Hey guys, I just got a job in tassie so I’m going to be moving there within the next month and a half. I was just wondering if you could answer a few questions for me.

How is the police presence? I have a highmount hks3037 with an external gate and a screamer, on my current daily so I was wondering how I would go in terms of epa etc?

Also, I keep my car registered in Victoria as I still have a house down here, would I be exempt from my car being tagged “un roadworthy” (we call them canaries here)?

I may also be bringing over a track/street cefiro (all depends on if the 180 is finished). It is still registered for road but very rarely gets on it, which beggs another question. How often do track days run?

Also, how are the tuners over there? I’m looking at building a dedicated track 180 and was wondering if it was worth me rushing it in order to finish it here and have it tuned here, or would it be ok to have it tuned over there? Its running a power FC and all my previous cars have been tuned by Ray at RE Customs so I’m more comfortable with him, however if you guys have any suggestion/recommendations that would be more than helpful.

Sorry if any of these questions sound stupid but I have no idea about this stuff, infact I have never even been to tassie, and now I’m going to be LIVING there. I look forward to meeting you guys down the track, I’ll be the guy spinning lots

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/186666-movig-to-tassie/

HI Mate

Welcome to tassie, you'll love it.

Firstly any car in tasmania need to be registered within 3 months or you will get a fine if cought.

Police have been big on hoon laws lately, but they seam to be ok as long as your not a dickhead about it all, so the screma is fine just be carefull.

Tuning wise there is a hand full of decent work shops here that dod an excellent job, so that is fina too.

Give us a whola when your down, should orgornise something.

In regards to track days, aslong as your a memember of a car club, there are drift and track events usually once a month or so, possible more oftern.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/186666-movig-to-tassie/#findComment-3373750

Hey boys, thanks for the advice. Ill be moving to launceston.

So I cant drive on Vic plates then, damn.

As for registration how hard is it? Will my car need to be stock? As it will be a bit of dicking around to get it back that way?

As for catching up, that would be awesome as I know absolutly nobody there and I would be dead keen to meet anybody and everybody possible.

Keep the info coming for this little tas noob lol

ryan

Edited by ardie
https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/186666-movig-to-tassie/#findComment-3373755

Actually you can drive on Vic plates, you have a Vic licence, with a vic address.

you only actually get booked under that legislation if you drive a bright yellow lancer with custom interstate plates like MRBSHI and constantly do blockies around town 24/7.

and anyway you could argue the point that your down here for work temporarily.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/186666-movig-to-tassie/#findComment-3373837

Ryan

"technically" you have 3months to change your rego over to Tasmania plates BUT they have to prove that you have been here longer than 3months and its your permanent address.

There are a number of people that have gone 6-12months before being picked up for it so i wouldn't stress too much about that.

If you were to change it over then you would have to your car AIS (inspected) and passed off as road worthy (wont happy with the screamer) and then pay for your rego and plates, its a pretty simply process and even easier if you find someone that can look after you with the inspection :P

Police are no where near as harsh as Vic or other states, if you are not doing anything to draw attention to yourself or being a "hoon" you shouldn't have any problems at all.

My car runs external gate/screamer and was a daily (hasn't been on the road for a while :P ) and never had any real drama's with it...

As for track days there is always something happening on one of the tracks here: Symmons is about 15mins from Launie and Baskerville is 20mins from Hobart CBD.

In regards to tuning there are peeps that can help you in the north or south so i wouldn't rush too much to get it finished.

There will be another SAU cruise in the coming months so hopefully you can make it along and catch up with the Tassie members :(

Cheers GMB

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/186666-movig-to-tassie/#findComment-3373843

Awesome! Thanks so much for all the help guys, seriously, I really appreciate it! Think I might have to sign up for SAU TAS asap seeing as how I dont know a single person over there and you all seem like top blokes.

Well given all that recent info on police and rego, I think the old 1580 SR is gonna cop an external gate too then :P , can you say loudest garage ever?

Now if anybody knows a share house with a large garage/carport feel free to let me know as I'm looking to rent initially as I may have to move into Hobart later with the job :D

Ryan

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/186666-movig-to-tassie/#findComment-3374184

As others have said cops down here are fine, they only pin you if your being a dickhead.

Trackday's for my club run about 1.5 months apart at the start of the year, and then about this time they have some 3-4 weeks apart.

Mum works at maib (motor accidents insurence board, like your TAC) and if your planning on staying here i'd recomend trying to get Tas rego, as we're the best state to have a crash.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/186666-movig-to-tassie/#findComment-3374295

Awesome! Thanks people, Im alot less worried about the move. I'll have to join up when I arrive and come on a few cruises to ge to know you guys.

Try Boost Automotive at Invermay for your tuning needs (dyno and all)

If you need re-registration I would suggest a country town servo e.g. Barnett Motors,Scottsdale,they passed my R32,way too low,ssq bov etc. no probs.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/186666-movig-to-tassie/#findComment-3376229

Anywhere except Brad Sherrif at Duggan And Parker. I went there and will never take my car back again.

I knew this was going to come up sooner or later, just a matter of time.... and the can 'o worms has been opened........

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/186666-movig-to-tassie/#findComment-3377437

How come??

Well where would you like me to start? the fuel leak he caused by not doing the clamp of the fuel rail up properly? or the fact i get about 200km from a full tank of juice( and thats Highway driving0, or the fact that the car runs so rich i have 2 foot flames coming out my exhaust and burning the paint on the rear bar, or the fact he charged me a rediculous price for what was supposed to be a small adjustment in the maps, or the fact that he didn't bother to tell me he was putting in $110 worth of iridium plugs, even though i prefer to run conventional plugs and change them so often, or maybe it could have some thing to do with the fact that he didn't bother asking me any questions about what i wanted and when i rang up that evening to see how the tune went he told me it was putting out more power than what it actually is.

BUT I GUESS IT'S ACTUALLY ALL OF THOSE PROBLEMS MENTIONED ABOVE WHITCH IS THE REASON I WON'T TAKE MY CAR BACK THERE. .

Edited by guesty
https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/186666-movig-to-tassie/#findComment-3377663

Geez mate i was only asking. I personally have never had any dramas. Theres no point bagging him out on a forum though, you would be better to talk to brad about it face to face. Word gets around quick in tassie remember. The reason he would have fitted the iridium plugs is because they require less firing voltage and coil demand to produce the same spark as a conventional or platinum plug, which at the end of the day is better for you. Im not trying to cause an argument here, just think you should chat to him about it.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/186666-movig-to-tassie/#findComment-3377892

Geez mate i was only asking. I personally have never had any dramas. Theres no point bagging him out on a forum though, you would be better to talk to brad about it face to face. Word gets around quick in tassie remember. The reason he would have fitted the iridium plugs is because they require less firing voltage and coil demand to produce the same spark as a conventional or platinum plug, which at the end of the day is better for you. Im not trying to cause an argument here, just think you should chat to him about it.

I was only replying to the question of "How Come?" i pointed out my personal experiance with him. Im simply pointing out my run in's with him. also, i prefer to run conventional plugs as i change them so often and like to experiment with gap sizes. If i wanted to run performace plugs, i would use Platnum plags. and that fact that he didn't even bother to tell me that he was going to put them in makes me even more wild. He wasn't interested in talking to me when he had my car, or even when i picked it up from him so why would he care now?

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/186666-movig-to-tassie/#findComment-3378076