My fellow Skyline freaks,

Over the past couple of weeks I had noticed under full load when shifting up into 3rd I get an awful CRUNCH. It has now developed into a crunch into 4th now as well. Seeing the car is only 90-000km's old I thought it can't be to bad. So I decided to change the oil, upon draining the box I noticed the magnetic plug had gathered it self a heap of metal filings and even 4 little what looked like bearing runners or cases (WTF). I got an air gun in there to clean out any excess filings and changed the oil to full synthetic and put in the Nulon Gearbox treatment. Went for a drive and f*ck me it's still f*cked.

So to sum up I guess with all the mods I have being shipped from Nengun she's gonna blow soon, lol. My question to you all is should I just rebuild the box and know that I have a brand new one or buy a second handy?????

Any advice is welcomed even if you know of some shops that do it in Melbourne SE. cheers guys.

My fellow Skyline freaks,

Over the past couple of weeks I had noticed under full load when shifting up into 3rd I get an awful CRUNCH. It has now developed into a crunch into 4th now as well. Seeing the car is only 90-000km's old I thought it can't be to bad. So I decided to change the oil, upon draining the box I noticed the magnetic plug had gathered it self a heap of metal filings and even 4 little what looked like bearing runners or cases (WTF). I got an air gun in there to clean out any excess filings and changed the oil to full synthetic and put in the Nulon Gearbox treatment. Went for a drive and f*ck me it's still f*cked.

So to sum up I guess with all the mods I have being shipped from Nengun she's gonna blow soon, lol. My question to you all is should I just rebuild the box and know that I have a brand new one or buy a second handy?????

Any advice is welcomed even if you know of some shops that do it in Melbourne SE. cheers guys.

Going off your other post, the detense keys that were stuck to the magnetic gearbox sump plug are a common thing. I've had it happen twice to me. You won't blow the box from that, but as long as it continues to crunch you aren't doing it any favours. It's up to you about buying a second hand one or rebuilding it. Either way it will cost similar money. If you have a mechanic you can trust then get it rebuilt, if not, settle for a low km second handy :D

Going off your other post, the detense keys that were stuck to the magnetic gearbox sump plug are a common thing. I've had it happen twice to me. You won't blow the box from that, but as long as it continues to crunch you aren't doing it any favours. It's up to you about buying a second hand one or rebuilding it. Either way it will cost similar money. If you have a mechanic you can trust then get it rebuilt, if not, settle for a low km second handy :(

Detense Keys! Man I love this site. There's always someone who knows. lol. What are Detense keys any way. Any ideas on the crunching. I've been told syncro's whats the deal with gettting those done. Obviously the box needs to be pulled apart. I reckon i'd be better off just rebuilding the f*cker.

Thanks heaps for you help mate.

If you afford it get it rebuilt by someone you trust, you never know with second hand shit.

True Dat man.

Man your pic does my head in. lol. If I stare to long I swear she is talking to me in code with her you knows. lol.

Cheers mate

Detense Keys! Man I love this site. There's always someone who knows. lol. What are Detense keys any way. Any ideas on the crunching. I've been told syncro's whats the deal with gettting those done. Obviously the box needs to be pulled apart. I reckon i'd be better off just rebuilding the f*cker.

Thanks heaps for you help mate.

Detense keys or syncro hubs. They are from 4th gear from memory. When they fall out 4th starts crunching and eventually it spreads to third. Yeah, it's time to pull it to bits.

If buy a second hand one and pull the plug off and it doesn't have them stuck to it, it's usually a sign that you're onto a good thing.

How much will it cost to rebuild the gearbox? Any price ranges?

falcs81, i am also thinking of pulling my gearbox apart to re-condition my gearbox. Nothing wrong with it but i'm thinking of changing certain things in it for a peace of mind if i decide not to sell my car. :blink:

Let me know if you find any decent place for the gearbox :blink:

falcs81, i am also thinking of pulling my gearbox apart to re-condition my gearbox. Nothing wrong with it but i'm thinking of changing certain things in it for a peace of mind if i decide not to sell my car. :blink:

Let me know if you find any decent place for the gearbox :blink:

Call George or Sam at Advance Motor Mechanics in Enfield. Their number is (02) 9742 5468

George is an absolute gun at rebuilding these boxes, and they won't keep you waiting for weeks.

If you were to supply them with your box, you'd be looking at around $1100. That includes new roller bearings etc. but not include syncro's + whatever else is busted inside.

They have freshened up 2 for me before (I broke a selector and the other the same thing happened with the syncro hubs) and in November they fitted my dog gear set too.

I watched them rebuild the last one and didn't realise how much bloody work is involved!!

Here's a pic of the clips that fell out of mine post-25386-1200523406_thumb.jpg[

Call George or Sam at Advance Motor Mechanics in Enfield. Their number is (02) 9742 5468

George is an absolute gun at rebuilding these boxes, and they won't keep you waiting for weeks.

If you were to supply them with your box, you'd be looking at around $1100. That includes new roller bearings etc. but not include syncro's + whatever else is busted inside.

They have freshened up 2 for me before (I broke a selector and the other the same thing happened with the syncro hubs) and in November they fitted my dog gear set too.

I watched them rebuild the last one and didn't realise how much bloody work is involved!!

Here's a pic of the clips that fell out of mine post-25386-1200523406_thumb.jpg[

I just realised that you guys are in Melbourne....oops.

falcs81, i am also thinking of pulling my gearbox apart to re-condition my gearbox. Nothing wrong with it but i'm thinking of changing certain things in it for a peace of mind if i decide not to sell my car. :)

Let me know if you find any decent place for the gearbox :D

Dude you seem like to nice of a guy. lol. By the looks of your pic you own an R34 GTR. If there is nothing wrong with the box I'd say leave it. Those boxes are designed to take a beating. Plus if your seeling it it's not really your probs. Then again it's a pretty nice thing to do to. A good way to check your box is to drain the oil. If there are no metal filing or detense keys stuck to the plug your in the clear. Plus the colour of the oil in the box should say a lot. This is also a good time to put some gear box treatment and fully synthetic oil in.

Good luck man. Let me know what the out come is from the drainage.

Detense keys or syncro hubs. They are from 4th gear from memory. When they fall out 4th starts crunching and eventually it spreads to third. Yeah, it's time to pull it to bits.

If buy a second hand one and pull the plug off and it doesn't have them stuck to it, it's usually a sign that you're onto a good thing.

Dude you just described my gear box to a T. So if you can remember how long till 3rd started crunching heaps to???? Just need to start figuring out when I should really get her looked at. I just blew a sh!t load on a custom stereo install.

Damn cars.

Dude you just described my gear box to a T. So if you can remember how long till 3rd started crunching heaps to???? Just need to start figuring out when I should really get her looked at. I just blew a sh!t load on a custom stereo install.

Damn cars.

Takes one to know one :D As soon as it started with third I had it rebuilt straight away. It all depends on how you drive and how often you drive. It's not as if you'll be left on the side of the road with it but i'd get it fixed as soon as you can as it won't go away.

Takes one to know one :( As soon as it started with third I had it rebuilt straight away. It all depends on how you drive and how often you drive. It's not as if you'll be left on the side of the road with it but i'd get it fixed as soon as you can as it won't go away.

I hear you man.

I only get crunch in third under full boost with a quick shift. If i give it a second it slides in fine. As for fourth yeah if I dont slide it in nicely even on a slight acceleration in crunches. Decelleration is not an issue at all.

I only drive her on the weekend but when I do. lol. Barely in a straight line. I din't by this thing for looks. lol.

Cheers heaps for the advice dude. Much appreciated. Now off to find prices.

You know if an R32 GTR box will fit?

ive had a few quotes in Melbourne..

best quote i got was for 1,2 and 4th gear synchros, bearings and seals for $1500..

Mine has trouble going into 1st.. (when rolling) 2nd if i shift fast same for 3rd and 4th..

Ive learnt to live with it.. ill have it fixed eventually

This should only ever a question on an RB20 box :)

Just rebuild it. Live with it for as long as you can, save your money until it really is too bad to live with.

It looks like I got no other choice my man. lol. I spent waaaaaaaaaay to much on my stereo and Nengun parts.

Hopefully it lasts another 6 months and I'll get it rebuilt.