Anyone here know much about radar detectors? Are the K & Ka bands the most widely used bands in Aust? Are laser's in use?

Im looking into The Bel Sti XR or the Valentine One(2 of the top models) and im looking at getting one in from the US. Are the US models compatible so its simply a plug n play? Btw. i am aware that these detectors are illegal in most of Aust, fortunately im in W.A. and they havent brought in a law against them yet. Having said that, the Bel Sti is also supposedly undetectable by radar detector detectors.

Thanks in advance to anyone that can advise.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/194818-radar-detectors/

both of those are modded to suit local conditions. buy one from overseas and the boys will 'see' it. lasers are used here btw.

www.radar.co.nz if you are curious about local laws :)

(I know a bit about them and can access them if I need to.)

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/194818-radar-detectors/#findComment-3491598

The main problem with radar detectors is that most states now have detectors that detect detectors...... i think i got that right...

Also since we use laser it is harder to pick up, back in the old days of radar the gun was always putting out a signal so no matter where it is pointed you could pick up the signal, these days, laser dosnt put out a signal till they pull the trigger and they dont do that till they have lined up a car, the best you can hope for is that they target someone near you before they target you.

With the price of them these days and the chance of detecting them before they get you i personaly dont think its worth it.

The only thing i would buy (but havnt seen one for sale yet) is a jammer, at least then you get a warning and time to slow down.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/194818-radar-detectors/#findComment-3495483

have seen several of them.. they are available locally as well.

believe me the people that have them aren't fussed with the ticket they get. they have them so they do not get harassed..

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/194818-radar-detectors/#findComment-3495774

The main problem with radar detectors is that most states now have detectors that detect detectors...... i think i got that right...

Also since we use laser it is harder to pick up, back in the old days of radar the gun was always putting out a signal so no matter where it is pointed you could pick up the signal, these days, laser dosnt put out a signal till they pull the trigger and they dont do that till they have lined up a car, the best you can hope for is that they target someone near you before they target you.

With the price of them these days and the chance of detecting them before they get you i personaly dont think its worth it.

The only thing i would buy (but havnt seen one for sale yet) is a jammer, at least then you get a warning and time to slow down.

Iv been told the same about the police having detectors that detector detecotors but always thought it was a load of shit

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/194818-radar-detectors/#findComment-3496540

Yea thats why i mentioned the Bel STI, its supposedly undetectable by RD detectors. But i agree with u on the laser, u may not get enough time to slow down b4 the laser picks ur speed up.

So anyone know where u can get the jammers & for how much? Bring this to pm since they r illegal.

Edited by G_Force
https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/194818-radar-detectors/#findComment-3497676

You have to be locked on for 3 seconds at a speed over the speed limit.. ive braked within sight of a radar gun and never got the fine hence i missed it.. so dont say you cant.. if you get a jammer your going to get pinned.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/194818-radar-detectors/#findComment-3497846

if you get a jammer your going to get pinned.

Not really, saw one tested on fifth gear a while back, they can be mounted in the dash with a sensor behind the grill, when they jam the signal they set off lights and warning sounds for a few seconds then turn its self off, gives you enough time to slow down before they can target you again.

I believe this is the test on youtube

Edited by W0rp3D
https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/194818-radar-detectors/#findComment-3498958

Yes they work down here. A mate sent one from the US to his dad (hes always on the road) and ive seen it work personally quite well. Hes saved heaps...

With the exchange rates its also much cheaper buying them from the US. More than double here...

Try this site, it'll give u the run down on AUS laws, and comparisons between the best RD's for here. The US bell sti works better than the AUS bell sti apparently mate. I would personally install the valentine becuause its permanent and u can hide it. The bell is good cos u can move it b/n cars easy or just flog it out the window if ure scared of being caught :(

http://www.delonixradar.com.au/queensland/

Yes the bell sti cant be detected by new Stalcar RDD's

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/194818-radar-detectors/#findComment-3499866

If u have a GPS, you can add current camera locations as points of interest from this site...

http://www.ozpoi.com/Safety_Cameras.html

Save those $$ for skylines boys

This may also help

"Some States publish the locations of fixed speed cameras, red light cameras, and the common locations of mobile speed cameras."

http://www.trafficlaw.com.au/speed_camera_locations.html

Edited by Jmaac
https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/194818-radar-detectors/#findComment-3499870

personally mine has saved me quite a lot.

i'd recomend getting one as they pick up multinovas aswell, if you see a cop you naturally slow down regardless of what hes holding so the detectors arnt there to protect you from the laser guns..

The beeps are a little bit annoying for the first week or so but once its saved you some cash you wont want to drive with out it.

just my 2cents

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/194818-radar-detectors/#findComment-3502879