The Nissan Skyline-9th Best Sportscar Of Alltime

wizlb

You make this gushing statement about the 911 and then in the same breath, quote Clarkson on how its a glorified beetle!!

The two are not mutually exclusive. The 911 is one of the best sports cars in modern history. Hands down. Its not a supercar though. Its no Carrera GT. It doesn't stand with the Enzo or Murcielago (or the new Revention). Try reading my comments in context (sports car vs supercar), although I've come to the realisation that its probably beyond your grasp.

The 911's lineage comes from when Ferdinand Porsche failed to convince Adolph Hitler to have the People's Car company release a sporting variant of the People's Car Hitler envisioned and Porsche designed, the car known colloquially as the Beetle.

So Ferdinand Porsche started his own company, and built the sports car he wanted on his chassis...the Porsche 356. The 356 was later replaced by a larger version of the vehicle, known as the 911.

History bears out Clarkson's comment as technically correct, although obviously his delivery (in the manner it was delivered) shows his bias against Porsche. Sorry that the facts aren't to your liking, but then reality doesn't need your approval.

A supercar should never be derived from a passenger car chassis. A supercar should be bespoke in every way, which rules the 911 out. A sports car can be based on anything, which is why a FWD to AWD converted shopping trolley like an Impreza varint can be as much a sports car as a thoroughbred such as a TVR or Lotus.

That's why the next GT-R, with the chassis bespoke and focused only towards performance, might be the first Japanese car with the power to be truly worthy of the title of "supercar"...although to be honest the projected 350kW is SFA these days when glorified taxis are making 307kW.

• Replies 199

ther is no opinion needed. the f430 is classed as a supercar. period.

and i cant belive u actually think that a gtst could take an f430 in a race.....hahahahahahahahahahaha, classic.

so ur gtst overtook some guy goin slow around a corner in his f430...hahahah, oh yeh...the gtst is obviously the better performance car, hahahahahahahahaha!

the fact that u are quite clearly homophobic is another issue.

1. overtaking was done at the Dutton Rally... you know... the famous national one where cars of all makes and models face off on tarmac rallies.

2. f430 was taken by GTSt. The results of which are chronicled on http://www.duttonrally.com and the latest CAMS newsletter. In fact check out the leaderboard. R34 GTR came out on top in the VIC leg... over porsches, ferrari's and even some shmooze in a aston martin company car.

3. this forum is a discussion vessel used by people of many views and opinions. One of whom you are, and your view is as unique as you are. Try to understand that other people as resolute as you can exist in this world.

4. and this is the most important point I'm going to make... you seemed to have glossed past the fact that all the people posting in this thread are taking the piss, including Roy, me and many others. Roy's resolve to defend the mighty RB20 over any V8 twin turbo or V12 prancing shetland pony produced automobile is well known on this forum. To the point where its a running joke.

Unfortunately from your posts it seems that you're not used to the slight nuances of the forum, don't let your emotions get stirred up unnecessarily :)

He's not the only one that appears to be humour impaired, especially when it comes to satire.

They'd probably find the Chaser's War on Wanker License plates to be offensive, rather than amusing.

He's not the only one that appears to be humour impaired, especially when it comes to satire.

They'd probably find the Chaser's War on Wanker License plates to be offensive, rather than amusing.

was that your attempt at humour fluffball?

im going for facts despite knowing Roy is especially biased towards his lump of an Rb 20..

i reckon Roy dreams about the time he passed that 430 for years to come! :)

Hey Im an American and ya our burgers are largest

The show also pointed out one big problem to. why the skyline as it is now will never be on the roads there.

The shows host said the car can get up to 1000HP, and with that kind of HP in the hands of a young man....America said H..l know.

Peace

The problem actually is that an importer called Motorex was less than honest with the US DOT and the ability to import Skylines was pulled. I'd like to get mine back home to the states but importing GTR's now is virtually impossible.

Ferrari is what dreams are made of! i swap my left and right balls for one lol!

I'll never argue that a Ferrari isn't a fantastic car however I would point out that when the R33 GTR set the lap record at Nurbergring the Ferrari's, 911's, et al at that time couldn't best it. The advance of technology means that many "moderate" performance car today can outperfrom the supercars of yesterday.

was that your attempt at humour fluffball?

im going for facts despite knowing Roy is especially biased towards his lump of an Rb 20..

i reckon Roy dreams about the time he passed that 430 for years to come! :worship:

I do like F430s. A few friends get to drive all sorts of supercars and they all say the F430 is a good thing, one of their favs. The fact that i will never afford one means i hate them :) I am still more a GT3 man shoudl the coin ever fall my way

And 32line... i will have you know that i have been to a fair few track days. And when there have been Ferraris i have always been quicker. Most recently the F430 at Winton during the Dutton rally, seee me in 15th here http://www.duttonrally.com/results/2007/vi...nt16_Driver.pdf And that was with about a 1.5-2.0sec hold up getting past the F430. So with the low 1:36 i would have been 10th or 11th right with the some of the quickest cars in the field.

What are the track spec 360s called. Strada or somehting. I have been quicker then 360 Strada Ferraris at Sandown, track prespared and slick wearing 575 Ferrari at Sandown, and only 0.8 seconds slower then a 997 GT3RSCS at Sandown.

I make these points so to show the silliness in using lap times or performance figures to classify cars. The R32 GTSt with RB20 POWAH may be quicker since it has some reasonablly effective mods...but being quicker doesnt for a second make it a better car. Not believeing that car on similar rubber, similar power and less weight but worst dynamics can be as quick if not quicker then another car over a few laps, irrespective of manufacturer is pretty ignorant

SO if they cost uber amounts of money and get you flange then its a supercar. Skyline is nothing more then a Datsun 1200 coupe with some intelligent engineerign to go quicker then many cars from the sportscar manufacturers.

That all said, when i had a F430 Spyder parked in my garage in my apartment complex, i was shocked to find that i had no less then 4 knocks on the door over two nights from very attractive girls in the apartment complex. "Is that your Ferrari...we love Ferraris :) " So yes, i want a F430, i can use all the help i can get.

...oh, and homophobe? LOL, myou sure have missed the bullseye with that one :) Its people who give words too much power that need to label people

lol, I can confirm that when troy HAD AN F430 PARKED IN HIS GARAGE that even then he said he thought it was weak and couldn't even be coerced into taking it for a spin. sure nicely built, looks good, goes well, but just didn't float his boat. though if I could afford a few nice cars then it would make a nice 'daily supercar'. but it wouldn't be top of my list either.

and troy is not homo-phobic after all he shared a flat with james for quite a while so he clearly is pretty tolerant of it all.

lol, I can confirm that when troy HAD AN F430 PARKED IN HIS GARAGE that even then he said he thought it was weak and couldn't even be coerced into taking it for a spin. sure nicely built, looks good, goes well, but just didn't float his boat. though if I could afford a few nice cars then it would make a nice 'daily supercar'. but it wouldn't be top of my list either.

It was even convertible....i can do without the attention and im not "that guy" driving a convertible Ferrari through St Kilda for looks. If my parol eofficer knew i was out of the state i would be in trouble

hahahahahah, the posts are kiiling me in this thread! ahahahahah

Roy, comparing a modded 32gtst to a ferrari f430...hahaha.....i could mod the shit out of my 32 and get it faster than an f430 too...wow, great. shitbox datsuns run quiker 1/4 miles than the veyron...wow. fantastic...who gives a shit.

u overtaking an f430 at the dutton rally does not impress me. niether does a worked up, stripped out datsun runnin a faster 1/4 than a veyron.

cars like the f430 roll out of the factory and can do amazing things, and are instanty recongised as fantastic drivers cars. they are SUPERCARS.

so please stop comparing ur skyline to a ferrari, its just sad.

So a supercar gets flange??? I'm fighting them off here in the 'switch now I have a V8 Ute :) :laughing-smiley-014:

It has the be on the list somewhere!!

Keep looking.

These "supercar" discussions should only ever be for fun. If you take it serious, there is something wrong.

Roy, comparing a modded 32gtst to a ferrari f430...hahaha.....i could mod the shit out of my 32 and get it faster than an f430 too...wow, great. shitbox datsuns run quiker 1/4 miles than the veyron...wow. fantastic...who gives a shit.

Exactly my point Nissan Skylines, nee Datsuns, are SHIT. :laughing-smiley-014:

u overtaking an f430 at the dutton rally does not impress me. niether does a worked up, stripped out datsun runnin a faster 1/4 than a veyron.

cars like the f430 roll out of the factory and can do amazing things, and are instanty recongised as fantastic drivers cars. they are SUPERCARS.

well it impresses me. probably impressed the 430 owner too as troy deafened him on the way through to a happier place. :)

no one said they are not a supercar, troy just said he thinks they are a bit camp and that he wouldn't buy one, which is his right to think that if he wants to. is that so hard for you to understand?

LOL...are you getting it yet? Thats the point. POS Datsuns Skylines should not be in the top 10. Ppl sare saying they jutsify their place because of their performance. LOL...are you getting it?

I stand by my golf buggy comment. Especially convertible F430s. I would buy one for my wife, but i will stick with the GT3 or Audi R8...cant wait to go for a drive in one (if cards fall my way)

LOL...are you getting it yet? Thats the point. POS Datsuns Skylines should not be in the top 10. Ppl sare saying they jutsify their place because of their performance. LOL...are you getting it?

I stand by my golf buggy comment. Especially convertible F430s. I would buy one for my wife, but i will stick with the GT3 or Audi R8...cant wait to go for a drive in one (if cards fall my way)

forget that. don't subject your wife to the 430, maybe get one for your girlfriend though. the wife can enjoy RB20 power on her way to the flamin mongrelry club.

Gallardo may be a more flawed car…but you have no problem telling me its special. The F430 especially as a convertible and heaven forbid semi auto does nothing for me. But it is great when you see people giving them hell….

I think the Baron actually got to drive the one parked at my joint?!?!?! I was not fussed. But the yellow Gallardo....ooh baby!!!!! I say the Countach deserved to be higher up that list. It came out when ppl were driving Cortina and Escorts!

lol, I remember when you hopped in the gallardo and started it up for the first time... teeehe. I only wish you could have seen james face.

and yes, countach is on my list. I've said that many times. get me decked out in a white linen suit with a briefcase full of coke and let me loose in a nice black countach. nice.