• Replies 141

create a video clip showing that not everyone is a hoon. Targeting modified cars is not the answer.. and highlight all their footage that is incorrect... then send this video clip to ACA

i fkn dare any one to crush my car cause i left 2 tyre marks on the road.... Morris Iemma needs to look at things a bit more clearly and not try to use scare tactics against people who would probly die for there cars..

create a video clip showing that not everyone is a hoon. Targeting modified cars is not the answer.. and highlight all their footage that is incorrect... then send this video clip to ACA

pretty sure such a video would be edited to feature in an article about gangs or some other bullshit.... i seem to recall the last one focusing on some hectik tool at brighton, bragging about how fast he's gone on public roads. Basically: videos can be edited and manipulated...

can't see this working ey seriously if they chase one of these rocket ships that are full hardcore street racing (not acceleratin up to the speed limit fast from traffic lights - thats not racing).... do you really think if they know they will loose there cars that they're going to stop???? all i can see happening is more violence and police high speed chases....

This is the stupidest law ever.. No one has the right to crush your property, whether it be a pencil or a car..

If people street race, they should confiscate the cars, theres no need to crush them, its ridiculously stupid..

Im sure alot of people with modded street cars are gonna get their cars crushed for what police deem as 'racing' when it was nothing like that..

What happens if they crush your car then later there is evidence that you WERENT racing?

How about we all go out and crush everything that we dont like? that sounds fun

Here we go again, first siezing now crushing. There is no equity in this law. Penalties must be uniform, if they were'nt the judicioury would be free to hand down a life sentence for shoplifting; wait until someone with 150K wrapped up in a ride gets this penalty This is yet another case of political interference in the process with aim of winning a few votes from a scared ignorant middle class and saving a few bucks. The use of these hoon laws tells me that governments has given up on young people and are more interested in headlines than controlling the death toll. The idea of "breaking" or "humiliating" someone is draconian and punitive; it achieves nothing but gaining headlines and creating an under class of young men with a desereved hatred of the law and the unfortunate men and women who prosecute it. Lazy and weak government.

Riots powers stay

Just announced: cops now have the power to:

" to stop vehicles they suspect are travelling to a location where public disorder is brewing; and

* to seize and detain any item police believe might be likely to assist in preventing or controlling public disorder.

Anybody see this possibly being exploited??? :P

if i ever got caught racing and they wanted to crash my car, id seriously start throwing a hissy and hop away.... end of story... i dont think id let any cop just take my GTR, sorry doesnt work like that....

I think that instead of thinking of what you'd do "IF".....

just don't race your car on public roads and save everyone the bullshit.

nuff said.

i drive more cautiously since owning a modifed car, because my car sticks out like a sore thumb

the last 20 cars i've seen doing burnouts/donuts/being hoons on public roads have all been comodores. the fact that they're targeting modified vehicles is a joke

I think every one is worrying too much.

nah over-reacting to a story about a non-existent law that is an over-reaction itself is cool..

let's whip ourselves into a fevour

aaaaand GO!!

you cant educate people against the dangers of street racing.they have to be seriously injured to realise this. 3 wks ago a mate at tafe was in a po-po chase. needless to say they caught him. he has no license for a long time. do you think that it stopped him from driving <_<No. i dont know many people have bragged about how many times they have driven a car and they have no license.

the point being if crushing cars gets the real hoons/boy racers/i dont give a f**k about the system tools off of the street then thats the only way it can be done. ok i partially change my mind depending on the offence. if it isnt as serious as a car crushable offence then i think long,long,looong term impoundment is the way to go.pretty simple really. take it to the track.

if the "street hoons" have a laugh at u when u say how much it costs to track the car for a day just ask them how much they have paid in fines.lol.and or how much they will end up paying in fines executing the same shit.

Its all well adn good to say " take it to the track" but how much funding have you seen go to the local tracks from all the speed camera and other revenue? the gov does not care about supporting a legitimate place where you can go fast. All they care about is the majority of public opinion and revenue

yeah I know, but that's part of my point. who determines what is street racing? what is just speeding? what is just speeding beside/near a car that also happens to be speeding? that's the problem, the whole thing is very subjective.

It also comes down to your word against the laws word.

Now if there is two of the law (two officers) and only your word... then in reality in the courts, you dont stand chance if it is even a semi-trivial case.

I've been on the brunt of officers lying in court, and i'll freely say they were lying even if the 'court' (read:bias judge) said they were not.

Its a disgusting proposal.

You guys should organise a protest, hell i'd come up just to protest also.

i knew this was going to eventuate.

everyone on this forum present your car at sims metal. as your all guilty of rekless driving,dangerouse driving and street racing. and figurivly speaking of corse. anYone who has given it a "hit" is who im talking about.

just think about that for a second. remember back to everytime you have ever accelerated quickly. ie: 1st to 2nd.. then picture a very angry biased higway patrol car being behind you EVERYTIME you have done it. im pretty sure most of us would be in the shit.

the point of that statment is to highlight the fact that the police have just gone to hard on everyone in regard to street racing type offences. all this proposed law will do is further seperate and remove any ounce of respect for the police.

canceling rego etc etc is a better option im my opinion. remove the car,remove the problem. but without causing potential mass upraw in the car comunity.

either way. if you are caught for legitimatly racing then more seveer penaltys should be in place. the problem with the laws is they only have one scale of street racing. same for giving it a short burst as attempting max speed. there neeeds to be a scale in place. and the laws dont allow any police scrutiny at all.

end rant.