• Replies 45

there is pretty much only 1 thing you need. insurance for an appropriate value. on top of that by all means have a decent alarm and immobiliser. anything else just takes up your time and effort. I don't want to live my life fcking around because people steal cars. If I want to go to the shopping centre, I will part wherever I want to park. if the car gets stolen sure it's sad, but you ring the police, then ring your insurer and wait for either the car or the cheque to turn up. and yes I have been hit by car theft, and yes it was insured and I got a full payout for pretty much exactly the value of the car.

Yes it sounds simple, but if happens twice or three times the payout from insurer will get harder to get and who would want to insure you after that anyway? :worship:

I think the point of shopping center carparks just stay away or use other car when going there you have to take some care where you park plus it's not that simple when you get attached to some hard work and mods being done to the car.

My 2 cents worth

dave

3yrs ago i bought my 89 32gtst for $12,500 and if i had full insurance,all id get back is $5,500 - $7,500

i have listed cd player & exhaust. Can you please explain how i get it insured for atleast $12,000?

3yrs ago i bought my 89 32gtst for $12,500 and if i had full insurance,all id get back is $5,500 - $7,500

i have listed cd player & exhaust. Can you please explain how i get it insured for atleast $12,000?

Take out an agreed value insurance policy. Prepare to pay a higher premium but not by much.

exactly Kris! and I get your point donutdavid. I have a shitload of mods on my car. shitloads I tell you. easily counted in the 10s of thousands, but I list every mod on my policy, and I have agreed value. and when you are negotiating that value treat it as though you are selling the car. So I have to ask myself, is my payout amount a figure I would accept if I were selling the car today? if the answer is no then you need to negotiate a higher insured amount.

I'm not saying be reckless with how and where you park etc. but I refuse to let car stealing cock smokers dictate how I live my life. If I want to take the GTR down to the shops then I will. no point owning the GTR if I can't drive it when and where I want to.

ok,long story short $1835 a year full comprehensive $2600 excess

Just car gives back $10000 less excess.

3rd party fire and theft $686 (i just payed) after excess get back close to $7000

14days after the car goes missing,they start the paperwork for payment.

both on agreed insurnace value.

EDIT: the guy on the phone said back in 04" agreed value on my car was $5000

now its $10000.

Edited by RSTME
or....

sell skyline/stagea etc and buy a barina?

Funni you say that actually...not that the skyline is being sold...but my girlfriend got her grandmas '87 Barina, which is now used to go shopping in, to do the daily driving. and the 33 comes out for fun :ph34r: (...or if im running late ;))

Yeah, it doesn't work so well when you have fines that are 6 months over due because you don't know about them, you drive a modified import, and a friendly Highway patrol officer decides to run a random check while following you down the freeway.......

works well for me as the people at our old address send it to our current address

Or just buy a POS Audi or some other Euro trash taxi :ph34r:

*Awaits "At least my car runs on all cylinders" comeback ;)

what can i say mate.. you read my mind... that swift i had ran on 3 cyl, maybe we could transplant that motor into your nugget and you could have 6 again?

To anyone that wants a switch or screamer feel free to PM me, im already doing 2-3 this weekend, ill even invoice you + warrant it under my ABN :P

Buy a motorbike instead of a 31! cheap insurance + rego + running costs!

ANOTHER ONE:

You can unplug your crank angle sensor which is located behind your fans at the front of the motor. In doing this, even with the key, the car will only be able to crank but not kick over. When you want to start it up then just plug it back up. Perfect for when going on holidays or long term trips.

ANOTHER ONE:

You can unplug your crank angle sensor which is located behind your fans at the front of the motor. In doing this, even with the key, the car will only be able to crank but not kick over. When you want to start it up then just plug it back up. Perfect for when going on holidays or long term trips.

Cool another one I can go and unplug

The best lesson my dad ever taught me was if you can't afford to lose it you shouldn't use it :ermm:

Even the best protected car can be stolen (first hand experience speaking here) so if you don’t own it (or have spent too much on it) comprehensive insurance is a must.

i just got an immobilising switch put in my car today by Haysey himself.

works perfect and is hidden well.

I highly recommend him.

Thanks heaps Ed

Edited by RSTME