Hey

Purchased an E-MANAGE BLUE today with ignition and injector harness. Yet to pick it up, but will have it next week.

Anyways, I have a few questions that I need some help with, and just wondering if someone could help me out.

My questions are;

- It has a universal harness, so is it worth getting a model specific harness (HCR32 RB20DET, About $160) so it plugs straight in, or should I just get it wired in and tuned with the universal harness?

* My worry is that, if I buy a universal harness, then get it tuned it will end up costing more than if I just got the universal harness wired in and tuned.

- How do you hook this thing up!? I cant make sense of it, its piggy back so where does it plug into the loom and how does it plug into the E-MANAGE and into the stock ECU at the same time? Anyone got any pictures, or just a detailed explanation would do.

* I'm talking about installing it with a vehicle specific harness, its obvious how it wires in if your using a universal harness.

- With the ignition harness and the injector harness, does it do the same thing as a standalone ECU or is there still functions lacking over a standalone ECU?

*Comparing to a PFC for instance.

- Is the E-MANAGE BLUE old out dated technology compared to the E-MANAGE ULTIMATE?

Thats all that comes to mind at the moment, but if I think of more I will post them up.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Abu

Edited by abu
https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/191798-greddy-e-manage-blue-questions/

ok. i have one of these with the ign and inj harness and on a 32 aswell. i trust that you also got the emanage support tool, (software and cable) or atleast a profec E-01

first of all are you any good/confident with wiring? if so its easy. i've got a few diagrams and stuff if you need them. first of all you need to assemble the harnesses. you get the std one already put together but the ign and inj harness need to be put together. just look on the diagram and push the wires into the right slot on the plug, the little lugs just push and clip in. easy with the diagram of wich colours go where on the plug.

once you have done this your ready to wire it. 6 injectors right, so 6 injector wires that just splice onto them. 6 igition signals, these wires and cut and the ignition signal from the ecu is sent into the emanage, modified and then sent back out to the ignition module/coils. thats the ign and inj wires. then there are a few more wire to splice like throttle, rpm, power, gnd, also a afm signal splice and one or two more. easy?

once wired in and running you can do a few things like, adjust injector duty cycle, + or - 30% ign timing. afm signal bending (just like the safc). you can even tell the emanage that your original injectors were 270cc and you new ones are 444cc (gtr) and it does the corection factors for you. if you install gtr injectors that is. if not just enter the new injector size and its all good.

another thing that the emanage blue can do is you can buy the MAP sensor. you cant remove the afm but you can clamp the signal and when the afm max's out the emanage will use the MAP as its reading.

compared to the emanage ultimate the emange blue does have less features but i think for a medium modified 32 it does the job for a good price.

i've just got mine in and running not that long ago and am happy with it so far, i'm doing all the tuning myself, i've got a few toys to help me.

ok. i have one of these with the ign and inj harness and on a 32 aswell. i trust that you also got the emanage support tool, (software and cable) or atleast a profec E-01

first of all are you any good/confident with wiring? if so its easy. i've got a few diagrams and stuff if you need them. first of all you need to assemble the harnesses. you get the std one already put together but the ign and inj harness need to be put together. just look on the diagram and push the wires into the right slot on the plug, the little lugs just push and clip in. easy with the diagram of wich colours go where on the plug.

once you have done this your ready to wire it. 6 injectors right, so 6 injector wires that just splice onto them. 6 igition signals, these wires and cut and the ignition signal from the ecu is sent into the emanage, modified and then sent back out to the ignition module/coils. thats the ign and inj wires. then there are a few more wire to splice like throttle, rpm, power, gnd, also a afm signal splice and one or two more. easy?

once wired in and running you can do a few things like, adjust injector duty cycle, + or - 30% ign timing. afm signal bending (just like the safc). you can even tell the emanage that your original injectors were 270cc and you new ones are 444cc (gtr) and it does the corection factors for you. if you install gtr injectors that is. if not just enter the new injector size and its all good.

another thing that the emanage blue can do is you can buy the MAP sensor. you cant remove the afm but you can clamp the signal and when the afm max's out the emanage will use the MAP as its reading.

compared to the emanage ultimate the emange blue does have less features but i think for a medium modified 32 it does the job for a good price.

i've just got mine in and running not that long ago and am happy with it so far, i'm doing all the tuning myself, i've got a few toys to help me.

Thanks for the reply Josh, pretty useful.

Thanks for the info on the MAP sensor, I knew you could run one, but didn't know you could run both AFM and MAP, thats awesome :P

I am pretty confident in wiring and have no doubt I could do it pretty easily, but I don't particularly want to chop up the stock loom as I may want to take the E-MANAGE out at a later stage. I would prefer to use the wiring harness so I can plug and play, but I guess I could always use connectors as well for the universal wiring.. something to think about.

The E-MANAGE I bought was previously in an R34, running the ignition and injector harness's I am presuming, so I am hoping they are already assembled.

As far as the map on the E-MANAGE goes, how do you reset it, or put it back to standard? And if its been tuned previously, once I plug it into my R32, will it run on stock map or do I have to program the E-MANAGE *I'm assuming reprogram.

Unfortunately no support tool or E-01 at this stage as I will not be tuning it my self, will leave that to someone who knows what they are doing! :)

Thanks again for your help, and if anyone else has more info that would be much appreciated.

Edited by abu

I've just bought an E-Manage Ultimate and I picked up the proper specific loom with it. Not sure how the blue is set up, but the Ultimate loom has all ingition and injector looms as part of it, which saved me getting them as optional parts.

I'd definitely suggest getting the proper loom. Will save you some headaches and will let you get everything set up quicker too.

don't know how to reset the unit without the software. also when you load a newer version of the firmware on it takes all the maps back to std aswell. something to keep in mind if you get an update for it, backup your maps before upgrade and then reload them.

if you get the plug in harness best option would be to only plug it in once you get it to a tuner or get the software. that way you can check the setup/maps straight away.

I've just bought an E-Manage Ultimate and I picked up the proper specific loom with it. Not sure how the blue is set up, but the Ultimate loom has all ingition and injector looms as part of it, which saved me getting them as optional parts.

I'd definitely suggest getting the proper loom. Will save you some headaches and will let you get everything set up quicker too.

Yeah I was thinking proper loom as well, not cutting and shutting. Just a few plugs which make things heaps easier and neater!

Thats good how you got the additional looms with the package, their pretty expensive by themselves. Let me know once you get it installed and tuned, be keen to hear your results.

don't know how to reset the unit without the software. also when you load a newer version of the firmware on it takes all the maps back to std aswell. something to keep in mind if you get an update for it, backup your maps before upgrade and then reload them.

if you get the plug in harness best option would be to only plug it in once you get it to a tuner or get the software. that way you can check the setup/maps straight away.

Thanks for letting me know, thats something to keep in mind. Don't want to go losing all my maps :P

Yeah thats what I was intending to do, just install it my self and get someone to tune it, as its pretty simple to install and I don't want to pay someone else to do that.

I can always just take it to the tuners, plug it there and get them to do the rest.

Might see if I can get my hands on a plug and play harness, I think there about $160ish.

How is your car running on the E-MANAGE, and how much power you making?

Edited by abu

Was searching for some information and found a few threads and links with some helpful information, so thought I would share it with everyone.

I will keep updating this post as I find more relevant information.

E-MANAGE - GENERAL DISCUSSION

http://www.skylinesaustralia.com/forums/t1...dy+emanage+blue

PLUG IN HARNESS - SUITS A RANGE OF VEHICLES

https://www.rhdjapan.com/home/products/prod...product_id=2253

E-MANAGE BLUE & E-01 MANUALS

http://www.mohdparts.com/emanage/index.htm...0E-01%20Manuals

E-MANAGE PHOTOS

http://www.mohdparts.com/emanage/photos/em...otos/index.html

E-MANAGE SUPPORT

http://autos.groups.yahoo.com/group/emanage/

E-MANAGE BLUE & ULTIMATE- RANDOM DISCUSSION

E-MANAGE BLUE - PRESSURE SENSOR & BC INFO

ECU DIAGRAM PIN OUTS

http://www.mohdparts.com/emanage/manuals/j...ual_main/36.JPG

CHECK YOURS ROTARY SWITCHES

http://www.mohdparts.com/emanage/manuals/j...ual_main/35.JPG

INJECTOR SIGNAL TO THE MAIN UNIT

http://www.mohdparts.com/emanage/manuals/e..._manual/008.JPG

IGNITION INFORMATION

http://www.mohdparts.com/emanage/manuals/e..._manual/010.JPG

GREDDY E-MANAGE - OPTION PARTS

Trust have specific harnesses for most vehicle types. To avoid any damage when installing it is recommended to use the correct harness for your vehicle. When using a harness there is no need for the optional injector or ignition harness.

E-Manage is an inexpensive programmable fuel management system that allows you to properly tune your factory fuel system, without having to change the entire factory ECU system to an expensive "stand-alone" unit. The e-Manage system is a universal "piggy-back" type unit, which taps into most factory ECU wiring and it still utilizes the existing sensors. Basic functions will allow the user to slightly alter factory injector duty-cycle (± 20% at 5 preset RPM points), by intercepting and altering airflow or MAP sensor signals. For VTEC cars you can adjust the VTEC shift point.

Additional features that are built into the system, but are only accessible though the use of our PC-Windows based "E-Manage Support Tool" communication software (Please see our Authorized GREDDY Support Dealers for more information) are a 16x16 Airflow Adjustment Map, Larger Main Injector correction adjustment, Upgrade Air Flow Meter adjustment, Boost Limiter Cut, Anti-engine Stall, VTEC-fuel adjustment, Real-time Map Trace, Real-time Display, Real-time Communication, and basic Data-logging.

With the use of our "Optional Injector Harness" and the software, the unit has the ability to control an additional 16x16 Injector duty cycle Map and the Controls for adding up to 2 Additional Sub-injectors. If the "Optional Ignition Harness" and the software is used the unit has the ability to control a 16x16 Ignition Timing Map. All of the above Maps can also be Map-traced in Real-time as well. If the factory range of Map or Airflow meter is surpassed, you can incorporate our "Optional GReddy Pressure Sensor and Pressure Harness" to set larger scales of adjustment.

E-MANAGE – WHAT IT IS & ISN'T

The GREDDY E-MANAGE is a simple fuel computer designed for Japanese automobiles. The intended purpose is to allow the user to fine-tune the fuel curve of the vehicle to take advantage of various modifications to the car.

There are many additional options for the E-manage, allowing the user to put together a system that suits their needs.

In its most basic form, the E-manage alters the primary airflow input to the car's ECU. By increasing or decreasing this signal, the ECU will alter the amount of fuel going into the engine.

While the E-manage is very powerful and flexible, a full stand-alone ECU is even more powerful. A stand-alone ECU replaces the entire fuel injection system with one that's designed to be easily programmable by a laptop computer. This gives the ultimate in flexibility, but with a steep learning curve and a LOT of work required to tune in the fuel map properly. It's hard to say at what point it's wiser to go with a stand-alone than a piggyback computer (IE: the E-MANAGE) – it really depends on how good the car's ECU is to begin with, the amount of modifications, etc. If nothing else, the E-manage makes for a great stepping stone before going to a full stand-alone – you can learn to tune the car while having the factory fuel map to fall back on.

E-MANAGE MAIN UNIT

The main brain of the whole deal. The unit by itself is VERY basic – there are 5 knobs you can adjust on the front of the unit to do a VERY rough fuel map with.

E-MANAGE SUPPORT TOOL

Now we're getting somewhere. Included in the kit is a serial to USB cable and a CD with the Support Tool software. The cable is proprietary, and not a standard cable. The software unlocks the full potential of the E-manage – 16x16 fuel maps, changing airflow meters, using the other optional harnesses, etc. You really need to have the Support Tool for the E-manage to be of any value.

NOTE: This serial to USB cable is a special cable of some kind – it doesn't seem to have any advanced logic, but it is weird and special enough that you can't just get one at a computer store. It plugs into your computer via the serial port and into the E-manage with a USB plug.

OPTIONAL INJECTOR HARNESS

This splices into the stock fuel injectors for control and logging. With this harness, you can directly add pulse width to the stock injectors and datalog their activity. You can also directly control 2 additional injectors as well.

NOTE: You can buy JUST the ignition harness and use the extra wires for the injector harness. The ignition harness comes with 12 wires and an extra connector to plug into the E-manage. Most cars don't use all the wires – 4 cylinder and rotary cars especially. Look at the E-manage manual, find your car, and find out how many wires you need for ignition control and for injector control. Make sure to add 2 wires to the total if you plan to use additional injectors. If the total is less than 12, buy just the ignition harness and add the extra wires to the main E-manage plug for your injector harness. The injector harness is just some wires with ends crimped on them that you add to the main E-manage plug.

OPTIONAL IGNITION HARNESS

This splices into the car's timing input, from a crank angle sensor, cam angle sensor, or the like. With this you can alter the car's ignition timing.

GREDDY PRESSURE SENSOR

This is a 3-bar air pressure sensor add-on. With it, you can tune your fuel maps with this sensor's output as the basis for tuning instead of the car's airflow signal input. This is primarily used when you've overrun the capacity of the stock airflow meter. Whether or not you need this is a tough question – it's really best to run the car without it first and see if you're maxing out the stock airflow meter signal before investing in the pressure sensor.

NOTE: The peak/hold/warning GREDDY boost gauge uses the SAME sensor, so you can share that sensor's output with the E-manage.

PRESSURE SENSOR HARNESS

It's simply the wiring harness to plug the sensor into the E-manage. If you're using the boost gauge's sensor, you can buy just this harness and tap it into the boost gauge's harness.

LARGER INJECTORS & E-MANAGE

The E-manage really works well with larger injectors, and larger injectors are highly recommended. GREDDY advertises that you can increase injector size 150% - this is not really a limitation of the E-manage, but of the engine itself. Larger injectors will squirt more fuel at their smallest pulse width, and too large injectors will cause idling and running problems. But, additional injectors can be added as well to supplement the stock injectors.

FUEL DELIVERY

Compensate for upgraded mass air flow meters, throttle bodies, or fuel injectors.

Adjustment of fuel delivery at 5 different RPM ranges

Adjustment of air flow meter signal by up to 20%

Incorporated Fuel- and Boost-Cut Controller

Control of up to two additional injectors activated by boost or RPM level (with optional boost sensor)

Idle adjustment circuit included

E-MANAGE & DIFFERENT AFM'S

One big source of confusion on the E-manage is its ability to let you use different airflow meters. While this can be done, there are some limitations and rules to play by.

First off, you can only change an airflow meter for another meter of similar type. For example, if you have a hot wire airflow meter, you can use ANY hot wire airflow meter, even if it's from another manufacturer. The software/firmware only has Japanese airflow meters listed - US AFM's could be used in theory, but you'd have to find its Japanese equivalent. Anyhow, if you have a flap-type airflow meter, you can only use another flap-type; if you have a Karmann, you can only use another Karmann.

This option might be helpful for Subaru owners who have had problems with less-than-durable airflow meters - might be able to swap to a Nissan unit, or even another Subaru unit that's hardier.

Second, you can't get rid of the airflow meter and use a MAP sensor. Even if you add the optional GREDDY pressure sensor, you must still have an airflow meter in the system. The GREDDY pressure sensor simply adds another basis for your fuel maps in the E-manage - you can use it to tune your fuel maps instead of the input from the airflow meter (very useful if your airflow meter has run out of range), but that's all internal to the E-manage.

GREDDY PROFEC E-01 BOOST CONTROLLER & E-MANAGE

GREDDY Profec E-01 is an electronic boost controller that utilizes fuzzy logic and also incorporates a SD card slot to record/playback data. Not only is the E-01 a boost controller, it's also a central data and information system. The E-01 will record data, monitor information on the screen, give you peak/hold/warning features for any data streams it's monitoring...it really complements the E-manage well. Even if you don't intend to program the E-manage with it, it's really a handy tuning aid as a laptop is rather cumbersome to keep in the car and watching at all times!

The E-01 can fully control and program the E-manage. With the E-01, you can record and monitor the E-MANAGE's inputs/outputs, tune the various maps, set up the unit, etc. You can save up to 3 maps in the E-01's memory card and rather easily switch between them. In theory, you can have multiple memory cards and swap in different maps.

The E-01 seems like a pretty good way to tune the E-manage, but initial tuning should probably be done with a laptop. The E-01 is really better suited for doing "tweaking" to your fuel maps instead of heavy number-crunching tuning. Part of this is just the limitation of the display, lack of an Undo function, etc.

The E-01 is also supposed to share its boost sensor with the E-manage - there is an optional cable that goes from the E-01's COM port to the Boost Sensor port on the E-manage. The E-01 can also datalog input from GREDDY peak/hold/warning gauges, albeit only one can be connected at a time.

Edited by abu

PLUG IN HARNESS - SUITS A RANGE OF VEHICLES

https://www.rhdjapan.com/home/products/prod...product_id=2253

Just wondering, the above harness says it suits HCR32 but I was reading in one of the threads/posts above that there was some issues with the E-MANAGE readings correctly and some wires/jumpers need to be changed over for it to run correctly (RB20DET)?

Edited by abu

would just like to point out that the spefic harness for the rb20 is not 100% it is actually a GTR harness that they sell you and it needs to be modified to suit the rb20, i have the car specific harness in my car and like the fact that i can pull the emanage out and leave the standard ecu in or put something else in later on.

Thanks for that.

Did you have to switch over wires or anything to make it work properly?

Yep that's what I want, unplug stock ECU and plug in E-MANAGE, and vies versa :D

URAS on the forums said to use a R33 GTR harness, and I have to switch a few wires, but I lost the PM he sent me with the details.

If anyone can clarify, that would be much appreciated :)

Edited by abu

Use the GTR harness and compare the two fitting diagrams (R32 gtst and GTR) that come with the emanage, this will show you which wires are in differrent position. i strongly reccomend that if you havent got experience in fitting such devices that you get it professionally installed as 99% of emanage problems are install errors.

also check out this site. its realitivly newish and the majority of the users a from the USA but it got some good info and some of the guys are fairly switched on with the emanage.

http://www.emanageforums.com/

as uras said get the two diagrams and compare from memory it was four ignition wires and four injector wires. but check the diagrams. using the harness is easy to install however make sure you configure the enamage properly for the car, there are 3 siwtch under one of the panels that needs to be setup and also before you start the car there is some stuff that needs to be setup with the software.

the mohdparts site has some good info on it and the software manual is a must if you are going to do this at home.

also check out this site. its realitivly newish and the majority of the users a from the USA but it got some good info and some of the guys are fairly switched on with the emanage.

http://www.emanageforums.com/

Thanks man, will check it out when I am bored :w00t:

as uras said get the two diagrams and compare from memory it was four ignition wires and four injector wires. but check the diagrams. using the harness is easy to install however make sure you configure the enamage properly for the car, there are 3 siwtch under one of the panels that needs to be setup and also before you start the car there is some stuff that needs to be setup with the software.

the mohdparts site has some good info on it and the software manual is a must if you are going to do this at home.

Alright no worries man, thanks for that.

Will make more sense to me once its in front of me, hard to imagine it - just trying to picture it in my head lol

Do you guys reckon I should just wire it in or spend the money on the vehicle specific harness?

Will just cost more $$money, and I don't really plan on taking the E-MANAGE out anytime soon...

Any thoughts?

Edited by abu
Chasers Motorworks

4/440 Dynon Rd, West Melbourne

9687 7118

That's where i tuned my e-manage :dry:

Made 210 rwkw on 10psi stock turbo, go figure :(

Looking at about $400 - $500 install + tune depending on your car :rolleyes:

Hahaha thanks man ;)