yeah understand. I'II just replace and see what happens, as u can see its not all that bad however he has done a few other setups with the same hi-flow setup and it comes on a bit better..I think the power is about as good as its going to be with a hi-flow

• Replies 41

youve got a spot on response - you cant get much better

more negative camber is required...adjustable arms is the go now..pitty I cant drive my car.

BTW...thumbs up to RE for the good result before! :nyaanyaa: They should be an SAU sponsor now yeah?? hehe

TD06 on an RB25 is awesomely responsive. I never got to go for a drive in it. But a friend raves about this setup . You only have to look at my bucket that is giving away 500cc and 0.5:1 compression to the RB25s to see how good a turbo the TD06-20G is.

Throw some more boost at the 3037 though and it will walk away from the other two setups

You have to remember that the RB20s run different gearboxes and diff ratios so the rpm vs power is different. But where it counts, road speed to power etc. You would think Bass Junky's car with cams and high flow on an RB25 woudl blow the RB20 with a laggy TD06 into the water...but results are very surprising.

So whose td06 is it anyway Paul? Funny thing is I was actually on the market for one (even contemplated getting yours Roy) but when this came up, and for the price I got it for, I couldn't refuse. When I saw the setup in person I was amazed, the turbo was almost brand new, it still had all the balancing marks on it and razor sharp edges.

As for the power, remember that it drops 1 psi across the rev range in that dyno, yes I know it doesn't sound like much but when you look at that on 14 psi it was making a shade under 255 rwkw, and then at 16 (trailing off to 15 in the higher revs) it jumps to 280rwkw.

Now to get the SAU VIC membership and start hitting the track!

khunjeng that result is by far the most impressive for a high flow I’ve ever seen! What brand is it? I’ve only ever seen two high flows perform that well, one was a GCG owned by a guy on here, umm I think his name was devilfish or something with fish in it, and I once saw a massive AVO high flow do that.

Bring on the forged engine!!! (and ensuing poverty)

So whose td06 is it anyway Paul?

I think i know whose it is :thumbsup:

Go the mid range of the RB20 :ph34r:

gallery_462_50_14883.jpg

Up until Paul noticing the other day. I had been keeping it pretty quiet that my thing made way more power, way sooner then many of the RB25s out there making the same power. No doubt has to do with the gearing that my road speed means slightly higher rpm...but still, for a std RB20 with a turbo slapped onto it....it punches pretty damn hard :rolleyes:

I think i know whose it is :thumbsup:

Go the mid range of the RB20 :ph34r:

gallery_462_50_14883.jpg

Up until Paul noticing the other day. I had been keeping it pretty quiet that my thing made way more power, way sooner then many of the RB25s out there making the same power. No doubt has to do with the gearing that my road speed means slightly higher rpm...but still, for a std RB20 with a turbo slapped onto it....it punches pretty damn hard :rolleyes:

thats pretty impressive...explains why I see you car (on the occasion) and it looks like its flying

My Highflow...dont like to advertise it, its been developed by my tuner and a turbo joint. I'm a happy with its performance, cam gears got it going.

However yours on 15-16psi and ur making some nice power...looks pretty good to me

I up the boost and the thing near kills me. I wind the boost down to about 230 odd and the thing is entertaining to drive. Its a real shame i didnt have the camera in the car at last years Dutton/Sandown when i ran 1.5bar. The thign was very hairy to drive...good thing it was only for 1 lap :rolleyes: No way i woudl drive PI etc at full boost until i get new suspension

Mate, I've gotta hand it to you, that is by far the most impressive curve for an rb20 I have EVER seen, and by no means is a td06 a small turbo. I have never actually heard the full specs of your engine, does it run cams, who tunes it? Have you run it down the 1/4 on that boost? Geese I'm speechless, i have a mate with a td06s on a 25, and his got a very similar curves to that

I up the boost and the thing near kills me. I wind the boost down to about 230 odd and the thing is entertaining to drive. Its a real shame i didnt have the camera in the car at last years Dutton/Sandown when i ran 1.5bar. The thign was very hairy to drive...good thing it was only for 1 lap :thumbsup: No way i woudl drive PI etc at full boost until i get new suspension

I feel ya troy. When I run mine on 1.3bar max torque hits at about 4500 and is violent! heheh Yours would be quite exciting.

Hey Paul, thanks for that comparison, its nice to actually have a solid evidence of my progress. As for traction, through 1st its non existant, 2nd it hooks up at about 5 grand and just takes off from there. Admittedly, my suspension is set up for drift with stiff zeal coilovers all round (cant remember the rates off the top of my head). The best thing about all of this is the satisfaction I get from driveing something I built.

Milan: The car didnt even hit knock levels at 16psi which is all it ever sees now that I've sorted the boost control and it carries nice afrs throughout the rev range. On here its a pretty normal occurance to see rb25s running 300rwkw throughthe likes of gt30/40's and 35/40's on stock internals. But I still dont like running it internally stock, hence why I'll be getting an engine built within the coming months and then aiming for spot on 300rwkw (around 20 psi should see me there). Im just thinking to stick with the 25, or go 25/30 and a bigger exhaust housing, any suggestions?

Hmm that sounds about right, you really done your home work. In my case i didnt really know much about cars so i would be doing it the old fashioned way, trial and error :thumbsup:. I had my stock t28 boosted to 15 and i was making 201.8kw at the wheels, i drove the car around the corner and my clutch went.... so im guessing you must have changed that hehe

I cant really say much on what you are planning to do because none that i know has done those sort of conversions, as in 25/30, but it does sound interesting. Im guessing it will cost you a bit more to do, but i reckon just stick with the 25, i mean hell there will be a very very few people that can beat you on the roads....

Hell in my car i only lost to this red sylivia thats in dandenong.... aperently its a ca18 but he cleaned me off....

still its nice to see that somebody takes their time and does things correctly and gets positive results, cheers

Mate, I've gotta hand it to you, that is by far the most impressive curve for an rb20 I have EVER seen, and by no means is a td06 a small turbo. I have never actually heard the full specs of your engine, does it run cams, who tunes it? Have you run it down the 1/4 on that boost? Geese I'm speechless, i have a mate with a td06s on a 25, and his got a very similar curves to that

Its a completely std RB20 with cam gears tuned by Racepace on Shell 100. I ran it at the drags with 14psi on old bald RE55s for a 12.9 @113mph with a 2.25sec 60ft time. I dont have the heart to launch it hard because of the std gearbox. I would hope i could improve on the 12.9 now that i have a diff, wind some more boost in with the comfort of having an RB25 box to go in. But who knows, maybe 12.9 will be as quick as it ever runs ?!?!?!

So I'm guessing that boost was when you cranked it up to 21 psi then? Do you have a copy of you 14 psi run? I would be interested to see how the midrange behaved when the boost was turned up. A 12 secound pass is by no means slow for an rb20.

On a totally different note, do you have many problems with you highmount setup and the screamer on the street? I originally wanted 2 go stealth lowmount, but like I said, when this package came along it was too good to refuse. Also, how is your Greddy manifold holding up? When I was having a chat to the guys at Rank Rotary the other day they said that because its such thin stainless it wouldn't last long, have you had any issues?