I have owned both R33 GTS-t and MY98 WRX and think both are magnificent cars.

I was just wondering what you all think about the two and what positives and negatives they have over the other...

ME- Skyline was very smooth to drive and had fun drifting the occasional corner. Very powerful for both 0-100KM and for overtaking. Had minor trouble cornering (compared to WRX). A very sexy car.

WRX Extremely grippy and quick of the mark. A lot rougher to drive yet would consider it faster than the Skyline, and has excellent overtaking power. Extremely good around corners and sticks well. Has a menacing look.

overall the WRX is a great car but all aside I wish I had my skyline again as it was simply "more fun"

(Anyone want to swap a WRX for an R33 GTS-t??);)

WHAT DO YOU ALL THINK??

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/18416-wrx-vs-r33/

blx... Done anything to the GTST or WRX??? Helps to compare! I've been looking at a WRX simply because the wagon can carry more gear! I love my 4dr and have driven both and agree with everything you have said... if both cars are standard!!! With kid's seat in the back now I have to consider space though! Still thinking...

iijj

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/18416-wrx-vs-r33/#findComment-385268

I think the Skyline has to have the edge in the performance stakes. It used to be that everyone was comparing their "fast" cars to WRX's, but these days more and more people are comparing them to Skylines.

Why? Stock, Skylines are slower from 0-100 (GTS-t's anyway) but the fact of the matter is that most Skylines aren't stock. So now people compare their "fast" HSV's and XR8's etc to "stock" Skylines, because the numbers are in their favour. But deep down they have to know that their cars still don't stand a chance against Skylines like what are owned by most people in this forum. So they go on quoting the stock figures.

Skylines tend to have more potential than WRX's because they run mild boost in stock form, whereas the WRX is already starting at 14psi on a smaller engine. WRX gearbox fragility is another reason why it costs more to go wild on WRX mods. The GTS-t's box is strong enough to handle over 250rwkw. In the twisties and offroad the WRX probably has the handling edge over a RWD Skyline. But that's what ATTESSA is for ;)

Personally I like the WRX, at least the older, smaller version. I think it copped a lot of unfair flak because of perceived wankerness of its drivers, but to be honest, I have hardly ever seen a "wanker" in a WRX! I think I have gunned my 'line more often than I've seen WRX's gunned, so in theory I'm more of a wanker. Although I have also seen more Commodores and Falcons gunned than anything else, so go figure on that one :P

If I wanted a performance cargo carrier I think I would get a WRX wagon. Can't see it happening though, unless I somehow come into a lot of money so I can buy a car for every occasion.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/18416-wrx-vs-r33/#findComment-385389

Originally posted by DanS15

Yeah of course, thats why I said good GTRs. I wouldn't compare an S15 to a GTR. Remember there are many GTRs out there with some mods and still running an original 10 to 12 year old engine. Lucky if they could run mid 14's I reckon. I beleive the Stock Jap Spec S15 runs a 13.8 or thereabouts. Whats a stock R32 GTR run? Couldn't be much lower than that.

HAHAHA, ummm no you are totally wrong there!

It doesnt matter how old they are really. Unless they are totally buggered, they will always run a low or flat 13 second quarter. Some even dip into the 12's STOCK!!!! Its not unheard of.

I dont know where you get that figure of a mid 14. Thats what a stock GTS-T will do.

I think youre underestimating the GTR by a fair bit.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/18416-wrx-vs-r33/#findComment-394085

Guest Cray Zee Boy

Read an article about GTR's a year ago. They did a correvit test on the R32, completely stock with about 100k on it) and even without launching they managed to reel off a 13.92 1/4. GTR's are a lot quicker than people think.

Getting back to the WRX V. Skyline thing, I got a WRX now, got rid of the 25t. Both are 1996 in year. I don't find the WRX loud at all. It revs about 200 rpm higher at 100km/h than the skyline.... don't know what your points are? Have driven both in anger.... and found the WRX just as easy to get sideways as the Skyline ever was. The WRX is quicker of the mark, quicker to overtake but doesn't have the same top speed, but that's no problem..... I don't know anywhere that you can do over 200km/h on the road nowadays. The other thing you need to be careful of, is that comparing an Oz or NZ spec WRX to a JDM spec, the JDM will absolutely toast the other on every count, wagons are also underpowered.

At the end of the day, you might as well as the new Mini Cooper S into the comparison as that has about as much in common as the other two cars do.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/18416-wrx-vs-r33/#findComment-394121

ok, i have driven 32 gtst, 33 gtst (both lightly modded), the first 4 door WRX STi to come to aus, a bug eye STi and the latest STi, as well as a manual spec R and a auto Spec S.

Now, firstly the first 4door STi was totally mad, but I had only just got my license and hadnt driven that many turbos hard before it... it handled like nothing before and went and felt very fast. The bug STi handled well and compared to some of the GTST's I went against (see pic below). Again, it handled really well but it didnt feel quick at all... it sounded like a dud (but 10x better than stock wrx). The latest STi has really got back to the roots... it handles like a dream, is farken quick and feels quick too. Have also driven std bugeye and old wrx... the old one was heaps better.. the bugeye just feels way to refined.

the s15's were both stock std aus spec and felt pretty slow, and sounded like shit... although they were hella fun for drifting around every corner i came accross.

the skylines are in a class of their own, as both had zorst and pod filters.... they felt quicker, sounded quicker.... and nothing i think beats the turbo 6. But especially the 33, it is a farken whale of a thing compared too the s15's... (also, s15 has the best interior out of skyline and silvia)

also, Cray Zee Boy, mini cooper s... are pretty slow, but are fun to drive... feels like you are in a really mini when u burn it through the hills.. very sharp handling, a bit scary at times.

pic2.jpg

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/18416-wrx-vs-r33/#findComment-394149

Originally posted by dAVE

the skylines are in a class of their own, as both had zorst and pod filters.... they felt quicker, sounded quicker.... and nothing i think beats the turbo 6. But especially the 33, it is a farken whale of a thing compared too the s15's... (also, s15 has the best interior out of skyline and silvia)

I always find it weird that people feel the R33 GTS25t is a whale (I realise what you're saying above dAVE, cos it is a whale to the S15, I'm just about to get a little off topic). I've only been in a couple of R32s, but the 2.0L engine just doesn't put out enough to lug it around. The 2.5L is a sweet engine and the R33 is only 40kg more than the R32. That does not qualify it for whale status if you ask me. Or is it called a whale because of the shape? So why do people call the 33 a whale when comparing it to the 32.

Sorry for the off-topicness.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/18416-wrx-vs-r33/#findComment-394986

i find it just feels ALOT bigger than the 32... and of course the S15... however, jump in a Toyota Soarer and start trying to drift that, then you really feel like your in a whale.

the 33 is still a great handling car... it just feels alot bigger in the rear than the others. As a note, it is actually a longer car than my hilux surf... and its a 2 door coupe, compared to a 4 door 4wd!.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/18416-wrx-vs-r33/#findComment-395047

Originally posted by dAVE

i find it just feels ALOT bigger than the 32... and of course the S15...  however, jump in a Toyota Soarer and start trying to drift that, then you really feel like your in a whale.

the 33 is still a great handling car... it just feels alot bigger in the rear than the others. As a note, it is actually a longer car than my hilux surf... and its a 2 door coupe, compared to a 4 door 4wd!.

dude

soarers are heaps lighter then R33's

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/18416-wrx-vs-r33/#findComment-395211