• Replies 213

every morning when i wake up and leave the house i have a choice too make, either the BNR34 or E46 330CI CAB and i chose the GTR everytime. The BM is fully loaded with every option you can get and sports package but the GTR is just that much more fun to drive. I enjoy my driving, changing gears and everything that comes with driving a manual. Jap car's or Euro cars are what they are designed to be let it be luxury or performance or both.

im beginig to agree thats y i have already decide as soon as im off my ps im buying a 2000 model maserati 3200 gt m338 still got thetubo power plus the added advantage of a v8 and its dam sexc plus u got to a bar the guy beside u puts down a set of nissan keys u put down a maserati keys witch one is the girl going to take.....Dam strait the maserati winns evertime

Ahh the young, gotta love them.

Honestly, I got more looks in my R33 non turbo than he does in his Maserati. People don't recognize it.

Lol they probably think it's a volvo.

r35 gtr or lexus ISF

How about... no contest? IS-F is a piece of crap. ISF was made to compete with M3, which it fails miserably at. M3 in turn gets owned by R35 GTR, which Nissan aimed at bigger fish eg., 911 Turbo anyway. Toyota/Lexus should have just continued production of the supra.

every morning when i wake up and leave the house i have a choice too make, either the BNR34 or E46 330CI CAB

Ahh, the hard decisions in life... feel sorry for ya mate, really sympathise with your plight :)

Lol they probably think it's a volvo.

How about... no contest? IS-F is a piece of crap. ISF was made to compete with M3, which it fails miserably at. M3 in turn gets owned by R35 GTR, which Nissan aimed at bigger fish eg., 911 Turbo anyway. Toyota/Lexus should have just continued production of the supra.

Ahh, the hard decisions in life... feel sorry for ya mate, really sympathise with your plight :rolleyes:

I just 'happened' to come across this thread....and I'm really quite confused about what we're all actually talkin about.

I PROUDLY love the Nissan Skyline series..all of them..from the 60's to the new gen.......but I'm at a point in my life where I want handling, styling and a little class for around 35k....but without the 'hoon' badge.

So I bought this....and I think it's perfect..for me anyway, and really, what else matters?

I drove similarly priced Euros and Australian cars, and couldn't find anything else that made me smile as much.

post-9261-1234554034_thumb.jpg

^^^ ahahahaha thats so sneaky.

it is just personal preference between euros and jap cars but seriously its also what your situation and conditions are at the time of buying a car that will determine the car you will be driving.

but in saying that... i love japanese cars because they are the bang for your type of car. the new gtr is boxster money and you can only get the performance of a gtr in a porsche if you fork out a extra $200,000.

cars will depreciate and are not the best investments so why buy something so ridiculously expensive unless you can.

if i had the money to buy a porsche gt3 i'd buy a gtr and a investment property...but thats just me :rolleyes:.

I've owned and driven a few BMWs and Jap cars.

E36 M3 - little rocket but the SMG box is a gimmick

E46 330Ci - Great overall package - Nice 6 cylinder note and luxury

Z4 3.0 - Zippy car, good for pulling looks / girls (if you into car broad minded persons) and its great with the top down. Performance wise its fun to drive but still slow.

530 E39 - One of the best BMWs Ive driven. Performance with luxury. A new M5 would just make my day!

Jag TypeS - 6spd auto, boaty, no performance but a very very smooth ride. Jag make the best leather interiors out of Europe model cars!

180sx/S13 - absolute pov pack import. Good bang for buck - but certainly not that good to drive on the street if you deck it out with hard suspension

R32 - Big setup up from the S13 range in terms of driver comfort and has a more refined feel

R33 - Another step up on the R32 for comfort and drivability, but feels like a barge around corners

R34 - Nimble as the R32 - but more refined than the R33

JZZ30 Soarer - Best compromise between Speed and Luxury. They are a bit boaty even in coil over form, but they hold the road really well and are just built so much better in every way than skylines are. I've cut skylines and soarers in half and the soarers just take so much longer because of their double boxed chassis rails and thicker pillers. The sound deadening combined with carpet is nearly 25mm thick. Soarer build quality in my opinion is greater than that of skylines, and rightfully so considering that they were worth as much as an R32 GTR when new.

Disclaimer: I own 2x S13s, 1x R32 Skyline and 2x Soarers at the moment so im talking from experience. I would rather have a worked Soarer/Supra as a street car with heaps of go, than a rattly S13 that makes you get back cramps from driving it. On the track, Ide rather have a sklyine due to their unqiue suspension and 6 cylinder power.

Each car as their purpose. Prestige is good for driving under the radar and being stuck in traffic. Imports are great to go fast, but really need to be streetable to be driven every day. I've driven track cars as dailys and it's not really worth it in the end. You cant drive the car to its potential and you're always scouting out for cops etc to avoid fines/defects. Buying a car to turn heads is a wank. Buy a car to enjoy / drive etc. The novelty of "looking cool" wears off as soon as you notice that no one really gives a shit!

I have not driven an R35 yet - but I would suggest that this car has been built witih performance and prestige in mind - especially given they are asking M3 / Boxster S money for the car.

I've owned and driven a few BMWs and Jap cars.

E36 M3 - little rocket but the SMG box is a gimmick

E46 330Ci - Great overall package - Nice 6 cylinder note and luxury

Z4 3.0 - Zippy car, good for pulling looks / girls (if you into car broad minded persons) and its great with the top down. Performance wise its fun to drive but still slow.

530 E39 - One of the best BMWs Ive driven. Performance with luxury. A new M5 would just make my day!

Jag TypeS - 6spd auto, boaty, no performance but a very very smooth ride. Jag make the best leather interiors out of Europe model cars!

180sx/S13 - absolute pov pack import. Good bang for buck - but certainly not that good to drive on the street if you deck it out with hard suspension

R32 - Big setup up from the S13 range in terms of driver comfort and has a more refined feel

R33 - Another step up on the R32 for comfort and drivability, but feels like a barge around corners

R34 - Nimble as the R32 - but more refined than the R33

JZZ30 Soarer - Best compromise between Speed and Luxury. They are a bit boaty even in coil over form, but they hold the road really well and are just built so much better in every way than skylines are. I've cut skylines and soarers in half and the soarers just take so much longer because of their double boxed chassis rails and thicker pillers. The sound deadening combined with carpet is nearly 25mm thick. Soarer build quality in my opinion is greater than that of skylines, and rightfully so considering that they were worth as much as an R32 GTR when new.

Disclaimer: I own 2x S13s, 1x R32 Skyline and 2x Soarers at the moment so im talking from experience. I would rather have a worked Soarer/Supra as a street car with heaps of go, than a rattly S13 that makes you get back cramps from driving it. On the track, Ide rather have a sklyine due to their unqiue suspension and 6 cylinder power.

Each car as their purpose. Prestige is good for driving under the radar and being stuck in traffic. Imports are great to go fast, but really need to be streetable to be driven every day. I've driven track cars as dailys and it's not really worth it in the end. You cant drive the car to its potential and you're always scouting out for cops etc to avoid fines/defects. Buying a car to turn heads is a wank. Buy a car to enjoy / drive etc. The novelty of "looking cool" wears off as soon as you notice that no one really gives a shit!

I have not driven an R35 yet - but I would suggest that this car has been built witih performance and prestige in mind - especially given they are asking M3 / Boxster S money for the car.

Nice, experienced review you got going there DM!

I'm sure that at least half the forum readers will understand/agree with you.....the other half won't and couldn't give a flying f**k....they'd be the ones lookin for more f**king stickers for their ride, and draggin' on public roads!..LOL! :domokun:

Cheers man,

SS.

I work on and drive european and jap cars day in day out. even if i had money coming out of my ass id still prefer a jap car over a european one anyday!

coz the amount of people that buy bmws n mercs to look like theyre top shit and have a sook when it comes to payin to get it fixed when it screws up is somethin hecktik!

Main problem I see between euros and japs are not the labels that go with them or their initial price tags, it's cost of running! You think a GTR is expensive to upkeep and run.... Try an Audi, BMW or Merc. They are all going to run you into the 000's when servicing comes around. Mercedes for one say they don't machine discs anymore because it's unsafe and their discs are not made to be machined, instead they replace them all! What a fricken joke! it runs you over $800 on a c180 to get them done so I can only imagine the higher models!

BMW run like sh1t if you don't service regularly, and Audi are only driven by Cocks (hehehe).

Parts are rediculously priced too, and tyres, forget it if you have to replace a run flat in a Euro size $$$$

I'll take my Jap cars any day of the week, at least you can fix em yourself and don't have to worry bout 1 of 79867 computers in the car stuffing up!!

Main problem I see between euros and japs are not the labels that go with them or their initial price tags, it's cost of running! You think a GTR is expensive to upkeep and run.... Try an Audi, BMW or Merc. They are all going to run you into the 000's when servicing comes around. Mercedes for one say they don't machine discs anymore because it's unsafe and their discs are not made to be machined, instead they replace them all! What a fricken joke! it runs you over $800 on a c180 to get them done so I can only imagine the higher models!

BMW run like sh1t if you don't service regularly, and Audi are only driven by Cocks (hehehe).

Parts are rediculously priced too, and tyres, forget it if you have to replace a run flat in a Euro size $$$$

I'll take my Jap cars any day of the week, at least you can fix em yourself and don't have to worry bout 1 of 79867 computers in the car stuffing up!!

haha..I'm lovin my V more and more!!!!

+1

Two mates of mine with last-gen Mercs have spent around $10-15k between them over the last 5 years just to fix all the crap that screws up at the services. eg., 10 burnt out lights/lamps, five stuck power windows, three stuck power sunroofs (one got stuck twice), 1 screwed air-con, 1 stuck electronic driver's seat, 1 screwed fuel meter, 1 car with an eternity of interminable rattling noise, etc, etc

Anyone who buys car for the image is just a pretentious wanker who is trying to make up for a lack of something.

Buy a car because you actually like it....who gives a stuff what ANYONE else thinks......you are the one paying for it and you are the one driving it!!! People will not be impressed by you driving a car that is taking 70% of your weekly wage and making youy live like a bum in every other way!

People have a go at me and the mrs all the time for driving cheap cars. Our combined income is excellent and could easily go out and buy a $100k+ BMW or Merc but instead i ahve a $5000 Nissan patrol, $10k R33 and she drives a 94 lancer!

The patrol is just unbreakable and takes us everywhere on our caming trips and holidays, the 33 is fun and the lancer has cost me practically $0 in the last 5 years i ahve owned it.

Why would i want to drive a car that lets people know how much i earn??? Its great when people look at you and think your a bum because of the car you drive and you find out they have to mortage their house to pay off a "Prestige" car that really does nothing for thier "image"

I dunno i just really hate people who judge others on where they live or what they drive.......9 times out of 10 they are the unhappy ones who need to convince themselves that they are happy and succesful!!

PS: I have nothing against Euro cars.....just very overpriced here in aus and not exactly value for money.

Edited by Bond