Hi all,

I searched and found some older posts in regards to this topic and a litte bit on google about it, but for those of you who are currently living in Japan and have a car please feel free to give some input. ie parking, shaken, insurance..

Basically, I am moving to Japan (Matsue) in April and this time around I will definately be buying a car.

It will be a daily driver but I intend to do some circuit racing and possibly a bit of drifting. The natural tendancy(in Aus) is to buy an older car ie R32 or S13/14 then do some work on it. Due to the Shaken and other taxes involved I'm wondering if its better to buy something newer and go from there ie R33/34 S15.

It sounds like a simple question (shaken for newer cars is cheaper) but when you factor in the extra cost of buying a newer car...

My question for those who have done one or both of these is which one did you find to be the easiest and or cost efficient way?

The other question I have is where did you buy your car from? I frequently look on yahoo.co.jp オークション for cars, there seem to be some reasonable cars getting sold but I have read that there is quite a lot of paperwork that needs to be done. Which way did you guys buy your cars.. dealer/yahoo?

Sorry for the long winded mail, just wana start getting an idea of what to expect.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/192086-cost-of-owning-a-car-in-japan/

Prior to owning a car, you will need:

1.Japanese Drivers Licence

2.Incan (Official Seal)

3.Incan Shome sho (Seal Registration paperwork) 3 copies

4.Car Park (within 2km of registered home) you need to have an agreement for at least 3 months paid up - 20,000-50,000p/m depending. I pay 40,000.

5.Parking Certificate (this is applied for with Items 2 & 3 at the police station prior to owning the car) Cant remember cost

After all the above, you can buy the car and bring the paperwork to get the registration or Shaken Shome sho (Car Registration Cert)

As far as cost, presuming it has almost none or little Shaken left . All the other cost will depend on your car and where you live..

1.Shaken - around 110,000-150,000 depending

2.Consumption tax

3.Motor vehicle tax

4.Motor vehicle aquiring tax (the 3 taxes could be around 150,000 depending on the car)

Congratulations, now you have a registered car and a parking area for it.

On top of the montly rent, high fuel cost (around $15 perlitre) you will have to pay another tax for car ownership to your local city office every year.

So calculating based from my situation, I spend around $900 a month on just owning the car. This doesnt include any $100 parking fines I sometimes get! All this and its not even my only transportation method... but my scooter cost much less!

As for where to buy, I would stick to a dealer personally. But if you have time, try the auctions. Yahoo Auction is not a place to buy a car really. Just to get info.

Hope this helps.

Edited by N/A®

I bought both my cars off Yahoo, well sort of, I saw the auction then contacted the seller.

There was lots of paperwork which my friend's wife helped me with. (The latest car had some problems because of some mistakes/assumptions I made)

My car had no Shakken so I paid for that as well (I don't think the cost is different for newer cars, but I could be wrong about that).

I went to the car auctions for the first time yesterday and it seems to be the best way to go. But everything costs money in Japan, the reduced hassles you get from going through a dealer may be worth the extra cost :)

I think the most important thing is to get a car you want and that is appropriate for your purpose. I bought a modified drift car as my purpose was driving. Other people like posing or buying parts so choose the car based on that.

If your goal is driving then don't buy the cleanest example you can find then spend months modifying it the way you want only to be heading back to Australia as soon as it is "finished". I have seen that a few times.

Thanks guys, that helps out a fair bit. I think that parking costs where I will live will be a bit cheaper(rural area). From what you have told me its safe to say that when I buy a car expect at least 200,000円ish in other cost, then obviously the ongoing cost of running a car.

I have never bought a modified car before, I always steered away from them in the thinking that the past owner had thrashed the nuts outta it, however buying a stocker then modifying it is way more costly. As in most cases there are ups and down sides to each.

In Aus I would do it myself (as I have all the tools) but in Japan its probably better for me to get something that is mildy modified and work from there.

When I lived in Japan my way of travel was mostly bike, how do you guys find the police to be in regards to modified cars with a 外国人 behind the wheel?

Edited by sleeper_et

Well this year I have paid ¥500,000 in fines to Osaka's finest! :)

The only things I have ever been pulled over for were number plate related. In one case my light wasn't working and in the other one bolt on the rear plate was wonky. Basically as long as the car has registration, shaken and you have a licence (of some sort) you are fine driving almost anything.

The Japanese idea of a loud exhaust is something that you can hear from the next prefecture so anything with a muffler of any sort should be ok. BUT wherever you park make sure you don't piss off your neighbours late at night with your loud car, always put my silencer in before I get back to my suburb.

Sticking out wheels and sub-terranian ride heights don't seem to worry them either.

But if you drive around in a group they freak out and fine you lots of money and send the group leaders to prison :)

If you are pulled over the police being polite and helpful seems to get you deeper in trouble, casual indifference or letting them know you are in a hurry and can't hang around for a chat works well.

The most dangerous thing to ride is a 50cc scooter, it has a 30km/h speed limit which is enforced and you can't run away very easily.

post-662-1194156930_thumb.jpg

Edited by Laurence

Ive bought ,shakened, carpark, the whole 9 yards and have done it with only oz international licence..but got to admit its all sweeter with a jap licence but still pull out the international if pinned by the cops..but then again only twice in 6 years not too bad..

Prior to owning a car, you will need:

1.Japanese Drivers Licence

2.Incan (Official Seal)

3.Incan Shome sho (Seal Registration paperwork) 3 copies

4.Car Park (within 2km of registered home) you need to have an agreement for at least 3 months paid up - 20,000-50,000p/m depending. I pay 40,000.

5.Parking Certificate (this is applied for with Items 2 & 3 at the police station prior to owning the car) Cant remember cost

After all the above, you can buy the car and bring the paperwork to get the registration or Shaken Shome sho (Car Registration Cert)

As far as cost, presuming it has almost none or little Shaken left . All the other cost will depend on your car and where you live..

1.Shaken - around 110,000-150,000 depending

2.Consumption tax

3.Motor vehicle tax

4.Motor vehicle aquiring tax (the 3 taxes could be around 150,000 depending on the car)

Congratulations, now you have a registered car and a parking area for it.

On top of the montly rent, high fuel cost (around $15 perlitre) you will have to pay another tax for car ownership to your local city office every year.

So calculating based from my situation, I spend around $900 a month on just owning the car. This doesnt include any $100 parking fines I sometimes get! All this and its not even my only transportation method... but my scooter cost much less!

As for where to buy, I would stick to a dealer personally. But if you have time, try the auctions. Yahoo Auction is not a place to buy a car really. Just to get info.

Hope this helps.

15 DOLLARS a litre...

i think he meant $1.50 :)

Well this year I have paid ¥500,000 in fines to Osaka's finest! :)

The only things I have ever been pulled over for were number plate related. In one case my light wasn't working and in the other one bolt on the rear plate was wonky. Basically as long as the car has registration, shaken and you have a licence (of some sort) you are fine driving almost anything.

The Japanese idea of a loud exhaust is something that you can hear from the next prefecture so anything with a muffler of any sort should be ok. BUT wherever you park make sure you don't piss off your neighbours late at night with your loud car, always put my silencer in before I get back to my suburb.

Sticking out wheels and sub-terranian ride heights don't seem to worry them either.

But if you drive around in a group they freak out and fine you lots of money and send the group leaders to prison :)

If you are pulled over the police being polite and helpful seems to get you deeper in trouble, casual indifference or letting them know you are in a hurry and can't hang around for a chat works well.

The most dangerous thing to ride is a 50cc scooter, it has a 30km/h speed limit which is enforced and you can't run away very easily.

LOL at the photo!!!!!

As Laurance has stated, modified cars are left alone here. Ive been pulled over for small offences too, ie. blue plate lights. Generally they have better things to do. However if they catch you with a group of cars and its a special campaign to stop modified cars, you will get done. This is very rare tho.

From my experience, I had no problems except with my dealer when I needed work done. For instance, they would not accept my car with tinting on the front windows as its illegal here. Had to remove it and get it put on a couple of times.

An international drivers licence is fine but its only technically allowed up to a year in JP. Changing over for Australians is so easy and cheap that you might as well get it done.

Newer cars dont really cost more for shaken, but if its really new, you have a longer period between inspections.

Sound like an Japan licence will be on the cards then. I have heard that when you get a Japanese licence your Aussie one is no longer valid?

Thanks for the tip Laurence, I would of thought that being polite would have been the way to go considering how polite Japanese are. Thats funny, I will try it on an Aussie Cop and see what happens :)

You mentioned buying from the auction yards, I'm under the impression that its pretty much an invitation/trade only deal, but say you wanted to go and look or potentially buy, how would you go about it?

I know its ages away but I'm looking forward to the idea of getting a car in JP.

You mentioned buying from the auction yards, I'm under the impression that its pretty much an invitation/trade only deal, but say you wanted to go and look or potentially buy, how would you go about it?
Well closer to the date shoot me a PM and I may or may not be working at the auctions.

Also I checked out where you are living! Holy Moly that is pretty far from everything!

I have driven to Tottori which is fairly close to you and they had awesome mountain roads so you will be able to have fun on those!

Well closer to the date shoot me a PM and I may or may not be working at the auctions.

Also I checked out where you are living! Holy Moly that is pretty far from everything!

I have driven to Tottori which is fairly close to you and they had awesome mountain roads so you will be able to have fun on those!

Haha, yeah its not really where I wanted 100% to be (Kobe/Osaka) but my misses has just scored a really good job in that area and the deal was if she gets the job we live there if she doesn't we live in Kobe or Osaka. It's a nice place with shit loads of Mountain Rds :) so... has its pluses. Looks like I will be doing tuning on the road and not a dyno.

Would it take about 5 hours to get to Osaka by car?

Thanks for the offer, funny you mention that cause if I can get my Japanese to where it needs to be that was one of the jobs I would have liked to have done(if in Kobe/Osaka).

Good luck with the job. If you get it, it will open up a fair few opportuinities for you to make some $$$ on the side.

Sound like an Japan licence will be on the cards then. I have heard that when you get a Japanese licence your Aussie one is no longer valid?

Thanks for the tip Laurence, I would of thought that being polite would have been the way to go considering how polite Japanese are. Thats funny, I will try it on an Aussie Cop and see what happens :)

I know its ages away but I'm looking forward to the idea of getting a car in JP.

Your Australian license will not be valid anyway if you change it to a Japanese one. Its so easy to do but i can tell you, if you dont have the right paperwork, expect a lot of hassles.

Basically you have to prove you have stayed in Australia for at least 3 months. Its sounds so stupid but its the rule. The authorities are fed up with uni students going to australia to get their licenses where it wont cost them over $2,500 OZ

yes, its that expensive.

Just bring your passport. hoping it is at least 3 month older than your departure date and you are set.

Also you will need to get the license translated. it only costs 4000 yen.

take that with everything else to a motor reg and all you need to do is take an eye test. That will only cost you a few thousand yen as well. Its so stupidly easy but driving here is difficult i can tell you.

At least you wont have to deal with tokyo traffic. almost everything is in japanese so you may want to budget for a Navi at some stage. Using a street directory is basically useless.

It amazes me how easy they have made it for us to get a license...most of us cant even read one single kanji.

Auction yards are closed to the public. Period.

I have many friends in the trade and you can get a visitors pass to go with them.

basically dont be surprised if you almost never see a car being sold privately in a paper. There are virtually NONE. Only the smattering of gaijin looking to flog their car off for a sayonara sale. Want second hand? Gotta go through a registered dealer or go through an online auction place like yahoo. virtually every car that is sold second hand goes through an auction.

A tight little system, i can tell you.

but it does have many advantages. If you go through a dealer you get to inspect the car yourself, have an EXTREMELY thorough report and grading to go with it and can specify what you want to pay. Cars here go under the hammer every 20 seconds, 7 days a week, 365 days a year.

You will also be able to pick up a car that has SHAKEN, and REGISTRATION included.

so just pay the dealer, change the ownership and drive away.

Im not sure if Ken mentioned it, but you CANNOT get a car before you have visited the Police AND provided proof of parking.

You have to do that before you can even think of driving around.

one more thing... ¥40000 yen for a car park? Thats ridiculous. Mines only ¥10000 and im 20 minutes away from shinjuku...

Edited by m3gtr
one more thing... ¥40000 yen for a car park? Thats ridiculous. Mines only ¥10000 and im 20 minutes away from shinjuku...
20minutes by Shinkansen?

edit: Had a think about it... do you live in an apartment with onsite parking? That is soooooo cheap!!!

Edited by Laurence
20minutes by Shinkansen?

edit: Had a think about it... do you live in an apartment with onsite parking? That is soooooo cheap!!!

LOL, no, not 20 minutes by shinkansen!

20..sorry i guess i exaggerated, 25 minutes by special or semi special express to shinjuku.

You dont need to pay through the roof to get a great place close to all the action.

My wife and I pay ¥114,000 for a great,secure and modern 2dk with all the trimmings.

Thats the normal price around here...

im curious... what are you paying?

by the way, ken lives in the ritzy suburbs...no slumming it for him. :D

Thats why the rent is through the roof...

lol, i have to ask ( a little off topic )but did you marry that supermodel ex you were supposedly getting back together with? coz last time i remember, you didnt have a degree and im sure you never taught in australia, so you wouldnt qualify for self sponsorship in teaching... :)

you cant be working for Nova...theyre gone//

Berlitz? ECC?

cmon mate, enlighten me! :ninja:

Edited by m3gtr
LOL, no, not 20 minutes by shinkansen!

20..sorry i guess i exaggerated, 25 minutes by special or semi special express to shinjuku.

You dont need to pay through the roof to get a great place close to all the action.

My wife and I pay ¥114,000 for a great,secure and modern 2dk with all the trimmings.

Thats the normal price around here...

im curious... what are you paying?

by the way, ken lives in the ritzy suburbs...no slumming it for him. :D

Thats why the rent is through the roof...

lol, i have to ask ( a little off topic )but did you marry that supermodel ex you were supposedly getting back together with? coz last time i remember, you didnt have a degree and im sure you never taught in australia, so you wouldnt qualify for self sponsorship in teaching... :)

you cant be working for Nova...theyre gone//

Berlitz? ECC?

cmon mate, enlighten me! :ninja:

Yes

No

No

and again No

1 out of 4 ..... As always, misinformed arent you Adam.

I have a 3 year Visa from the degree I have. When I left I was under the impression I needed a different degree but for what Im doing, a BA is good enough.

As for my personal life, I dont think this is the right place to be discussing it, but if you want to tell the boyz about yours, feel free! Got just an ordinary job... we cant all be a Lecturer or was it Professor?? LOL

lol, so you are married.

well congratulations. guess you didnt have to force her into it like i did hey?

i wonder why you dint just get a spouse visa like the rest of us.

whether someone on here knows im married or not, what kind of car i drive, what position i hold is really not a concern of mine.

lol, yeah actually i am a lecturer. lol again..and yeah at a university, Ken.

For once, just be happy about where i am in comparison to where i was.

just got my meishi this week. Its a normal job too. I hope you get as much enjoyment from your work as i do. You have made all sorts of judgments about me recently but its just a shame you've been so far out of the loop. I dont work in a servo any more, lol!

LOL, if only you knew.

Anyway, congrats again on the marriage. She looked really nice last time you showed me the photo. Glad it worked out for you in the end.

Adam

edited.

double post because of server error.

sorry sleeper, didnt mean to hijack your thread by trying to get the lowdown on a guy i used to know.

carry on!

Edited by m3gtr

FOR THE LAST FARKING TIME, IM NOT MARRIED. Not that its any of your business but simply to have you well informed.

NOBODY GIVES A FLYING FARK WHAT YOU OR I DO, who anyone dates, where anyone lives or what coffee we drink..... this is a skyline forum. Talk about Skylines and talk about the topic on this thread.

END OF THE DAYS OF OUR LIVES ADAM.. so STFU ALREADY!!

Sleeper_et,

Here is a link that will inform you about changing your licence over. Its the Japan Automobile Federation (JAF) site. You will need to go to them to get your licence translated 1st. It cost 3,000 and takes about 10 minutes if you do it in the big cities.

After this, you need to go to your local Licence Registration Office and follow the steps on the page. Just disregards stages (3) & (4) because you have an Australian Licence.

JAF Licence Site

Edited by N/A®