Bp Ultimate

• Replies 40

Mate i use to think the same mate

but the truth is that your use to the feel of bp ultimate and also your a bit paranoid

but yeah try another tank and let us know

actually, Im reading the data straight off my PFC. and Im on another Tank of Ultimate. Same deal. But your right, about me being paranoid :)

if ur reading straight of the pfc...f**k u might right then

now you got me paranoid

I USE ULTIMATE MAINLY SOME TIMES VPOWER

I WONT ADD OCTAINE BOOSTER IT MAKES YOUR PLUGS HEAPS ORANGE AND DIRTY.

Yea Ive noticed this about the Octane Booster, But the plugs still seem to work fine for me, Im using Iridiums. Gapped to .8

Apparently also the Octane Booster makes your cat colapse? is this true? either way, it really does help take knock levels down, so i just keep using it. Cats are much cheaper than a engine rebuild I reckons.. :) But Im probably being paranoid again.. Can anyone substantiate if the Octane booster really does make ur cat colapse?

I agree, i race go-karts with 125cc Rotax single cylinder water cooled engine and believe me you can notice the performance drop with only one cylinder. Kart goes well on Ultimate, it absoltely screams on Vortex.

this is just me, but i am solely using caltex 98ron. and it just pulls and pulls. shell and bp are good too, but me and my mates reckon caltex is the bomb. we wud go VPR, but not keen on ethonol :S

different states have different fuels... My project with a worked NA carby 4banger likes mobil, hates shell, didnt mind BP i think caltex was okay.

My Rb25det gets BP coz its close to home, but gets better economy on mobil.

My gf's 7MGE gets best economy on Mobil, but gets the BP aswell...

does anyone have any info on which servos use which suppliers?

-Ryan

im using bp ultimate with no issues here in sa, now adding octane booster too! and my car has just been tuned to go with this little "jungle mix" im putting in my car.

That's a bad idea really.

For a start octane booster does horrible things to the inside of your engine leaving orange deposits all throughout.

Secondly, what happens when you're out of octane boost and your servo has none? Or what if you want to actually drive the car away from the city one day. Most country towns have 92 unleaded only.

actually, Im reading the data straight off my PFC. and Im on another Tank of Ultimate. Same deal. But your right, about me being paranoid :cool:

Could just be the hotter weather lately, mine has started ping again getting into summer. Go for a run at night I bet the knock levels will be back down again.

ALSO IMO: I think that BP is SHIT. I'm a serial Mobile 8000 guy I haven't ever had a problem with running there 98. The difference when I change to BP in those desperate times were I really need some fuel, my car runs shit. Once I go back to the 8000 or V-power the difference is VERY noticeable. If VPR was widely available and could afford it, I would always run my car on it.

Problem with this thread is no-one is listing their mods.

A stock ecu will give very different results to a PFc equipped car that was originally tuned with a particular fuel.

I've taken all the variables into account up here, and the fuel is the culprit.

Yep used to run bp ultimate... noticed that it was running like crap compared to what it used to.... car was tuned on BP too......

switched to vortex 98..... much happier....... also Mobil 8000 on par with the Vortex ... currently getting it tuned on Vortex 98 after the last round of mods......

oh Haltech E11v2 ecu and 11ty boltons.... GT35R, ext gate, greddy plenum, wideband O2 etc etc etc etc

have to agree bp has never floated my rb... vortex has always been better but that may be due to the more regular use ie.. people buy crap loads of caltex due to the 4c per litre deal... not that it makes much lof a difference.. but a free litre never hurt.

have trialed many fuels in my area.. ie sydney. I have never used a non name branded fuel.. ie independant.. after a 1 of use in the local leb run cheapo lieing twat.

anyways;... mobil 8000 is usually ok, not pinging on my mods + boost + ign but bp ultime has alwasy been sub par and some shell stations vpower also fairly sub par with savage ignition problems...

That's a bad idea really.

For a start octane booster does horrible things to the inside of your engine leaving orange deposits all throughout.

Secondly, what happens when you're out of octane boost and your servo has none? Or what if you want to actually drive the car away from the city one day. Most country towns have 92 unleaded only.

the beauty of having a next door neighbour who is my mechanic, and being able to get the JB products for pretty much what he pays therefore able to buy in bulk and leave one in the car :P

i dun see whats so bad about ultimate.. i use it. always have

mods r remap ecu, unknown turbos, 15psi, exhaust n pair of dirty hks filters... never pings or knocks or anything and made a decent 287awkw... :P i havent as yet tried other fuels.. so maybe one day i will and do some dyno testing. :\

who knows.. ulti might be the worst.. might be the best :P