I will try to put my doggy design/template online :/ (im so bad bad in designing) , but not sure how to. If ppl can put their design/template here it will benefit others but I know some they dont want to give it just like that, cuz they do the hard work and rest take it for granted.....up to you :rofl:

• Replies 44

nice to see some DIY.

that hole looks like my handy work from the weekend, poor girl hope she got home okay.

p.s. do some before and after temperature readings, that will be the real test! also avoid water puddles

Eug, this is something i was worried about, I finished it today and was driving to work, then the rain, ...........

As soon I finished, went for a drive, since the pipe got a funnel thingy at the end, because of the wind, it has moved to sideways (the front face) so I had to secure it with some steel wires, after that it didnt move. but im scare that when it rains so hard, and if im on freeway, water will go directly to the pod cuz of the air pressur from the front? mmmmmmmmmmmmmmm.........................there should be a way to overcome this, Im at work now but my mind is on the car :rofl:

That is always one of the issues when cold feeding the intake.

A guy I know just blew his turbo by having the pod filter mounted low in the wheel arch area, no rain or water. Just excessive amounts of dust, be warned that you will need to check your filter more regularly than others.

The only way to avoid water is to create an "S" bend rather than the conventional 90 degree "L" bend. That should fix the issue.

Eug, this is something i was worried about, I finished it today and was driving to work, then the rain, ...........

As soon I finished, went for a drive, since the pipe got a funnel thingy at the end, because of the wind, it has moved to sideways (the front face) so I had to secure it with some steel wires, after that it didnt move. but im scare that when it rains so hard, and if im on freeway, water will go directly to the pod cuz of the air pressur from the front? mmmmmmmmmmmmmmm.........................there should be a way to overcome this, Im at work now but my mind is on the car :(

The amount of water you get to your pod is negligible. I have a similar setup to yours and it isnt an issue.

I also have a temerature probe in my engine monitor and did some before and after testing with the cold air intake and box. I saw up to 80degrees prior to the cold air but havnt seen 40 since i fitted it. even at speed there is still a noticable difference in temp inside the box.

Its a well worthwhile excercise. :(

DAMN sky.. i want to do this..

i cant find anything i can use for an inlet...

do u rekn a snorker (stock) and hook it up to the box.. would be beetter?

or like urs?

any ideas anyone?

Hi,

Snorker is a good one too, im trying to get one so I can hook up both. remember more cold air the best....si try and and get more cold in to your pod as much as you can. once I get a snoker i will definitly hook it up too. :)

This is not hard mod to do, very easy, but pls dont make a big mess like I did using the wrong hole saw to drill a hole hey..hehheheeh :(

The amount of water you get to your pod is negligible. I have a similar setup to yours and it isnt an issue.

I also have a temerature probe in my engine monitor and did some before and after testing with the cold air intake and box. I saw up to 80degrees prior to the cold air but havnt seen 40 since i fitted it. even at speed there is still a noticable difference in temp inside the box.

Its a well worthwhile excercise. :(

mmmmmmmmm if I get a standerd air snoker installed as well, then when rain comes if i can get the pipe thing to get bloked and use only standerd snorker, there wont be any problem................I got a find a way to blok/close the pipe remotely, with using a little motor and a lid heheh ............just thinking.....................

Great job mate!!

i will be using your ideas and learning from your mistakes (drill bit issue, lol) when I do mine.

Thanks heaps for posting all this, and with pics.

Good luck with the remote shut off!!!

maybe you could make a cap to put over the top end inside the engine bay?? Not remote but easy enough..

Hey guys i decided to take some pics and post up how i did mine too as there seems to be a lot of interest in this, so you guys can see and get some ideas, everything here is ghetto home made / done :P

What you need:

• Pod filter (i used K & N)
  • Sheet of aluminum, $10-15ish bunnings
  • High temp paint
  • Air intake piping (flexible) $30 autobarn
  • Silicon
  • Drill + drill bit + snips
  • Good File

I did the same method as above with the drill bit.. just lots of little holes about half a CM apart then used snips to cut between them, then after that filed it down with a heavy duty metal file, didnt actually take that long to get it right surprisingly. I then wacked the air intake pipe i bought from autobarn for $30 (because typical plumming stuff at bunnings is too tight and has holes in it and made kinda weak plasticy) chucked some silicon around it on top and bottom side with my fingers get a bit down and dirty with it make a nice seal who cares if it looks a bit dodgey. Then feed the flexible 3" cold air intake piping into your front bar, it fits nice and snug and there are some clippy hole things which i put a cable tie around to hold it in place (see pic) it aint moving anywhere! even at high speeds i had a little test lol.

As for the engine shield i just cut / bend some aluminum so the stock air intake can go on top and sprayed with some black high temp paint.. easy, then i put this rubber stuff around it cos so it doesn't cut into my AFM (see pic). Also be careful with this because when i made it at first it cut into a wire near the intake and shorted out my injector fuse took ages to find the problem!!

Now it works all sweet!! 2 cold air intakes :) works a treat.

And for those wondering yea i noticed a bit of a power increase.

Heres some pics for ya, i hope this post helps hopefully i covered most things if you got any questions i'll answer em happily:

post-34834-1203919367_thumb.jpg post-34834-1203919451_thumb.jpg

post-34834-1203919612_thumb.jpg post-34834-1203919727_thumb.jpg

post-34834-1203919897_thumb.jpg post-34834-1203920022_thumb.jpg

post-34834-1203920239_thumb.jpg post-34834-1203920362_thumb.jpg

Enjoy, Leigh

Edited by 4Door_33GTS
Hey guys i decided to take some pics and post up how i did mine too as there seems to be a lot of interest in this, so you guys can see and get some ideas, everything here is ghetto home made / done :/

What you need:

• Pod filter (i used K & N)
  • Sheet of aluminum, $10-15ish bunnings
  • High temp paint
  • Air intake piping (flexible) $30 autobarn
  • Silicon
  • Drill + drill bit + snips
  • Good File

I did the same method as above with the drill bit.. just lots of little holes about half a CM apart then used snips to cut between them, then after that filed it down with a heavy duty metal file, didnt actually take that long to get it right surprisingly. I then wacked the air intake pipe i bought from autobarn for $30 (because typical plumming stuff at bunnings is too tight and has holes in it and made kinda weak plasticy) chucked some silicon around it on top and bottom side with my fingers get a bit down and dirty with it make a nice seal who cares if it looks a bit dodgey. Then feed the flexible 3" cold air intake piping into your front bar, it fits nice and snug and there are some clippy hole things which i put a cable tie around to hold it in place (see pic) it aint moving anywhere! even at high speeds i had a little test lol.

As for the engine shield i just cut / bend some aluminum so the stock air intake can go on top and sprayed with some black high temp paint.. easy, then i put this rubber stuff around it cos so it doesn't cut into my AFM (see pic). Also be careful with this because when i made it at first it cut into a wire near the intake and shorted out my injector fuse took ages to find the problem!!

Now it works all sweet!! 2 cold air intakes :D works a treat.

And for those wondering yea i noticed a bit of a power increase.

Heres some pics for ya, i hope this post helps hopefully i covered most things if you got any questions i'll answer em happily:

post-34834-1203919367_thumb.jpg post-34834-1203919451_thumb.jpg

post-34834-1203919612_thumb.jpg post-34834-1203919727_thumb.jpg

post-34834-1203919897_thumb.jpg post-34834-1203920022_thumb.jpg

post-34834-1203920239_thumb.jpg post-34834-1203920362_thumb.jpg

Enjoy, Leigh

Nice work pal :P , so you are yet to install standerd snorkel ya? cuz I cant see it in the pics. Im trying to find a standerd snorkel yet, but no luck still heheh, one thing tho, try to put some fly screens end of each end of the air pipe, as you box will be a bug collector after a while, i think.

Cant wait to find a ari snorkel and put it in hehehe.... :D

SkyKc, How did you attach the heat shield to the engine bay?

Cheers! :)

mmmm I havent bolt it in any where at the moment, becasue its going through AFM, it doesnt move anywhere, and cuz its got the lid, when I close the bonnet, it securley tighten it up from the top, but Im thinking of making a hole on the lid, (very left hand side, just on top of the head light) so i can use the bolt which is there already to secure the box.

At the same time you can use some cable ties to secure it.... :)

Nice work pal :ninja: , so you are yet to install standerd snorkel ya? cuz I cant see it in the pics. Im trying to find a standerd snorkel yet, but no luck still heheh, one thing tho, try to put some fly screens end of each end of the air pipe, as you box will be a bug collector after a while, i think.

Cant wait to find a ari snorkel and put it in hehehe.... :merli:

You can see the lip on the heat shield where the snorkel sits, then bonnet closes over the top of it and your all good :) I just took it out for photos so everyone can see it more. As for the fly screens i think I'm going to give it a shot like this for a bit and see if i start sucking up too much bugs n stuff then maybe put some form of guard on it hehe.