S2 Stagea RB25DET NEO

Over the past few weeks I've had to top up coolant every 2 days. So I took it to a radiator specialist this morning to have a look at. They found that the leak was coming from my top tank which they've had to replaced. Along with a test, full flush, tectaloy v plus, parts and labour it is costing me about $410. First question, am I being ripped here? Seems a bit steep doesn't it?

Second question... they reckon this is from early signs of a head gasket problem, causing too much pressure etc etc. I can't remember exactly. They also quoted me (worse case scenario $'s) for a complete head gasket fix/rebuild and the top tank replaced... $3000!

I've told them to go ahead with the top radiator and if the problem returns i.e. I get another leak from the "extra pressure caused by the gasket"... i'll have to have it looked at. :thumbsup:

edit: If the problem persist i.e. i still keep losing coolant, i will have to have the gasket looked at. One thing i noticed after picking up the car is that on the receipt it says their work isn't guaranteed because of the gasket problem which i didn't get them to fix. I don't have any other signs of gasket leaking like milky oil, bubbly radiator etc. What else could it be?

Edited by webng

$450 is about right for top tank replacement and flush etc.

well yeah head gasket repalcement is expensive. I don't know about $3000 but it would certainly be over $1000 and probably hit $2000.

$450 is about right for top tank replacement and flush etc.

well yeah head gasket repalcement is expensive. I don't know about $3000 but it would certainly be over $1000 and probably hit $2000.

Good to hear they're not ripping me off. They've been really helpful so far.

$3000 quote was for absolute worst case scenario, including the top radiator etc.

Is it worth getting someone else to have a look at it down the track? It's something that I definitely can't afford at the moment. Or can I leave it until my rad starts leaking somewhere else?

Is it normal to have a top rad replaced after 85000kms? Or is it just my bad luck?

EDIT: Does what he said sound right? i.e. beginnings of gasket leak causing over-pressure in the radiator. What are the chances of the rad leaking elsewhere after i get the top rad replaced? I suppose i'll find out huh...

Edited by webng

its not really possible what he says, re: over pressurising the radiator.

the pressure is limited to radiator cap pressure, if you get combustion gas leakage at the headgasket, it will usually push the coolant out of the engine/radiator into the expansion/overflow tank and then the combustion gas will just continue to leak out of radiator cap and into expansion tank and out to atmosphere.

this sort of problem is usually evident, because the expansion tank will fill up after a drive, but when it cools, it doesn't contract and suck the coolant back into the radiator from expansion, and you always think your radiator is low on coolant, but its only because its not recovering as it cools due to the combustion gas pressure (up to radiator cap max) in the engine/cooling system.

here's a thought

just jap sell alloy radiators for about $400, probably cheaper for forum users.

so if i was faced with reco'ing/repairing my radiator, i'd probably go for a new alloy one.

edit: link

http://www.skylinesaustralia.com/forums/in...howtopic=152383

Edited by Munkyb0y
here's a thought

just jap sell alloy radiators for about $400, probably cheaper for forum users.

so if i was faced with reco'ing/repairing my radiator, i'd probably go for a new alloy one.

edit: link

http://www.skylinesaustralia.com/forums/in...howtopic=152383

It was "only" the top tank that had to be replaced. All up it cost just over $400 with Tectaloy V-Plus coolant.

The car is getting tuned at Boostworx next Fri so might get Shaun to have a look at it then. What i don't understand is, shouldn't there be other signs of blown gasket like milky oil(?), bubbling radiator, rough idling etc? None of which have i seen... in fact the oil is amazingly clean, and the temp gauge has not had a look above half way. So....

Edited by webng

Bubbles should tell you of a head gasket problem. Did you overheat your car when you lost coolant?

I had my top tank let go and lost almost all the coolant, overheated (due to piece of shat R32 temp gauge). Luckily I stopped it prior to doing any engine damage, i.e., blown head gasket. Do a CO2 test.

I think my top tank replacement/flush cost about $200, and was probably like $50 for labour since my mate did it all.

Fixxxer

Bubbles should tell you of a head gasket problem. Did you overheat your car when you lost coolant?

I had my top tank let go and lost almost all the coolant, overheated (due to piece of shat R32 temp gauge). Luckily I stopped it prior to doing any engine damage, i.e., blown head gasket. Do a CO2 test.

I think my top tank replacement/flush cost about $200, and was probably like $50 for labour since my mate did it all.

Fixxxer

Everytime i drive i keep a close eye on the temp gauge, has not budge from mid level. car has been running perfectly, and still is. I really hope it isn't a head gasket, the $$ to get it fixed is coming straight out of the exhaust fund :sleep:

Well after driving around for a day, the coolant in the overflow bottle has dropped again. Nearly 3/4 of the bottle GONE. This is after spending $400 odd on the top tank replacement. Again, no other signs of head gasket problem.

top up the overflow bottle again and see if ur radiator is empty? Happened to me as well first day after I got my top tank replaced, there was an air pocket. After topping it up the 2nd time it was all ok..no problems eversince..and I monitor the overflow levels very regularly.

Done, will keep an eye over the next few days.

S2 Stagea RB25DET NEO

Over the past few weeks I've had to top up coolant every 2 days. So I took it to a radiator specialist this morning to have a look at. They found that the leak was coming from my top tank which they've had to replaced. Along with a test, full flush, tectaloy v plus, parts and labour it is costing me about $410. First question, am I being ripped here? Seems a bit steep doesn't it?

Second question... they reckon this is from early signs of a head gasket problem, causing too much pressure etc etc. I can't remember exactly. They also quoted me (worse case scenario $'s) for a complete head gasket fix/rebuild and the top tank replaced... $3000!

I've told them to go ahead with the top radiator and if the problem returns i.e. I get another leak from the "extra pressure caused by the gasket"... i'll have to have it looked at. :ermm:

edit: If the problem persist i.e. i still keep losing coolant, i will have to have the gasket looked at. One thing i noticed after picking up the car is that on the receipt it says their work isn't guaranteed because of the gasket problem which i didn't get them to fix. I don't have any other signs of gasket leaking like milky oil, bubbly radiator etc. What else could it be?

here in adelaide i was quoted $200 for a brand new top tank, pressure tested etc...

i had to take out the radiator and put it back in myself though. but when i took the radiator out it was rooted and leaking in the core. so ended up getting a new one for $320

in other news i aciddently over filled my overflow tank past the max line...are there any adverse affects from doing this.

i will flush out it tomorrow.

you guys say you should monitor the overflow bottle yeah? what is it that i am actually looking for? what is the job of the overflow bottle? is it supposed to increase or decrease in coolant level

anyone with expertise wanna comment?

sorry for the noob questions!

cheers in advance

Kind regards,

:laugh:

Edited by R33LIN

Well, the coolant seems to be keeping in the overflow bottle now since the first drop after the top tank change. Must have been an air pocket after all. Did an oil change too, and oil is very clean, no bubbles in the radiator... getting a second opinion this Fri about blown gasket.

I filled mine to about 1cm over the max line too, don't think there's much adverse affect

The air bubble problem is preety common. When i sold my old 32 to a mate after a while of having it he noticed it was losing coolant. We located the loss of coolant to the water pump...(followed the drip) Apprently the waterpump will leak coolant out slowly when it is on its way out to indicate it is stuffed.

He got it fixed and replaced at a local workshop but when i went to the workshop to pick it up with him i noticed that they were flat out and had obviously only squeezed his car in between jobs.

Anyway the point is a day later he took the car for a drive and it started overheating! Luckily he was driving near my house and pulled in. My brother was home and took a look at it. There were a few problems- the top radiator hose was not fitted properly but also the raditor seemed as though it had just been filled and nothing else.

It is important to get as much of the air as you can out of the lines etc when changing radiator fluid. This is SIMPLE on a RB because they have a screw on top of the block that you crack open and leak air out of while running the car. With 32's im preety sure you have to run the heater at full while doing as well (the rb25 shouldnt need this done from memory).

When doing mine i also tape a coke bottle with the bottom chopped off into the raditor upside down and run the car. When the car hits temp and opens the thermostat you can see HEAPS of air bubling out into the coke bottle and you just have to keep topping the radiator up as the air comes out.

I was suprised how much extra fluid i put in after running the car likes this for 10 minutes. It would have been nearly another 1/2 litre!

Anyway this may not help you but just a word of advice. Also i stole this idea of filling the raditor off Simon so you know its good :)