ive been wondering ever since i put my car in to get the whole thing reworked, how do others with highly modied cars, big hp applications, or just a massive top mounted turbo staring out of the engine bay go about driving with the risk of being defected.

aint alot o u guys worried about getting defected and being forced to rip half the engine out to put back into stock standard?

i would especially like to hear from Victorians about this matter.

and lets just say for arguments sake not driving like a idiot is 2nd nature

Edited by R34NRG
https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/198040-calling-highly-modified-car-owners/

• Replies 42

aside from driving like a hoon emesta. ive got to be one of the slowest skyline drivers there are. i never ever speed and havnt even done my 1st burnout hahahah (tyres expensive :blink: )

but ive been pulled over none stop everytime i drive the car. my cars fairly legal at this point but after the rebuild i dont think it will be that easy

wat kind of setup u runnning emesta? cuz like i said before, i find it hard for a cop not to pick at things wen he sees a 800hp turbo staring in his face.

Edited by R34NRG

I was lucky Living in a small country town that my Highly modded GTR didnt attract too much attention, it was also not driven in anger on the street, only the strip etc....I was always scared taking it to Melb that I would be pulled over & defected, hence in the end this was one of the reasons I sold it.

That & I wanted to spend more on it .... :blink:

aside from driving like a hoon emesta. ive got to be one of the slowest skyline drivers there are. i never ever speed and havnt even done my 1st burnout hahahah (tyres expensive :blink: )

but ive been pulled over none stop everytime i drive the car. my cars fairly legal at this point but after the rebuild i dont think it will be that easy

wat kind of setup u runnning emesta? cuz like i said before, i find it hard for a cop not to pick at things wen he sees a 800hp turbo staring in his face.

lol - i wasnt implying that you are a hoon...but im just saying like sane drivers rarely get pulled over. My setup at the moment is very stock (exhaust, pod, stereo etc) - so i guess that would probably help me more hehe

you have just been lucky emsta. i have been pulled over 3 times in the 7 yrs ive had my car and in all instances it was just day to day driving. coincidentaly it has only started happening in the last 3 yrs with a the "hoon" this and "hoon" that and the fact that my car doesnt look stocker anymore with rims exhaust and suspension.

i got defected for the first time a couple of weeks ago for uneven tyre wear and low exhaust pipe which was 1cm too low. fair enough the exhaust was low but getting a major defect and a fine because of my wheel alignment settings was abit of a joke. even when i was getting the car cleared by vic roads, one of the inspectors checking another car had a chuckle to the inspector say "this should be a good one, whats the list of goodies that you have to check?" he didnt have much of a reply when she said wheel alignment and ground clearance. it seems to be a given now days with imports, nothing like 7 yrs ago.

unfortunately the only way around this is to modify the car legally, an avenue that ash is taking i think, or make it appear legal. its a catch 22. you just have to make sure the big f-off turbo and all the other mods passes emmisions tests and get a piece of paper that says so. i'm assuming its a timely and costly process that most owners ignore, but it is achievable.

Here's my tips

• Make sure the car look unique, so it couldn't be mistaken for a car which was seen hooning around.
  • Drive like a normal citizen on the road, especially when other cars / people are around.
  • Don't recline the seat too much or wear your cap backwards / sideways to make you look like a young punk.
  • If the police pull up next to you, avoid eye contact.
  • Hang out with other car enthusiasts at your own risk.

I think that pretty much sums it up.

My tips

• Drive a car that looks like everyone elses...GMG 32R-saved my ass last time I was home..long story and not for publication
  • Theres a time and place for everything and that place is not maccas and that time is when nobody is looking
  • hat and seat as above
  • doof...at your own risk.
  • Dont be a young person
  • Dont drive an import

Stealth twin lowmounts FTW

ive only ever been pulled over once. warning cause the cop thinks i was booting it. but actually i was just spooling.

he was taking a good look at my car and had a half assed smile on his face. good bloke none the less....but pullin me over for nothing was abit dumb.

my tips for not getting defected/ pulled over

- drive sensible. (occasional spool up is ok as long as your not speeding)

-keep your mods as stealthy. (hiflow turbo and std airbox ) cant go wrong.

- keep your car in prestine condition.

- no stockies on the back. lol

- and dont lower it like commo owners. keep it legal and nice.

at the end of the day mate your going to get into cop troubles if u have a huge setup as your street car.

Edited by R33GOD
ive only ever been pulled over once. warning cause the cop thinks i was booting it. but actually i was just spooling.

he was taking a good look at my car and had a half assed smile on his face. good bloke none the less....but pullin me over for nothing was abit dumb.

my tips for not getting defected/ pulled over

- drive sensible. (occasional spool up is ok as long as your not speeding)

-keep your mods as stealthy. (hiflow turbo and std airbox ) cant go wrong.

- keep your car in prestine condition.

- no stockies on the back. lol

- and dont lower it like commo owners. keep it legal and nice.

at the end of the day mate your going to get into cop troubles if u have a huge setup as your street car.

what the hell is 'spooling' is this VL talk?

my car only 'spools' the turbo when I am accelerating... and it accelerates when i boot it. weird.

'Hey Champ

Look a few things that help is no.1 make sure your not on your p's . Secondly modify your car cleanly, ie I drive a 10sec gtr now its loud and yes I may get pulled over but I do what I can not to. Ie I drive sensible, never go to chapel street, knox, princess or anywhere that will attract attention that I dont need, try not to drive it at night or late, ummm try not to drive it much lol. Yeah its a hard one the only thing a cop can see from the outside for me is my te37s and the lowered stance from the coilovers plus the aftermarket fmic. But nothing else so overall it looks fairly stock, so thats your best bet. The rest you can only hope and pray.

CHeers

Ray

My tips
  • Drive a car that looks like everyone elses...GMG 32R-saved my ass last time I was home..long story and not for publication
  • Theres a time and place for everything and that place is not maccas and that time is when nobody is looking
  • hat and seat as above
  • doof...at your own risk.
  • Dont be a young person
  • Dont drive an import

Stealth twin lowmounts FTW

my turbo's are that small you dont even know it has any! ;)

I ran a stop sign yesterday and there was a traffic cop I couldnt see, yeah retarded I know but its not like everyone always comes to a complete stop at a stop sign. nehoo They chased me down and pulled me up (presumably because im driving a dodgy r31 which is stupidly low with dished wheels and stickers ect) they asked to look under the bonnet, I told him I just had a stock motor, he questioned why I had a sock on my PS reserviour, didnt care about the unbracketed pod. they they asked me to do a lights, wiper and horn check (all of which work) then they checked my tyres and noted the profile (way too small) but they said because they were the same across the axle they didnt care. told me off for having a sticker in the path of the wipers and having some guard damage. keep in mind this r31 is too low, has a locker, all kinds of illegial suspension parts, bumper held on with 2 cable ties ect.

so basically, when it comes to the car itself:

always have the basics working. lights, horn, wiper and washer

have roadworthy tyres on

dont drive round with steelies or obvious skidders, even if theyre roadworthy

keep your car stock or subtle looking

But when you drive a car with illegal mods i think you have to plan for the worst....

plan for the day you are defected... HAve all the stock parts on hand. Know of a mate with a car you can borrow to drive.. but at the end of the day if you have huge worries about being defected dont illegally modify your car... And if you have to (like me lol) just be prepred to be defected. you know the rules (how ever stupid some are)

With your kitted, sub pumping, custom plate wearing black R34 on P plates you will cop it HARD.

I had all of the above in my S15 with P plates, and got defect after defect, its not fun at all.

The things i found to make a differnce are in this order:

1. P plates, these are like red rags to a bull, I have had police admit that they pull over modified p platers above all else.

2. Noise, the less you make the better (exhaust, system, ect)

3. When/where you drive, Chapel, Knox FTL!

4. How you drive.

Nick

How do you guys handle spending so much on a turbo car and getting pumped to modify it when if we drive it like we should,the turbo doesnt even wake up?

Ive just decided to make the exterior and interior awesome and only buy mods that relate to ride or efficiency like the big turbo back zorst and fmic i have,coilovers etc,run a little more boost,cos theres no way im spending 10k on power mods when ive already lost half my points in 6 months.

Though i did get off with only $100 fine for handbrakey through an intersection ;)

(p plates had also fallen down)

Edited by mattxwa

Just fully work the car... Ive noted a fully worked car with interior, rims, paint work and the works does not get the defect attention it gets the oh nice attention from the police..

Dont act like a retard and keep it legal and you'll be right

How do you guys handle spending so much on a turbo car and getting pumped to modify it when if we drive it like we should,the turbo doesnt even wake up?

Ive just decided to make the exterior and interior awesome and only buy mods that relate to ride or efficiency like the big turbo back zorst and fmic i have,coilovers etc,run a little more boost,cos theres no way im spending 10k on power mods when ive already lost half my points in 6 months.

Though i did get off with only $100 fine for handbrakey through an intersection ;)

(p plates had also fallen down)

Easy.

Self Control.

My car is totally super highly modified... (not really)

I drive it slow cause I know there is still work to do on it before I can drive it like a mad man with confidence, and even then, it will be at DECA! ;)

But yeah, I have too much money in the car to fark it up now... and I think that shows...

Never had problems with police, but it does look a whole shit load different now... spose I will see how the new year treats me...