Ok, i'm jumping in on this whole "what next car should i get thingo" :)

I've been doing a bit of thinking over the last few weeks. Its about time I got my ass into gear and bought a property, so one day i can afford that GTR and be able do whatever I want to it.

So in a couple of months I think I'm going to sell the R33 *sniff*, get something a bit cheaper, and whack the difference towards my first house (yay). I'm sick of renting and and all the associated crap that goes along with it..

I've pretty much narrowed my next car down to two possibles, which i should be able to pick up for i'm hoping $10-$14k... and then over time spend $10k on mods to get a seriously quick car if i have the desire and/or $ to do.

1) R32 GTS-T or possibly GTS4 (baby GTR .. tasty!)

Pros:

* know a bit about skylines now, which can apply to 32

* Another of the set :) (lol - used to own a R31, now the R33)

* GTS4 would be awesome, but maybe hard to find a nicey

* i think they look a bit dated without the kit + rims

* can pick and choose from Japan (am in no hurry)

Cons:

* gets to around that 160rwkw "barrier" where you have to start rebuilding the engine and bigger turbo (i wouldn't muck around - straight to 240rwkw if i did)

* getting a bit common - seems to be the p platers entrylevel car which i don't really want to be associated with.

* might be hard to find a good one

2) 180sx (93 or 94 model.. with the SR20DET)

Pros:

* light (1230kg) and chuckable

* with $8k of mods (roughly what i was working out) I can have a guaranteed 12s street car

* bit newer than a R32 for same price

* they are a bit of a sleeper, not as many around as skylines, S13s, S14s or S15s

* parts and upgrades seem to be cheaper than for skylines

* more "fun" ??? good for drifting, thrashing etc ??

* its got a HUD!

* something different to a skyline

* i don't need really need rear seats anyway.

* pretty much same goodies as a skyline has from what i can tell??

Cons:

* regarded as Cheap (do they feel cheap to drive?)

* will lose value probably quicker than a 32

* could be thrashed - altho i'd prolly import to avoid this

What do you guys think I should do???

I know I will probably get a pretty biased response in here but its worth asking ;) I'm probably leaning towards the R32 at the moment, but 180's seem like a good alternative to the obvious. I'm just thinking "fun" when it comes to the 180.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/18356-r32-or-180sx/

• Replies 43

are you gonna strip yer r33 before u sell it?

if so i got shotguns on yer safc

oh and r32 man

i reckon r32s are way better than r33s even tho they don't have the same power. Its jus this different feeling you have when you sit in it. the dash and controls may be dated but the car feels faster than an r33. r33 you can floor it and it still feels you are doing 60 even tho it says 90

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/18356-r32-or-180sx/#findComment-383884

ahhh, the perfect guy to talk to, having owned both :)

I was noticing that, but i would spend a bit retrimming the interior (new seats, etc) I think to fix a bit of that. I think i like smaller - my R33 is really too big for what i need it for most of the time anyway. Do the 180 seats fold down?

And where will you be buying this property?  

I want a nice property not miles from anywhere and not an overpriced shoebox to live in, so you can probably see my current line of thinking smooth :)

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/18356-r32-or-180sx/#findComment-383892

R32

out my way the 180 sx is the entry level car an upgrade from a silvia and are becoming doo damn comon and everyone thinkes they are a drifter

sayin that my mate has a nice 180 that wil be for sale soon

but they are hard to find one that is not thrashed

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/18356-r32-or-180sx/#findComment-383894

raza: I woudln't be throwing $10k at the car at first, just do the basics (exhaust, pod, boost a bit) and then consider the other things after i'd bought a place. Like u said, i don't want to be stuck in the same position as now.

haha chop.. always the one to spot an opportunity :) Well i'll see, i'll try and sell it "whole" due to less stuffing around, but if not i'll start stripping it back to stock, and sell stuff like the HKS FMIC, SAFC etc separately... yer, i've noticed that too about the speed thing - holds the same when you're doing um, way illegal speeds.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/18356-r32-or-180sx/#findComment-383906

hehe i've had both... altho wierd varieties of both... had a CA18DET 180 and an RB20DE R32. In my opinion, 180sx is more fun to drive (more fun than a GTS-t) its so chuckable. Interior... R32 wins hands down, you'll feel much more comfy and less cramped in a R32. Standard equipment on an R32 also owns 180s.

Tunability... 180s respond better to the same type/amount of tuning as an R32 GTSt. Its also cheaper. Spare mechanical parts are easier to source from nissan dealers as the 200sx was a local model and it shares a lot of parts with its predecessor.

If I were you, I'd get a 1989 180sx or GTSt (cheap as chips :)) and then spend about 7 grand doin it up/engine rebuild. Total cost would be about $14k and you'd have a monsta... well that's what I'm doin anyways.

I'm on the lookout for a nice GTS4, found about 3 1989 models all goin for about 300,000 Yen (ruffly 2.7 grand)

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/18356-r32-or-180sx/#findComment-384041

there are a few nice kits out there.. gpsports has a few that grabbed my interest

180typeRfront.jpg

180-gt4kit01.jpg

hmmm.. black, it would have be black!

Inasnt: much as i would like to, it has just been costing me too much each month to be able to save enough, and continue modding my car. I think i just have to do something cheaper for a while :)

Thats my plan too, once i get the house get the GTR or whatever on the home equity.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/18356-r32-or-180sx/#findComment-384050

i dont see why u would bother getting it to do it up... the whole idrea is for u to save money... in which case u would be better off getting a lightly moded R32 from japan... every car has been thrashed and if ui ask me the entry level turbo is an S13 or 180... i see double the amount of them on the rds than i do r32s.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/18356-r32-or-180sx/#findComment-384065

yeah ditto to inark

evey second japanese car these days is an s13 whether it be 180 or silvia - definately the entry-level turbo car

plus, from memory many things eg hicas/LSD were not standard on 180s like they are on skylines. options include HUD, LSD, HICAS, fridge in glovebox, sunroof. The more you want the more it costs and the skyline could end up cheaper...

also, r32s looks heaps better (180s look like the older 300zx from the back) and if you want longevity you can't go past the rb series of engines!

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/18356-r32-or-180sx/#findComment-384102

no longer $14k, max is about $8k if you are a first time home buyer and you buy brand new...[of course I got the 14k :P].

Sounds good Gordo!

I like the look of late model 180sx's, 98. but I dont like the older ones much, I see lots of them around. P-platin drifters, pft.

R32 looks nicer and from what these guys are saying it sounds like the better buy too.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/18356-r32-or-180sx/#findComment-384230