• Replies 173

Originally posted by summoner

why no v8 in a gt-r?

Because, since it's inception, the GT-R has always been a 6 cyl. Besides, 2 more cylinders ain't gonna make a blind bit of difference... in fact, it'll just make the whole shebang heavier.

Same reason why you don't see V12's in F1 anymore.

I starting to think now that this new VQ32DETT is quite probably going to be the best all-round engine - in a production car - in the world.

Thanks for the backup Rezz

and as for this:

Originally posted by summoner

RB25 why? what is wrong witha  v8? or are you just another narrow minded person and see's v8 and thinks the worsed.

dont be so quick to judge. i was thinking what Rezz was, no point in 2 more cylinders if the thing can push out the horsepower its capable of, 1000+. And 2 more cylinders = more cost to modify.

By the way mate, I used to own a gen3 commodore and it was the most gutless and unreliable heap of shit ive ever driven. holden couldnt even fix it after 20 visits. holden (chev) v8=shit. now the new ford quad cam v8 is the kind of tech. we should be seeing more of.

Thankyou.

Summoner> If you were the head of a large vehicle manufacturer, and you had the final say on what engine configuration should go in your top-of-the-line sports car, which would you pick between a V6 TT or a V8 TT?

Bear in mind that the "said" V8 TT and V6 TT had almost exactly the same power output?

Still run with the V8 TT?

It all boils down to what your perception of a "Sportscar" is.

My perception of a Sportscar is: under 1500kgs, 2-door, over 250kw (for upto 1500kgs), 6-speed manual, 50/50 weight distribution and a cool bodyshape. Wow, it looks like I just described an modded RX-7... or the new GT-R.

But some people think a ****ing ute is a sportscar... what with the low suspension and the "touring" wings and crap...go figure. But I am NEVER gonna accept that a ute is a sportscar. The same as your never gonna accept that an Exel is a sportscar.

So my point is, you shouldn't care so much if some people don't (and won't) respect V8's, even if you do. Thats life dude... now lets talk about the new GT-R some more!!!:):D:D

summoner - the way i see it, skyline traditionalists would be upset with replacing the famed nissan 6 for an 8 in the same way that holden traditionalists would be upset with replacing the GM 8 for a turbo 6. its all relative on both sides of the fence. personally, i love anything with a combustion chamber and couldnt give a rats arse what form its in; i just want to drive!

There's absolutely not point in putting a V8 in a sportscar the size of the GTR. Assuming you can bundle it with forced induction, which you can. Doing it just for the noise? Pfft.

As has already been said, a V8 will just add extra weight for absolutely no benefit. Well, aside from maybe giving you more low-down torque for if you want to tow something... Need I say more?

ooooo, hurry up tomorrow night! :D

only reason i said i wish there would be a V8TT is bcos i know shit all about engines and just assumed that a V8TT would make considerably more power than a V6TT.

i guess i'd prob be against BMW from putting in anything besides a Straight Six in the M3. I guess it is just the whole design ideals behind each companies. Merc goes the V route, BMW swears by Inline configuration (except when it reaches it's max, E46 M3, and a V8 is needed, M5)

well sounds like the engine and attessa are looking very much the goods, 500+ nm?? yes pls! :D. If ONLY they can get the body shape right!! :O reaaallly haven't like the "concept" pics so far, but i guess it's a little far out to take those pics as gospel anyway.

EDIT: I heard the next M3 will be V8 (there is alread a V8 M3 anyway, M3 GTR). Will be a pity of the straight six does go, but i guess if they gotta keep progressing the legendary name, then gotta go that way. And the new M5 seems pretty set on the V10 route.

Might come down to R+D as well, i'm sure Mazda has spent heaps on Rotary tech, and i'm sure RX-7 enthusiasts (and who isn't one! :D) have always associated rotary to the RX-7, and prob wouldn't want it any other way. Just like we want our GTR's twin turbo baby!!