Ok, for those that don't know me, I run the skid days at the skid pan in Gympie.

during the skid days I get a Roadcraft instructor to teach the drivers some of the finer points of driving smoothly.

As I am always wanting to be the fastest car out there :ninja: , I thought it would be very useful if i did a course. That would help me be smooth and quick, but also allow me to help the instructor do his job better.

The course was a 2 day affair (totally beats work!) and covered skid control, under and over steer, cornering, braking in the wet and dry and proper use of your eyes and much more.

Some insurance companies give a 10% discount for a completed course!

I was taught many things I was already aware of, and many other things I didn't really notice.

The best part was, I gained way more car controll and I was very smooth by the end of the 2 days.

Roadcraft do a wide range of courses to cater for different levels of drivers. I suggest that if you havn't done one, do it ASAP!

If nothing else, I am sure it will help u improve ur lap times!

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/187195-roadcraft-driving-courses/

Viral marketing much?

SDT run great courses as well, would you believe under the new anti youth driving laws places like SDT and Roadcraft are not allowed to log book the hours when they teach learner drivers what a croc!

Viral marketing much?

SDT run great courses as well, would you believe under the new anti youth driving laws places like SDT and Roadcraft are not allowed to log book the hours when they teach learner drivers what a croc!

Yeah, we arent very happy about that. What the youngin's learn in one day with a defensive course is a bloody lot more than most of them will learn in that whole 100 hours.

But yeah, anyone who hasnt done one should do. Doesnt matter who with (but SDT are the best... somewhat bias oppinion there :ninja: ) Well worth the money.

You don't normally see people talking about these courses. So, i thought we should rate them!

I am keen to do a higher level course. The course I did was insightful and very useful.

They said that people who do their courses are at about 60% less chance of having a serious accident.

I think they are probably correct! :P

Anyway, I rate the ADEC 1 & 2 courses at a 9.5/10

I didn't give it a perfect 10/10 because I thought that it could have had a little less speal and a bit more 'wheels turning' content.

There was heaps of driving, but I'm just hard to please!

hey, I've done two defensive driving courses in my day. I've picked up a few things which make the course well worth while.

1st one i did was at queensland raceway when i first got my licence, learnt a bit, had fun with the beer goggles.

2nd one i did was to get a 10% insurance discount somewhere in briz and was fun cuz I got to scare the lil 17-18yr olds with my car lol (Too fast for course & way too much scrubbage)

You got a link with any more details of the course your talking about? Maybe even a price?

I can give u something..

The instructor who provides technical info for my skid day was the guy who did the course..

I got to pick his brains a bit.. it was funny watching the looks of the 17 year old wonna be cool drivers.

It was a great 2 days..

It is the 'base' course. however my instructor freind will definatly enlighten you heaps and teach you stuff that u didn't know that you really should. He is very much a race oreinted person, who has been around long enough to know what does and doesn't work. He is a great teacher and good freind.

If he can't teach you a fair bit of stuff, he will probably quit his job!

Well, thats my opinion anyhow! I know i learnt heaps and sharpened up alot more. If you want a taste of what he knows, book into the next skid day that I'm running for SAU next year. check out my thread in the QLD events section for details.

The sdt ones start off with a basic defensive stuff. Braking, vision steering etc. Generally safer driving. Thats done in the sdt cars.

Then you move to an advanced, which is higher speed braking, skidpan stuff, more driving than theory. Mostly done in your car, but we recomend you use the sdt cars as well as your own, just to get the feel of different cars.

Then there are track days etc.

Cost obviously changes depending on the course and the location due to different hire costs of venues. I think most of it is on the website.

In The Roadcraft course that i did, I only drove my car.

Like i said, they covered just about everything there is to know..

heaps of stuff about keeping alive on the road as well.

There was plenty of info about driving smoother, skid control, dealing with under and oversteer.

Where to put ur hands, seat & feet. where to look, what to look for, how to feel..

yea.. lots of cool stuff. Even if you think you know how to drive, i suggest you do it!

you can ring them for all the info u want on (07) 54 828833

The sdt ones start off with a basic defensive stuff. Braking, vision steering etc. Generally safer driving. Thats done in the sdt cars.

Then you move to an advanced, which is higher speed braking, skidpan stuff, more driving than theory. Mostly done in your car, but we recomend you use the sdt cars as well as your own, just to get the feel of different cars.

Then there are track days etc.

Cost obviously changes depending on the course and the location due to different hire costs of venues. I think most of it is on the website.

hey who and where are the courses your referring to. Ive already done an "advanced driving course" at mount cotton driving centre when i first got my licence but it was all basic driving stuff. I really want to do some more skilled courses so i can improve on my track work when i get to go out. Plus learning to drift properly and stunt driving would still be alot of fun

yeah i remember SDT had a performance driving course(i still have the add), but it got canned because soccer mums said it was producing hoons or something like that

We still have all courses bar the drift course at mt cotton. It apparently doesnt fit in with the idea of mt cotton...

But yeah, all other courses are still on hey. Just need to contact the office to see which ones are happening when.

Daneil, if you want to skid around, do some power slides and stuff,

then i suggest you check out the skid days i run for SAU. Ask anybody who has been for their veiw.

We also do a techinical section in the arvo. Its not rocket sceince, but its still good learning.!

Daneil, if you want to skid around, do some power slides and stuff,

then i suggest you check out the skid days i run for SAU. Ask anybody who has been for their veiw.

We also do a techinical section in the arvo. Its not rocket sceince, but its still good learning.!

awesome i will. I've been building a fully built rb30/25 all year and i'm on the home stretch so itll be interesting sliding the most powerful car ive ever driven. yay :laughing-smiley-014:

If i were you, i would book early. I have already pointed 4 people guys in the direction of RevHead..

powerslides are heaps of fun! check out my threads in the events section for all the info and goss