hey guys im new hear and thought id ask you guys something. first off my names scott at the moment im driving a early 2000 model subaru rx now its not 100% mine you see we have to have 2 cars at home and parents got the subaru as our second car because we dont have to pay for the ford and the petrol for it as well.anyway i pay for the fuel and servicing for it so its kinda half mine and i respect it cause i respect cars. first off im not a spoilt brat i work hard for my money and i have saved up alot so far this is because they are getting rid of the subaru because mum wants a ford focus so its time i start looking for my own. now i get off my p's next year i can drive a turbo if i want but i dont think id have enough money for insurance and all the other extra stuff for a turbo car. now im thinking of getting a r34 gt just because i love skyline's as well as subaru's. now do you think these would be quicker then a subaru rx? its probably a hard question because most of you probably havn't driven one but hopefully some of you have because they are very quick cars and i just want to get a car with more power or same i dont want one with less. now dont jump down my throat saying subaru's are shit skylines are the best because for me i love both and after all they come from the same country. anyway back to my question are there engines very strong in the r34? and whats there acceleration like? anyway one of my main questions is are they better performance wise and reliability wise compared to a rx or would they perform about the same. i know i probably won't get an answer with the difference between them but i thought id ask anyway. i have been doing alot of research on the forum and all you guys know alot so i trust ill get a good answer.just so you know i love both and know a fair bit about both but just not too much about n/a skylines, thanks for reading this and thanks in advance for answering my questions.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/182362-choosing-a-new-car/

man use some spaces and get to the point in your posts, that is so hard to read!! :laughing-smiley-014: it looks like your questions are:

are the engines very strong in the r34 and what are they like to drive?

R34 vs Subaru rx power, acceleration wise?

Well I haven't driven either car before, but I would recommend that you calculate power to weight ratios of both cars to give you an idea of speed, also see if you can find 0-100 times. I've driven an R33 which is similar but not the same and it goes quite well for what it is. Smooth acceleration and quite quick when you rev it out. Hope this helps. :P

Edited by Greg

thanks man ill try and find there weight i only ask this question because i dont want to get a slower car but i dont want massive power at the moment either. a little less than the ford ba would be good cause i know they have more power, my parents own one and they are pretty damn fast and sound good at high revs ( good ol straight 6) i get to drive it to work sometimes. anyway love this forum it has lots of info and good people also. ill probably be asking some more questions in the future so get ready lol.

I know what you mean about not wanting to downgrade mate, it's hard to go back. I feel the same but more with handling - I can't stand driving a stock car, it's way too floaty. I think an R34 would be a good car for your requirements, not to mention a very sexy looking machine :P

Edited by Greg

thanks mate you have been a great help with my decision. cant wait to get it and do a advanced driving course. ill probably test drive one to see what the power is like, thats probably a smart thing to do i reckon lol.

I am not about to Rip on Subi's but i do own a Nissan skyline R34GT and i adore her. It is by far the BEST car I have owned. its my 1st Skyline And My Last my family members have quoted to me. Is some one was to crash in to me i do not wanna be with u Ron.

But R34 Vs Rx just follow ur heart man and pick ur dream ride and she will treat u tops :thumbsup:

post-39714-1188353196_thumb.jpg

the r34 gt are really a pleasure to drive, they are very comfortable. and they dont feel heavy

i found that going from a hyundai excel, to my r34 gt, it didnt feel like i was going into a "bigger" car, still feels like a small one :D

My 2 Cents: I would never buy one over the skyline, but you wont find many keep up with one through the twisties. Ive driven both, and with well sorted suspension u cannot beat the 4wd with similarly experienced drivers.

i think ill probably go the skyline i love the look of the r34. the only way id go for a subaru again would be if it was a wrx, only because its starting to get annoying when it bogs down and hills can sometimes be a bitch i have to get my revs right up to get going nicely up the hill (also ill add the subaru is automatic.) the only way i beat people on the hill is that i can take the inside faster compared to the other guys.oh and also because i want that burble sound that only a wrx can have. ill test drive an r34 soon hopefully they have more get up and go and can climb a hill easily. not hear to make fun of any cars but i cant see myself in a magna because they remind me of an old people car who drive real slow and my granparents own one as well.thanx for all the comments guys please feel free to keep them coming they are being very helpful.

ps. its such a hard decision because i love cars, my all time fav car is mustangs but i cant get one of those yet and i love the subaru and skyline equally they both are fantastic cars and they both look really nice ( except for the new subaru coming out).anyway im still young so eventually ill own them in some point of my life.

i have a 1994 R33 GTS25 and 2002 2.5L RS Impreza...

both cars are totally worlds apart, the skyline has a no expenses spared track suspension setup (brakes, swaybars, shocks, springs, lockbar, bushes, strut braces, etc). it is a fun car that i actually take to the track and enjoy thrashing - it's a real drivers car i'd say.

the Impreza only has a catback exhaust. the extra 500cc makes it heaps punchier than a mate's wrx, and i am quite confident that it would definitely hold its own, if not beat the wrx through the tight corners of a mountain. the RS isn't as revvy as the skyline, and is more of a punchy everday car. like john said, you really can't beat the 4wd system. it could do with bigger brakes though.

it has 4 doors, standard with bucket seats and is 8 years newer than the skyline so they are hardly comparable.

you do pay more for the 2.5L versions than the RX/GX 2.0L ones.

are they the ones that look like the fastback mustangs. i have a pic in one of my magazines with that car and he put a kit on it and it looks like a gt 500 from gone in 60 seconds it looks good but it wont sound as good or go as good as one of them lol. but i think id like to get a 67 or 68 mustang in the future just to cruise in and have my skyline for track days and cruising and take out my wrx for that nice burble lol i wish. anyway looks like ill be getting a r34 cant wait to get it so i can become a member and drive around and meet all of you guys and girls.