Black Widow Posted December 16, 2007 Share Posted December 16, 2007 Hey guys, i'm lookin at buying an R32 GTR, what should i be looking for in these? Are there common problems? Anyone got one for sale? LOL!!! If you guys can help me out that'd be good Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/197892-looking-at-buying-r32-gtr/ Share on other sites More sharing options...
adam-__- Posted December 16, 2007 Share Posted December 16, 2007 There's a pinned thread somewhere about what to look for when buying a skyline mate. You pretty much just check it out like any other turbo car. Compression test, etc. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/197892-looking-at-buying-r32-gtr/#findComment-3536124 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Angus Smart Posted December 16, 2007 Share Posted December 16, 2007 got 45k? want mine? Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/197892-looking-at-buying-r32-gtr/#findComment-3536138 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Black Widow Posted December 17, 2007 Author Share Posted December 17, 2007 got 45k? want mine? mate if i had 45k i'd be lookin at an R34 GTR..not an R32..or maybe a veilside R32 Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/197892-looking-at-buying-r32-gtr/#findComment-3536193 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Angus Smart Posted December 17, 2007 Share Posted December 17, 2007 it was worth a try Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/197892-looking-at-buying-r32-gtr/#findComment-3536337 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Black Widow Posted December 17, 2007 Author Share Posted December 17, 2007 it was worth a try have you got a pic anyway dude? Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/197892-looking-at-buying-r32-gtr/#findComment-3536416 Share on other sites More sharing options...
jamesr94 Posted December 17, 2007 Share Posted December 17, 2007 I've got a 94 white one for sale have a look at my thred Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/197892-looking-at-buying-r32-gtr/#findComment-3536433 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Black Widow Posted December 17, 2007 Author Share Posted December 17, 2007 I've got a 94 white one for sale have a look at my thred yeah i did mate, you need a picture...i'm not looking at anything straight away as i don't have the funds and still have my other car... Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/197892-looking-at-buying-r32-gtr/#findComment-3536464 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Black Widow Posted December 17, 2007 Author Share Posted December 17, 2007 also how much would you expect a stocker r32 GTR to be going for? do you reckon i could pick one up for about 15k? Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/197892-looking-at-buying-r32-gtr/#findComment-3536523 Share on other sites More sharing options...
djr81 Posted December 17, 2007 Share Posted December 17, 2007 also how much would you expect a stocker r32 GTR to be going for? do you reckon i could pick one up for about 15k? No. Or atleast not one that was either moving, licenced or that you would not be deeply ashamed of. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/197892-looking-at-buying-r32-gtr/#findComment-3536541 Share on other sites More sharing options...
jenkies Posted December 17, 2007 Share Posted December 17, 2007 i bought mine 3 months ago. i looked for smoke after 4 grand, kms leaks/ drips under engine/gearbox. paid 21.500 remember when buying a gtr tho there is maintenance maintenance and more maintenance Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/197892-looking-at-buying-r32-gtr/#findComment-3536561 Share on other sites More sharing options...
ZENNON Posted December 17, 2007 Share Posted December 17, 2007 also how much would you expect a stocker r32 GTR to be going for? do you reckon i could pick one up for about 15k? yes but thats definately towards the low side... (like anything they vary according to cond etc) normally around the 20k mark these days i think Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/197892-looking-at-buying-r32-gtr/#findComment-3536562 Share on other sites More sharing options...
ZENNON Posted December 17, 2007 Share Posted December 17, 2007 No. Or atleast not one that was either moving, licenced or that you would not be deeply ashamed of. haha summed up well! Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/197892-looking-at-buying-r32-gtr/#findComment-3536565 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Black Widow Posted December 17, 2007 Author Share Posted December 17, 2007 ok so closer to 20 for a decent one? would there be anything worth looking at between 15-20? or is it 20 and upwards? cos i've seen some that are about 17K which look alright Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/197892-looking-at-buying-r32-gtr/#findComment-3536581 Share on other sites More sharing options...
adam-__- Posted December 17, 2007 Share Posted December 17, 2007 If I were to purchase a 32 GTR, I wouldn't look at anything below $21k - $22k. I'm not saying that there's no GTR under $20k that's good, but there's just a higher chance of them being in need of a rebuild soon, or things need replacing. If you find one for $17k that passes all the major $$ spending test, go right ahead and purchase it! Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/197892-looking-at-buying-r32-gtr/#findComment-3536700 Share on other sites More sharing options...
bloodzkull Posted December 17, 2007 Share Posted December 17, 2007 i bought mine recently for 20k, bargained down from 23k. for a roadworthy it needed 1 new brake disk(replaced all 4) and needs the engine mounts gearbox mounts and tailshaft center bearing are on the way out. but nothing to stress about just yet. all up on the road i spent 21k on it, not including rego etc. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/197892-looking-at-buying-r32-gtr/#findComment-3536835 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Black Widow Posted December 17, 2007 Author Share Posted December 17, 2007 i bought mine recently for 20k, bargained down from 23k.for a roadworthy it needed 1 new brake disk(replaced all 4) and needs the engine mounts gearbox mounts and tailshaft center bearing are on the way out. but nothing to stress about just yet. all up on the road i spent 21k on it, not including rego etc. i guess thats not overly bad is it...i'm thinkin maybe i should save up a bit more money before i consider buying one...i was hoping i could get out of it for under $20k..but it looks like if i spend under 20 on the car..i'll be spending more on repairs... Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/197892-looking-at-buying-r32-gtr/#findComment-3536898 Share on other sites More sharing options...
R31 Gagz Posted December 17, 2007 Share Posted December 17, 2007 (edited) My advice is buy private, all the 32 GTRs that I looked at in importers yards for comparison sake when buying mine where absolute crocks of shit. This was at various importer yards around Melbourne, someone like power play imports though usually import quality or reasonable nick cars (but also on the more pricey side of things as well). http://www.powerplayimports.com/ So checkout the for sale section of this forum and carsales.com.au in the private seller section. Cheers! Gagz PS...The R32 GTR for $27,000 about two fifths of the way down the page is one I was looking at when in the market, looks very neat and probably a pretty good price if you could get them down a grand or two. Good luck in the hunt http://www.powerplayimports.com/includes/c...php?make=Nissan Edited December 17, 2007 by R31 Gagz Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/197892-looking-at-buying-r32-gtr/#findComment-3536918 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mr. Keets Posted December 17, 2007 Share Posted December 17, 2007 Dont skimp on the purchase, buy the best you can. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/197892-looking-at-buying-r32-gtr/#findComment-3536946 Share on other sites More sharing options...
gtrboosting Posted December 19, 2007 Share Posted December 19, 2007 i have a mint r32 gtr which i brought over from japan and got a 2000 dollar service done by mercury motosports in brisbane. Body, mechanics, interior are all perfect. Not 1 dent. had a compression test and leakdown test with exactly the same on all 6 cyl. I wouldn't sell mine for less than 22k. Sure you can get them for 17k but parts are not cheap. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/197892-looking-at-buying-r32-gtr/#findComment-3540804 Share on other sites More sharing options...