Is The Mining Boom Making You Fly To Remote Places?

LNG plant Karratha. Very good spot to live, easily the pick of most other remote spots to work. Mint diving and fishing here, decent crumpet, semi decent pubs….and (believe it or not) a few pretty hot cars too. I do 4 on 1 off. Rent is horrendous though, meaning single mans camp or caravan the only viable option for most, unless you’re loaded and can afford 1K per week to rent.

and the wildlife? do they have a resident kangaroo still??

whim creek

its nearly the middle of no where, its 100ish km north of karratha, and 100ish south of headland, and 70km north of roe burn..

it gets boring being there for two weeks non stop as theres SFA to do, theres a pub, and a gym, thats all

LNG plant Karratha. Very good spot to live, easily the pick of most other remote spots to work. Mint diving and fishing here, decent crumpet, semi decent pubs….and (believe it or not) a few pretty hot cars too. I do 4 on 1 off. Rent is horrendous though, meaning single mans camp or caravan the only viable option for most, unless you're loaded and can afford 1K per week to rent.

If you see a silver mark 4 supra driving around wave or shout or do something to get my attention lol that will be me >_< only supra here, oh and saw a maroon 32 GTR here today. . . anyone from here?

Yeah there are alot of hot cars here but they dont come out that much . . there is a twin turbo commodore ute going around with 800 rwhp (so ive heard) and a vl commy with a RB26 conversion

yeah it's got the rego [DEATHWSH], Black VZ SS...an animal.

I work for a mining communications and electronics company, we have a fairly vast range of technology used in different mine types, but it means that we're always being sent to different places in the middle of no-where. So far done most of my work on the east side of aus, and some work up around mt isa and surrounding areas, however I'm about to be sent to live in Kal for a while where i'll be doing alot of fly in/out work...

good to see a few people are also out playing in the big sandpit!! might run into a few of you!

yeah it's got the rego [DEATHWSH], Black VZ SS...an animal.

Yeah thats the one. . oh and there is a 180 here with over 60 grand spent on it. . its been in a few mags . .

and the wildlife? do they have a resident kangaroo still??

Yup, bundy the roo

he was rescued im guessing, but people kept giving him apples so hes hung around, hes a violent little bastard, if you don't give him anything, he wants to punch on, ive started teasing him out of fun tho

theres also a bungarra that seems to be living under the mess, saw him yesterday digging in the garden

plus the cows that come into the camp to chew on the grass at night from the farm surrounding the site

theres a bit of wildlife around

you worked there im guessing, or passed through?

i'm in Mongolia at the moment, pretty remote, well from my GTR anyway.

No red dirt but plenty of white snow. - 25 during the day, -35 at night. Awesome turbo weather, reckon i could run double the boost here just on improved inlet temps. That would make for sik heli on the iced up roads. lol.

Best part is most of the drilling is shut down for the winter so i don't have alot to do.

Parraburdise, west angeles, port headland, panawonnica, tom price. Also barely escaped going to brockman, newman, karatha / dampier. Probably not for much longer though. Electronics tech / Instro tech and also in my last year of mature age lekky apprenticeship makes me wanted by every division.

After working away for so many years, I like having a quiet airconditioned lab to work in and being able to go home each night.

mongolia.. had an offer to go there when I was still doing siesmic oil/gas exploration.

Edited by heller44

Yeah passing through, a couple of times... also my dad did a small stint up there last year...

Yup, bundy the roo

he was rescued im guessing, but people kept giving him apples so hes hung around, hes a violent little bastard, if you don't give him anything, he wants to punch on, ive started teasing him out of fun tho

theres also a bungarra that seems to be living under the mess, saw him yesterday digging in the garden

plus the cows that come into the camp to chew on the grass at night from the farm surrounding the site

theres a bit of wildlife around

you worked there im guessing, or passed through?