fun though :) .)

And this weekend I'm traveling to this "Gilgandra" place again, so I hope that the economy is at least good enough to get me there :laughing-smiley-014:

As a side note, what size tank does a R33 GTS-t Series 2 (if I need to be so particular :wacko: ) have? I'm guessing around 60L, but I'm not too sure.

EDIT - Forgot to add stuff

Edited by Cassbo
The most economical trip I've ever done was in a R31 Wagon, roughly 480kms to 40L, driving from Sydney to a great little place called Gilgandra :D . Not fantastic, but considering the age and milage of the car I thought it was OK.

Around town it would burn around 30L of fuel for a week of roughly 150kms. Disgusting, but used to drive a little like a tool... and maybe not just a little. Oddly enough, got the same economy out of a Subaru Liberty (2.2L, flat 4 if your lazy :P ). It seems I burn that amount of fuel no matter what :D .

My R33 though... well I've had it for just over a week so I don't know for sure what the fuel economy is going to be like. I fueled up last monday, have traveled a little over 210kms and the fuel guage says a little under half, and my driving style has been a mixed bag of cruising to and from work, and trying to keep up with my mate from work's RX-7 on Barrenjoey Road (I apologise for anyone that heard a rotary with a screamer pipe on Thursday night, apparently my definition of "cruising" is different from his :D not that I didn't have fun though :nyaanyaa: .)

And this weekend I'm traveling to this "Gilgandra" place again, so I hope that the economy is at least good enough to get me there :laughing-smiley-014:

As a side note, what size tank does a R33 GTS-t Series 2 (if I need to be so particular :laugh: ) have? I'm guessing around 60L, but I'm not too sure.

EDIT - Forgot to add stuff

Interesting...I think it makes a difference if you have a daily drive or a weekender.

Starting up every morning and night..especially when she's cold draws lots of fuel..let alone running around to bank or what not.

While a car thats driven twice a week..weekend..less traffic.no need to hurry.etc etc..uses less fuel.

Birnie...GUILTY as charged, but I thought a new ones would create some interest.

I boost it once or twice each time I drive it and I drive mine every day, and yes...With the EBC on there the stock turbo spools up at the slighty throttle input.

I havent even looked at checking or getting the O2 sensor!!!..Should I????, Or is there a way to clean it and make it work better? maybe I will do a search Birnie....hehe. How much is a new one?

I have done the reset thingo a few times but seems to make no difference.

I used to drive from Avalon to Frenches Forest in Sydney each day and got consistently 12-14l/100KM (With a lead right foot and lots of boost :pirate: ) on the Highway it goes down to about 9-10L/100KM. I am running 7psi (boost solenoid mod) with 3" Catback and SAFC2 everything else is reasonably stock.

how do ppl get 500-600km's??

i drive soft and still get 400 max!!!

might put a bigger petty tank in save filling up as often!! lol

Easier to compare when it's L/100 rather than km's per tank... some people run it to the fuel light, others only go just above "E" before classing it as "a tank"

And simply put, it depends on the type of driving you do, tune, ecu etc..... 80% of my kms are hwy... I also have an aftermarket ecu which runs closed loop (I think thats what its called!).. Basically my car is tuned to run a certain way between certain rev ranges .. so on the freeway everyday between 2900 + 3200ish rpm (110km-120km/ph) I am running an economy tune - pretty sure its at around 7L/100.. as soon as I step outside of that rev range/fuel map its back up to chewing fuel...

Everytime I fill up around the same mark, always ends up being 10L/100 (450km to 44-45L)

in the missus pulsar (natro sr20) i am getting 10.5L/100kms from shell 95 unleaded. that is town driving, and mostly cold start enrichment. i only live about 5 mins from work so it comes up to full temp about 1km from work. and it is rather hilly where i live.

when i was running it on woolies fuel and fanging it a bit more i was getting about 12.5L/100kms. if i fang in on the 95 i get about 11.5L/100kms. but now my local shell got rid of the 95 stuff to get e10 and i'm not sure about running it. i just don't want it to pings it's arse off cause i have wound some more timing into it.

how do ppl get 500-600km's??

i drive soft and still get 400 max!!!

might put a bigger petty tank in save filling up as often!! lol

That would be heaps of freeway k's though.

Best I've ever got was approx 650kms before the light came on but that was freeway driving to NelsonBay and back, with no pushing it.

today i filled up about 50litres after 470kms commuting.

Since there are a few other vehicles in here My other vehicle gets, At Best 1.9kms per litre, and still goes 1800k's on a tank. Not bad for a 575hp 14L engine pulling 64 tonne hehe.

PICS !!

QUOTE(Turbo Dave @ 26 Jul 2007, 06:42 PM)

Since there are a few other vehicles in here My other vehicle gets, At Best 1.9kms per litre, and still goes 1800k's on a tank. Not bad for a 575hp 14L engine pulling 64 tonne hehe.

PICS !!

post-34973-1185493310_thumb.jpg

• 2 years later...

Hey guys, I have recently purchased an R33 gtr, what kind of milage does anyone with close to stock expect out of the old girl?

I have full 3" to cat from stock dumps and high flow 3" cat into 3.5" hks cat back. it seems to be running 1 bar on the defi boost guage, it doesnt have boost contorller at all. so exhaust must have bumped up the boost a little. these are the only engine mods to the car. turbos are stocko's.

any help would be much appreciated

Im seeming to average about 400km/tank down to the last line, not down to fuel light on.

How much does it have to go with fuel light on?

85URK