Hi.

Got my s13 - rb25det dyno'ed yesterday. 401.9HK / 528 Nm @ wheels

have only begun to play with the ignition, AFR are still a little rich.

Turbo is a GT3076r. 0.82 exh trim. @ ~1.25 bar boost.

what could the dip in power up top be??

Its a std rb25det bottom end, head is ported and overhauled otherwise std.

Using oct 95 fuel

post-24535-1198921745_thumb.jpg

Edited by nissan200sx.dk
https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/199482-my-first-dynorun/

• Replies 41

what could the dip in power up top be??

Rough guess, I'd say the ignition curve could be cranked up (advanced) in that area - dependent on knock.

It looks like your results are similar to The Mafia and Lithium who also run GT3076 on RB25, though I'd like to compare the shape of the curves. Given your AFR might be a little rich, you might find a good bit of extra power there for the taking with extra time tuning. What sort of ECU did you choose?

Did you go with internal gate, or external? I take it that the top graph is boost, in bar (absolute)? The line from 4000rpm is a bit up/down. Maybe your boost controller needs a little adjustment to smooth that out too?

WHY WERE U USING 95RON FUEL!?!?!?!?

There was no indicator of the standard of measurement. Could be RON, MON, or (RON+MON)/2.

Indicators are that he is still working on the tune, and the fuel may not be the limiting factor that you think. It may be that the only requirement to making more grunt is give it more timing.

Let's see what he comes back with.

Hi all.

Thanks for replys.

I am using a apexi FC hooked up with my fc box that is hooked up with a LM1 that is hooked up to my labtop. hehe.

oct 98 is only availible a few places here, want to adjust it to using 95. I will be using methanol injection later on, so the 3 in difference wont do that much.

its with external wastegate. a no name... Could a electronic boost controller help with a little earlier boost?? it comes on a little slow.

Up top my ignition are ~20 mark. Am still learning, so aint so fast to get it sorted all in once.

AF values are around low 10.

Hk is almost the same as BHP. 1kw = 1.34HK

Have an idea to hook up the methanol injector. If I use the signal to one of the injectors, hooked it up to a solid state relay, they are REALLY fast, and can handle 10A, the one im looking at. That relay would then drive the methanol injecter. I am looking at this to get a liniar injection on the methanol.... it will follow the duty cycle of the regular injectors.

Any thought on this?

hey mate, I'm still grabbing that ignition map for you too.

Also, you say your AFR's are 10:1 - that is WAY TOO LOW.

Move them to 11.7:1 or even 12:1.

10:1 and my car wouldn'r run properly. It backfired and hesitated on acceleration. Its absolutely way too rich.

Hi mafia

thanks heaps! :D

I do use the std coils, and have had problem with the spark... could the dip be caused by bad coils?

Also the mixture is still way rich as you say, will get that sorted. I do get some backfire sometimes up top..

It seems unlikely to be coils, as it is occurring after peak torque, however if the ignition timing is slightly retarded, it increases the load on the coils, as the combustion pressure at plug firing is higher. You will usually find that once the engine has gone past peak torque you can start to add some timing back in as the volumetric efficiency is dropping off. If you can put up a graph of the ignition timing with a plot of the cells it goes through on a power run it would be great.

Edited by Adriano
maybe they don't have 98ron where he is?

LMFAO.

do u live in nambour?

drive the extra 5min to a servo that has the fuel.

your an idiot.

- high performance engine + mods= i will have a side dish of detonation with my f**ked tune please

-wtf-

make sure you under stand what you are reading as well with regards to octane it varies in different countries, in australia we use the RON only on the pump to advertise the fuel.

but in alot of european, canadian and the united states, they advertise the AKI or PON number which is RON+MON/2, so if someone in the us has 91 octane fuel as they will say, its equivalent to over 96 RON here is aust.

LMFAO.

do u live in nambour?

drive the extra 5min to a servo that has the fuel.

your an idiot.

- high performance engine + mods= i will have a side dish of detonation with my f**ked tune please

-wtf-

hey, retard, before shooting your mouth off, why don't you look into where the thread starter is actually located? DENMARK.

How about you f*ck off out of this thread, and don't come back?

Edited by The Mafia

Do a skid... :D

And if he's tuning it, on that fuel, it won't detonate...

That's the whole point of doing it.

But, without a retune, there's zero advantage of putting in 98 fuel either...

Hence why it's a placebo when you throw 98 in your excel.

Have an idea to hook up the methanol injector. If I use the signal to one of the injectors, hooked it up to a solid state relay, they are REALLY fast, and can handle 10A, the one im looking at. That relay would then drive the methanol injecter. I am looking at this to get a liniar injection on the methanol.... it will follow the duty cycle of the regular injectors.

Any thought on this?

Adriano:

Will get the AF spot on before i'll add the methanol. But 12.8:1??? Its not 100% methanol.. Only about 5 - 10 % that will be methanol, so can I still use such "lean" AF when I add the methanol?

R33cruiser:

Ehm... Its 30min drive for me to get 98... I only know of 4 places I can get it. A few years back there were alot of places. Dunno why, buts its being removed from market here. We have bio 95... There is a little ethanol in it. I think. And my tune has to be on 95! As its easy to get, and will have the methanol to help with det. Right now I'm still learning to adjust and understand my engine. Have made ALL mods on my car myself, and this is my first car, and have never before messed aruond with cars before this. I know 98 is better, but Im using my car everyday.. So when I tune and deside which fuel I use, that has to be in my consideration. I'll use it everyday.

RB30-power.

Have NO idea which rating the oct 95 is...

Mafia.