I'm looking at getting an NA R34 Skyline 25GT soon and I'm looking around for insurance (quotes off the net).

From what I've read its going to be dear. It'll be insured under my parents name however (I'll be a P-Plater).

Anyone in similar position as me? What sort of quotes have you got or how much are you paying for full comp?

What range should I be looking at as an acceptable range? So far as a p-plater I got a quote for $3000+ :) , and under my dad's details thru another insurance company, about $850 (unsure whether I had put 'youngest driver' thing in tho.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Cheers :P

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/206858-cheapest-insurance/

i went through that a few months ago, with my NA 33, i got quoted by just cars for $3000 for full comp, so i went with 3rd party+fire+thief for $650.

by the way, it doesnt really matter anymore whether u insure it under ur name or ur parents, since ur on ur P's and driving a skyline, they will still charge u the same, so might aswell put it under ur name and get a better rating for when u get off ur P's.

You're looking around the $2k to $3k range regardless if you're a new p plater and not much of a history. Just getting off my P's and with no accident or fines in the last 3 years my insurance for full comp on a R33 gtst was still about $1.5k. Owning a skyline is never cheap =/

hey PeterW, you should try to get it under your name so you can build up the NOB for yourself. I made the mistake and insurance still cost abit for the Prelude. since ur on ur P's- the only people willing to look at us are Just Cars or Famous. JC is pretty good, Famous is a bit cheaper usually but is offshore by most accounts and can take longer on claims from what i hear. Definitely get comprehensive if you can, especially for a Skyline- failing that 3rd Party with Fire and Theft is OK.

I got quoted around 2k with just cars for the skyline i'm looking to import. Remember Skyline owners are in it for the passion, as money flies with this car :D

Shannons will beat everything!!! If u qualify. lol. Owning a car like this plus joining the club if u havent already should mean that you will qualify for their insurance. I have an Mr2, RACV and AAMI quoted me $3200 full comp, shannons quoted me $1200 with an $800 excess. Give en a try

Shannons only requirement is your over 25, you don't need to be in a car club, but if you are 5-10% discount.

for me $1100 per year full comp with $500 excess and free windshield replacement per year (if I break one). :D

I was with Just Cars when I first got my NA R33 GTS Series 1. It was around the $1800/yr mark (I was 19, so on P's) with a $2100 excess. After a year it went down to like $1400/yr, but the excess was the same. Fair slug especially since it's in January (so just after XMas) and my rego is due at the same time!

When my insurance came around this year (last month), a mate suggested I try Shannons. I thought, hey, I'm only 21, they're gonna tell me to piss off... but called up anyway (off my P's for about 2 months though...). Well the process is slightly different to most insurance companies... they asked the usual questions about age, type of car, driving history, suspensions, accidents, blah blah blah, but then moved onto the 'enthusiast' questions... "was this your dream car", "did you specifically seek out this model", "have you done any work on the car yourself", "what interest do you have in motorsport", etc...

Anyway the lady went away and came back with a quote that made me almost fall off my chair! $1200/yr with a $900 excess... but with one caveat: ONLY the nominated drivers (me and the GF) are covered AT ALL! So if a mate wants to take it for a bit of a spin around the block, they aren't covered at all so I'll ahve to say no. Ah well.

That's my experience anyway.

Good luck!

EDIT: As a bonus, they offered me pay-by-the-month for no extra... certainly helps spread the load!

Edited by Samon

I used "Just Car" insurance... Everyone else said NO :thumbsup:

I was quoted $2995 in October... Then i turned 25 on the 1 Nov and it dropped to $1750... How can you justify that? I didn't get any smarter or safer in 2 weeks :happy:

Thats for a Modified 34GTT

Famous and Just Cars are the only 2 companies that will insure a P plater with a skyline, and believe it or not, they charge the exact same price, which is about $3000.

Theiven pricks!!! :D

lol i reckon....so pretty much u only have 3 options...either pay the 3k or go with 3rd party+fire+thieft for about 650 or just dont insure it at all (not recommended). :D

AT least go the 3rd party / fire / theft (And dont crash)... :O

If you can scrape up the cash go the whole deal!!!