It is quite amazing the fat mid range but.

On the dyno loaded up he said the RB30 came on to full boost around 2300rpm however generally on the road it hits full boost at 3000rpm.

Its interesting how the power curve goes flat up the top end.

I'm not sure if that is a good thing or not. Maybe it is as when you click the next gear it will be making basically peak power already 240kw where as on the RB25 it has to build up to that powerlevel from say 200rwkw.

Matthoon also posted his RB30 dyno reading of 320rwkw on 14psi. That is using the RB26DET head or was it just the cams?!?! and doesn't go flat up top.

• Replies 68

• 9 months later...

hope this helps

500 horsepower is equivalent to roughly 1.3 billion joules per hour.

1 liters of fuel contains 35 million joules, so a 500-hp engine has to be able to burn just over 37L of gas per hour.

However, car engines are only about one-quarter efficient -- three quarters of the gasoline's energy escapes as heat rather than as power to the wheels. So the engine actually has to be able to burn at least 148L per hour, or 2.4L per minute.

Petrol requires about 14.7 kilograms of air to burn 1 kilogram of gas. Air weighs 1.222 kilograms per cubic meter at sea level. A Litre of gasoline weighs 1.34 kilograms. So the engine has to be able to process 1.34*2.4*14.7 kilograms of air per minute, or roughly 38 cubic meters of air per minute. That's 38,000 liters of air per minute.

If a straight 6 engine is turning at 6,000 rpm, it can inhale a total of 18,000 cylinders' full of air per minute. If it needs to inhale 38,000 liters of air per minute, it works out to roughly 2 liters per cylinder-full. That's a 12-liter engine.

But an engine that size wouldnt be able to turn at 6000 rpm maybe (ok it could but not easily) maybe closer to 4000. soooooo

4000*6/2 is 12000 cylinders per minute. we still require 38000 litres of air for 500hpso

38000/12000 = 3.2 ltrs a cylinder * 6. we now need a 19.2 ltr engine.

but wait theres more...

ok so how do we get 500hp from 2.5/6 litres. the turbo, double the airflow and you can effectively double your fuel.

ok i think thats enough maths forme today... you can add up the rest

What does this prove... its proves that power is more complex than simple litreage.

RPM is relative to cylinder size, air flow to rpm, air flow to fuel consumption.

Hey man just thought id mention at the time of those runs it was a GT30 dash 11 (475hp) turbo, the 25 had no trouble spinning it up. It also was running a .82 a/r housing with a fairly tight nozzle and small turbine wheel. It was a pretty responsive turbo on the 25, on the 30 it was psychotic. I have since upgraded as it was cutting my top end pretty badly.

Joel.

After looking at those two power curves, have to agree the RB30 is going to be heaps stronger at the same maximum boost.

But I suspect though that the same rated boost level was only reached at the very top end with the RB25 combination.

Fitting the RB30 allowed the turbo(s) to come on boost far sooner and create that massive mid range torque.

I would like to bet that some slightly smaller exhaust turbines/housings on the RB25 combination would also have come on boost sooner as well and given a similar if not identical result.

Still, it has ended up a mighty impressive engine though, no matter how he finally did it.

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

• Similar Content

• I mean this in no disrespect to u mate; Are there clear tagged examples/explanations in our SAU forum for example, in my interest, this is how to do R34 Gtt suspension the right way? U guys did so much taking risks with experimentation that deserves recognition and those results helps us morons take the RIGHT path to buy quality / buy once. 🍻
    • Pretty much what you'd expect at that power level. Hypergear turbo, long list of supporting mods, full Haltech catalogue, etc.  I'd say this goes for most drivers, suspension is still a dark art for most people. And it's really hard to convince someone how much better their setup could be...  
    • They are what I will be installing. 640s for me.
    • Hmm... From my experience you get about 0.25° camber change per mm of RUCA length change. So, to correct from -2.5 up to less than -1° (or, more than -1° if you look at the world as a mathematician does) then you'd be making 6-8mm of length change on the RUCA. From a stock length of 308mm, that's 2-2.5% difference in RUCA length. My RUCAs are currently very close to stock length - certainly only 2-3mm different from stock. I had to adjust my tension arms by 6mm to minimise the bump steer. That's 6mm out of 210, which is 2.8%. That's a 2.8% change on those, compared to a <1% change on the RUCAs. So the stock geometry already has worse bump steer than is possible - you can improve it even if you don't change the RUCA length. If you lengthen the RUCAs at all, then you will definitely be adding bump steer. Again, with my car, I recently had an unpleasant amount of bump steer, stemming from a number of things that happened one after another without me having an opportunity to correct for them. I only had to change the tension arm lengths by 1mm to minimise the resulting bump steer. (Granted, I also had to dial out a lot of extra toe-in in the rear, and excessive rear toe-in will make bump steer behaviour worse). Relatively tiny little adjustments having been made - the car is now completely different. Was horrifying how much it wanted to steer from the rear on any significant single wheel bump/dip. And it was even bad on expansion joints on long sweepers on freeway entry/exits, which are notionally hitting both rear wheels at the same time. My point is, the crappy Nissan multilink is quite sensitive to these things (unlike the very nice Toyota suspension!). And I think 99.75% of Skyline owners are blissfully ignorant of what they are driving around on. Sadly, it is a non-trivial exercise to set up to measure and correct bump steer. I am happy to show my rig, which involves nasty chunks of wood bolted to the hub, mirrors, lasers, graph paper targets and other horrors. Just in case anyone wants to see how it is done. I'll just have to set it up to take the photos.
    • What do you have in that bad boy ? Ill go with the 725cc since I'll be going with Nistune ( would definitely like more engine protection but Haltech is too far out of reach at the moment... plus, Ill probably have a pretty safe tune as its a daily, not gonna be chasing peak power 24/7 ahahah ). Are Xspurt a safe choice?  Pete's great. He didnt mention anything about traction arm length so I reckon it may be good. When I get some new wheels/tire later down the road I'll ask him about it and get his opinion on em. I heard from Gary that you've got the bilsteins too, are you running the sway bars too? and what other suspension goodies do you have installed or would recommend?