heys, i've done a search but wouldn't find anything..

basically i've noticed a few of you have bought cars from over east. would like to know how you did it.

ie did you fly over to have a look?, how was the car shipped over, wat company and how much.

feel free to pm any bad points too :rofl:

am finking of buying a car from the east and would like to know ur experiences.

johan

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/189436-bringing-a-car-over-from-the-east/

Hey mate,

As Gazza pointed out, it has been covered previously. Did a quick search and found this thread...

http://www.skylinesaustralia.com/forums/t177361.html

Hope that gives you some info.

Brad

Well you have posted the question now.

Too things.

1. Good idea, you will save heaps on purchase price and there is heaps of variety. The savings on Stamp Duty alone paid for 2 way airfair. You must have the seller agree to let you use there address to register the car in your name (but at there address) in order to pay Eastern S/duty rate. (on 50k, there is approx $1500 difference from melb 2 perth)

2.Transport cost $750ish with Toll/TNT. dont believe them when they say you will get your car in 5 days.....generally 2-3 weeks by inclosed train carriage.

Sight the vehicle yourself.....dont fall for letting the seller get an M.O.T. inspection. The MOT insp doesnt seem to pick up on much......i.e. accident damage.

hope that helps.

hey mate i lined up a car that i thought was sweet, the seller agreed to a deposit, i flew over to melbourne bought the car drove it to adelaide(why not) put it on a truck flew home about 1.5 weeks later the car was sitting on my drive way best idea ever, got a little holiday travel time and a better car.

i got r32 pretty modded like fmic, exedy race clutch and other random shiz for $9000

flights there and back $500

petrol food shelter ect ~$300

truck home $850

total ~$10700

for a car that i could sell tomoro for 13

truck company are fully insured think they are "moving cars" they work through TNT

I recently bought one from Sydney. Transport company was moving cars, who most people have said use TNT/Ceva Logistics. Paid $1200 for pickup from the guys house in Syd then delivered to the depot here in Perth. Can't fault their service and it was delivered within about 8 days, pretty quick!

Didn't fly over to check it out, but if you've got time I'd recommend lining up a few cars that you are really keen on and going over there yourself and taking a look. Might want to try to get the stock parts with the car (if it's modded) so you have the option of fitting them to take it over the pits.

Edited by brynj

When i imported from jap, i got my compliance done in sydney. One of my mates told me that some cars that get trained over sometimes get a little damage due to the lil abo's on the nullarbor which through stones at the cars when the trains go past. (trying not to be races!) So i got mine shipped with seaway logistics which also cost around $700-$750 and roughly takes 2weeks, choice is yours really!!

hey mate i lined up a car that i thought was sweet, the seller agreed to a deposit, i flew over to melbourne bought the car drove it to adelaide(why not) put it on a truck flew home about 1.5 weeks later the car was sitting on my drive way best idea ever, got a little holiday travel time and a better car.

i got r32 pretty modded like fmic, exedy race clutch and other random shiz for $9000

flights there and back $500

petrol food shelter ect ~$300

truck home $850

total ~$10700

for a car that i could sell tomoro for 13

truck company are fully insured think they are "moving cars" they work through TNT

Totally agree, i bought a car in melb from a company that has regular 1st/2nd page ads in HPI & lots of wank about quality & backup ect & ended up paying too much for a car that didnt have half the stuff i payed for on it & was told u got a good deal, so stiff shit! If i flew over & looked at the car myself i never would of bought it...

So many good cheap cars over there if you went for a few days u could find one no worries :turned:

hey dude i just got my 32 from qld,cost me $1900 to get it here in a sea container with civa tnt,,didnt bother to fly and check it out i just took the guys word the car was sweet,and oh it was,very happy,the only damage was a very slight scrap on the front bar from getting it in the container,