knowing this government ...........and these cop these day

they will go on You tube and find people ripping burnouts and try to arrest them.

It all depend on how hungry they are.

I am fairly sure they are already doing this mate.

• Replies 60

funny how we're on the topic of young & imports.

Every single time I get pulled over in business attire, cops are extremely nice to me, don't question anything twice and usually just give me a RBT, but all hell breaks lose on the weekends when I'm not in work attire. I get addressed as "son" and most of the time told to step out of the car, show my engineer's certificate, etc.

What's the story here? I think it's amplified because I'm asian, and drive an import.

I once got pulled over while i was in the work driveway... they came speeding up the road, flashed lights and practically mounted the curb to stop me before I got in...

When I rolled down the window and they saw a swanky suit and expensive sunglasses hiding tired eyes that just woke up, they said I musn't be the white clubspec WRX they were looking for that was involved in an armed robbery the night before...

At least they got the colour right...

kool,im buying a suit for driving.

Do it, it works.... I usually don't get changed afterwork when I take my car out.. less trouble and headache...

Cops address you as "sir" not as "son" or "boy"....

I even get the occasional, "what's been done to it?" and I tell them what I got & that's its engineered and its all good, don't even question me twice about paper work or what not. Then again, I was probably lucky and met a decent cop, usually the minority.

Most of them, high school drop outs, no brains, power hungry, picked on at school. That's how I see cops.

Yeah i like to wear a suit out at nights too... it fits in with almost whatever your doing, impresses a lot of people, and instantly changes people perception when you step in or out of the car...

Like if i was just wearing my normall baggy jeans and a shirt, it looks like I'm out on the road for no other reason then to get sideways or smoke some rubber... but who the f**k does that in a suit? NO ONE! :) All suit wearing folk are good citizens and always abide by the laws ;)

kool,im buying a suit for driving.

It works!

It happened to us coming back from a 21st we were all fancy smancy dressed to the 9's

A WRX tryed to race us near leichhardt and a cop was sitting in the side street.. WRX raced off and we just potted along..

They pulled us both over booked him and got our details to if they wanted us to make a statement..

Hehe. We looked so pretty :)

Video is the only evidance that u can get pinned with.. or a photo too.. If you host a you tube vid ripping it up on state roads then they will nail you..

If someone reports you had been and they videod it then ur guna get reemed.. but if you didnt get videod you can be smaked for shit.

Anyways..

I dont think the rules will come into effect with such force, and if they do it wont be for a very long time.

And to the point im going to start wearing suits out.. I rather like it anways..

Dont matter its still noise polution and air polution.. sucks huh

There are different DB ratings (recorded from the curb) at different times, and are different in different zones...

Not that I would know or anything...

sooo are there any type of rules for emissions on race cars(all forms of motor racing i guess) since everyones being wussy bout pollution?

Different rules for different classes... they are actually pretty damn strict on rules...

Since when do burnouts feature high in the list of things that kill people in this country? Street racing is bad though, although personally I don't see much wrong with it up to the speed limit only. I'm open to being convinced otherwise as I haven't put that much thought into it.
Mate, Ill remind you that some comments made here are read by anybody. (I think these are your words)

As for the answer just maybe you would think that's something wrong with doing a burnout on residental street when screaching tyre noise (v8 ute) wakes you up and smoke fills my house at 1am o and my 2 kids get out of bed to ask and wonder whats wrong? I just say another idiot has nothing better to do while trying to get his number plate in order to report the kocksmoker.

As for the laws that's just politicians way of fixing things in order to satisfy public outcry nothing else, However some honest drivers like most people on this forum will get caught in the middle of it. Someone already has posted that feeling is I'm worried about just driving a skyline.

dave :)

No need to remind me. I never said I actually did street race up to the speed limit, I just expressed an opinion that I didn't think it was that bad. I also think that people should be able to legally buy and use heroin and other drugs (not ice) in controlled systems but I'm certainly not interested in it myself.

Of course burnouts in suburban streets are bad. All I'm saying is that noise pollution laws are all you need to cover them, I don't think you need massive penalties like confiscating cars and sending people to prison. There are already laws about making excessive smoke, etc so as usual, the government is duplicating laws needlessly. If there is a hoon problem, it's not due to lax laws, it's lax enforcement of the current laws.

funny how we're on the topic of young & imports.

Every single time I get pulled over in business attire, cops are extremely nice to me, don't question anything twice and usually just give me a RBT, but all hell breaks lose on the weekends when I'm not in work attire. I get addressed as "son" and most of the time told to step out of the car, show my engineer's certificate, etc.

What's the story here? I think it's amplified because I'm asian, and drive an import.

Yeah you dodgy asian with your.. umm .. dodgy dodginess. Bad asian in import must be locked up!

Yeah i like to wear a suit out at nights too... it fits in with almost whatever your doing, impresses a lot of people, and instantly changes people perception when you step in or out of the car...

Like if i was just wearing my normall baggy jeans and a shirt, it looks like I'm out on the road for no other reason then to get sideways or smoke some rubber... but who the f**k does that in a suit? NO ONE! ;) All suit wearing folk are good citizens and always abide by the laws :)

I'm not sure a suit at 3am will help... although wearing one seems to be a licence to rip millions from people via listed companies.

keep burnouts for your driveways... they are private property :D

I think this comes under road related area and thus is still illegal. Also, you still have the noise pollution aspect to consider.

Yeah you dodgy asian with your.. umm .. dodgy dodginess. Bad asian in import must be locked up!

LOL I'm sososo bad, I use to work for government, passed liked a million screenings, I pay all my taxes, and I'm not on centrelink. To add, currently working at one of the few largest risk and advisory firms, yeah I'm so dodgey and passed all of the screenings. :)

Hmmm. I have to agree that i suffer "import paranoia" as well. Turbocharged cars do get attention (i call it sextention) and the hoon stereotype has never been more alive and kicking. I've never had any police issues (yet) because i'm NOT a hoon but i'm definite that a suspicious coppah doing an RBT won't know that a bloke like me isn't a knob driver. I'm waiting for the "step out of your vehicle, sir" speech. Just waiting...

It's unfair that most of us will become targets of, or at the least, suspicion from copparse because we drive performance cars.

I think these whitewash laws need only take effect for drivers with a record of dangerous driving. Leave the rest of us to drive around in our suits.