I must have missed the other thread.

Anyway....buy yourself an r31 when you get your license. manual, rb30, lots of similar bits to get you started, and at a good price. Once you get off your ps pick up one of the million cheap r34s that will be around by then.

• Replies 50

Its great.. BUT,

Insurance Sux

Theft of them is HIGH

COPS Love you.

They suck petrol

Its hard to stay off the throttle... really just want to tap it

Every Red light is a dragway.

Every other hotted up car (including the camry with apexi, trust and import tuner stickers on it) trys to run you.

You sleep close

Your girl friend is always pissed u make love to your car more than her (and she wont have a 3 sum either)

Chicks dont dig it :D

Parts are so expensive.

You always want another part on it.

It always sells for shit all compared to the time and effort you put into it.

So yeah its wicked.. I wouldnt buy a ferrari i'll tell ya that!!!

How many times do I have to tell you people, R34s are tooo COOOL to depreciate.. trust me.. its true.

Edited by DECIM8
Its great.. BUT,

1: Insurance Sux only if you are young..

2: Theft of them is HIGH That's if you are stupid and don't have insurance and park it out on the street.

3: COPS Love you. Yeah, If you have a P - Please pull me over sign on the car.

4: They suck petrol Only if you flog it..

5: Its hard to stay off the throttle... really just want to tap it I've realised this is a wang issue..

6: Every Red light is a dragway. This is another wang issue, Stupid people do this.

7: Every other hotted up car (including the camry with apexi, trust and import tuner stickers on it) trys to run you. Wang issue (there seems to be alot here)

8: You sleep close For some the garage is pretty close to your house, so I would say yes.

9: Your girl friend is always pissed u make love to your car more than her (and she wont have a 3 sum either) Haha you have the wrong girlfriend then.

10: Chicks dont dig it :)As Again.. Chicks know if you show that you dig it.. Boys get the wang factor out this goes back to issues 5, 6 & 7.

11: Parts are so expensive. only if you are buying from the wrong people.

12: You always want another part on it. I wouldn't count this as a wang factor because I have this too. This comes under the new things are exciting. :D

13: It always sells for shit all compared to the time and effort you put into it. Like some houses.. you can win some or lose some. No one wants to pay for your shit.

So yeah its wicked.. I wouldnt buy a ferrari i'll tell ya that!!!

These are just some comments I thought I would share.

DECIM8 they aren't totally directed at you. They are just as I see it.

lol he reminds me of myself.. I joined SAU when i was 15, almost 4 years ago now!

Although I didn't make posts like this haha..

The only difference was I was looking towards a nice cheap turbo only to have that shattered by P plate laws haha owned..

If your a fanatic and love these cars don't worry about what these guys say just buy one.

No matter what these guys say they

1. Own a skyline

2. Love there skyline

3. Still have there skyline

You won't regret your purchase, I haven't. Although it is starting to cost me a bit.

I'll probably go on a cruise when i get my car back from the workshop and am happy to take you if you want just give us a PM.

hey guys im a 15 yr old guy who is a fanatic about nissan skylines , im japanese and aussie but i still have to wait 2 more years until i can get my p's all i want to do is come on a cruise with you guys...even though my 2nd home in hiroshima is full of mad cars (i go to japan every year) i never get to take a ride in one because my family drives rotarys...and toyota's

anyways could you answer these questions:

1.what is it like to own a skyline

2.should i keep working my but off so that i can afford one...in two years

3.could any of you take me for a cruise in a skyline...

4.should i become a club member

1. To be honest I don't see my car being anything particularly special except that it drives safer than any other car I've been in. It sticks to the road like faecal matter to an infants blanket, and when it does break loose its pretty predictable. It is fast... but lets face it, most Skylines are modified so my car would be one of the slower ones :D

2. Absolutely. I saved up for my Skyline for about 2.5 years on Electrical Apprentice wages, got about $25,000 in the bank and bought a car with that money with enough to spare if things really went to shit.

3. I don't go cruising around Cambletown often, if at all so can't help you much in that department.

4. If you want, but I suggest you wait until you get a car and your Ps. Most club events are cruises and track events, and most club benefits are for cheap(er) car parts. Though, if your really set on becoming a member, it is a enthusiasts club, not a drivers or owners club, so your welcome to :)

Hey Champ have you had a girlfriend yet? If the answer is yes then that is like owning a Skyline.

They always look awesome at first but then you want to make them look better.

You always want to be in her ( THE CAR I WAS REFERING TOO )

Tyres......for car shoes for girl ........

they both cost the earth.

They sound great when you got them reved up!

basically i hope you get the drift!!!!! LOL

Dam this was becoming ® rated sorry if I offended anyone!

here is the nail. here is the hammer.............i tihnk u managed to sum it up quite well. the nail is well imbedded in the wood now

It DOES help if you work in a servo (like i do) then you can tick up fuel till pay-day. The novelty of being able to blitz most Commodore's & Falcon's wears off in about 2-3 months, then you start to wish they'd just piss-off and stop trying to race you every time you pull up to a red light. You'll find yourself settling down on the road coz there's only so many traffic light grand prix's that you can handle, then you're over it. If your smart, you'll start to look into taking it out for some proper lap times at your local raceway instead of looking for new ways to write it off on the street.

The torque is pretty nice to drive with for a 6 cyl, a sunday drive cruising out through the mountains is no hassle for a turbo RB.

You develop a sense of paranoia when you see a cop car, wondering if they're going to pull you over, wondering if they'll hassle you over simple things such as a non enclosed pod filter or pillar mounted gauges. Most times alot of the boys in blue will just want to check the driver out, kinda get a feel for if he's a "hoon" or has no respect for road rules and/or authority. I've been pulled over 5 times in 12 months, but 2 of them were random breath tests that sent me on my way when i read zero. And the other 3 were for random license & ownership checks - i agree with these as it lets me know that if my ride is ever stolen then i know the cops are already pulling skylines over for these kind of checks. Plus when you tell the cops this, they actually are pretty good with you coz they know you understand what they're doing & don't have any dramas with them pulling you over in the 1st place.

Insurance is a big "bend over & think warm thoughts" kinda feeling.. Forking out over a grand a year every year gets a little annoying - alot more if your under 25 and have a colorful history with traffic offences. Try the online insurance quotes from 'Just Cars' and the like to get an idea on what you'll be up for.

Overall i think they're a good car to own, but i personally think there's a little too many (approx) under 25yo's that don't respect what the vehicle can actually do & end up stacking it in some way. The ratio of under 25's Vs over 25's that try to race me or encourage me to do something reckless is pretty ridiculous. Some are good, they just ask what i've had done, throw a compliment, then drive off. But ALOT of them are the former, you learn how to ignore them and keep on your way. Thats one of the big keys to owning a Skyline - learning how to ignore invitations of idiocy, and realising that if you push it too much, it WILL bite back.

Anyhow, welcome to the site dude... Cheers.

Edited by SHY 33

The only thing I can add, is not to be hasty in dismissing the humble R31 as an eligible ride, particularly if you can get your hands on an imported version with the RB20DET. Sure, they have older suspension geometry and it's harder to get the bitch to handle how you want, but to me, thats one of the joys of owning a performance car, the contant fiddling and fine tuning and improvement, so that at the end of the day, you have something you can enjoy, but still have a list of 'non-essentials' (if there is any such thing) to do or buy.

To drive a 31 spiritedly, requires a good knowledge of your car, your surroundings, and especially your own limits. Most 31s don't have the electronic toys and gandgets of the later 'lines, which to me, makes them a far more challenging and enjoyable drive than the likes of, say, an RB20DET powered manual R32 with HiCas, ABS, and IRS (not well hersed in 32 lore, so forgive my generalisation).

But thats just me, you may feel differently... although I do cream when I see a 4-door R34...

Yep owning an R34 sedan rocks. You get the performance of a Skyline with the convenience of a sedan (there's also a little more leg room in the back).

Plus I hardly ever get any hassles from the cops, as they don't stand out as much as the 2 door. In fact I've only been pulled randomly once in 2 years, and that was for a breath test, 30 seconds and I was on my way.

what is it like to own a skyline - see that nice crisp $50 note you have? you use that to fill it up with petrol and it DOESNT EVEN LAST THE WEEKEND!!!!!!!!!

I could live off $50 for a week and my car couldn't get through the god damn weekend.

sigh....i think I'm going to buy a $200 daihatsu or seomthing

1. i dunno how to explain what its like to own a skyline, its a great handling quick fun car but yeh

2. keep saving but dont try and get a r34 or even r33 first just start with something that wont make u cry if u crash it

3. no im in w.a. and dont know why im in this thread

4. if u want but probly better to wait till u have a car

The only thing I can add, is not to be hasty in dismissing the humble R31 as an eligible ride, particularly if you can get your hands on an imported version with the RB20DET. Sure, they have older suspension geometry and it's harder to get the bitch to handle how you want, but to me, thats one of the joys of owning a performance car, the contant fiddling and fine tuning and improvement, so that at the end of the day, you have something you can enjoy, but still have a list of 'non-essentials' (if there is any such thing) to do or buy.

To drive a 31 spiritedly, requires a good knowledge of your car, your surroundings, and especially your own limits. Most 31s don't have the electronic toys and gandgets of the later 'lines, which to me, makes them a far more challenging and enjoyable drive than the likes of, say, an RB20DET powered manual R32 with HiCas, ABS, and IRS (not well hersed in 32 lore, so forgive my generalisation).

But thats just me, you may feel differently... although I do cream when I see a 4-door R34...

ke70, with a 20v :) (sprinters are supposed to be the cheap alternative, yea right :ph34r: )

what is it like to own a skyline - see that nice crisp $50 note you have? you use that to fill it up with petrol and it DOESNT EVEN LAST THE WEEKEND!!!!!!!!!

I could live off $50 for a week and my car couldn't get through the god damn weekend.

sigh....i think I'm going to buy a $200 daihatsu or seomthing

Toyota Starlet. No power steering to slow it down, ridiculously short gearing, very chuckable. $35 to 500km's of driving!

That's nearly more than double the km's to half the cost of petrol of any Skyline.

A skyline is pretty much the only car where another car is the most affordable thing you can buy for it...

+1