Victorian Drift Club - Great Ocean Road Wrap Up

With Generation Y being plastered over the news as being pompous smart arse pricks that throw massive parties, listen to house music and take lots illicit drugs that look like smarties. Its nice to see that a small part of generation Y is giving back to the community. Over the 22nd, 32rd and 24th of February the Victorian Drift Club organised a charity cruise to raise money for the Victorian Cancer Council and cancer awareness. The club whose majority of members fall into the generation Y age group endeavours to get hoons off the street and onto the track.

6am Western Ringroad Inbound Mobil, dark and goddamn cold. Myself and a Frankenstein (Drift spec) R32 roll into the car park in front of maccas. No one else is there. Tired and already distain that this may well be a big prank on us we grumble and go get maccas. To our relief as we sit down and begin to eat, a green 300, black onevia, purple s13, grey 32 and grey magna draw into the car park. Shortly after two 180s and an s1580 roll in. As the sun rises we begin detailing the cars with sponsors logos and Vic Drift decals. This is a charity cruise to raise money for the Victorian Cancer Council, sponsored by Mobil and Meguiars. After two months of planning and running around this is starting to look good!

Mall.jpg

M300.jpg

MVIA.jpg

Out we roll in single file nine Nissans and one Magna. Mobile marketing and mass advertising at its best. There’s just something about that feeling you get when you’re driving in a group, that smirk on your face that you don’t quite notice straight away. The sun begins to rise and I position myself at the rear of the convoy to make sure no one gets left behind.

G1.jpg

Just before Geelong the lead car Victorian Drift Club President Callum Bruce suddenly turns into a petrol station, the convoy follows. The EMERGENCY TOILET BREAK provided everyone with a much needed stretch and chance to buy refreshments as well as a good opportunity to take some photos for our Major sponsor Mobil.

toilet1.jpg

toilet2.jpg

We finally see that ominous sign “Welcome to the Great Ocean Road” ie, the best road in the world! View = STUNNING. To anyone who has ever driven the road, especially with a well balanced front engine rear drive car (with a puffer) you know whats next. Nirvana, motoring bliss, awesome twisties combined with stunning ocean views.

GOR.jpg

GOR1.jpg

A wave of the laser by local TMU greets us as we enter Apollo bay and stop for lunch. The 300zx gets a greasy.

We stop briefly to take in the views and sightseeing opportunities as the rain poured down every time we stepped out of the cars.

Some camped, some stayed in a cabin. I like a heater and mattress, especially when Mother Nature is throwing a tantrum.

MEG123.jpg

MEG4.jpg

On our last day we finally got some good weather, still stupidly cold but it stopped raining. The opportune time to take photos for our sponsors.

MOB1.jpg

MOB2.jpg

MOB3.jpg

Even though it rained like a bitch for most of the cruise everyone had heaps of fun, made new friends and spent lots of money on petrol.

Isn’t that what cars and clubs are all about?

END.jpg

The Victorian Drift Club would like to thank Victoria Police and regional TMU for their support throughout the cruise,

Mobil for their generous donation of Mobil 1,

Meguiars car care products for their donation of waterless car wash kits

and the Victorian Cancer Council for heaps of sunscreen.

G2.jpg

man, how did i miss this in the Events section. bummer. looks like it was good fun despite the bad weather. Was this event open to non-members too? if so, ill be their next round. I really have to get my act together and start getting out to these events.

Hey i passed you guys on your way back on Sunday, we were just on our way out to the GOR, we saw you just out of Torquay, got a wave and a toot from all of you! All the cars looked awesome! Good work! :D