I usually take them for a drive...

Some people just can't be convinced though... Ie: the bogan's who think Nissan stole all their technology from the VL haha :laugh:

Oh it shows too, particularly in the handling and braking department. /sarcasm off

• Replies 67

as i grew up dad always had v8s, i used to think skylines were shit, the day i turned 17 and got my licence dad gave me his 400hp+ ss ute and i thought i was awsome, i always took it too the drags and ran low 12s, then one day my friends brither got a r33 and took me for a drive, i couldnt believe how quick they where, after he let me have a drive i just fell in love with the handling and all that, so one day i saw a nice black r32 with a rb25det and gave dad the ss back, the skyline isnt as quick in a staight line as the ss but it handles so much better and goes sideways so much easier, since i got it dad is now selling the ss and trying to get a cefiro ahahhaha

The war will rage on,

I find about 90% of V8 lovers will Hate 'Jap Crap' with a capital H and swear by there extra cylinders.

I also find that 90% of Turbo lovers swear by there turbos however can still manage to appreciate the power and ability of a V8

Just shows the ignorance of V8 owners.

Can someone remind me what happened at bathurst in 1992 :laugh:

I do love it when a V8 lover asks “where’s the other cylinders?”

Usually right before they start look at my tail lights :)

Here's my take on the whole thing...

The rest of my family is all pro-ford and pro-v8 etc...

I dont mind v8's, they sound great, and watching the v8 supercar races on tv is pretty cool.

As far as which is better, I believe that within reason, turbo cars will go quicker for less money, but technically speaking v8's will last longer and handle a lot more power if you're into ridiculously high kw numbers...

v8's can make big numbers and still last 300,000+ kms due to being bigger and therefore stronger. As for road-going v8's they have a lot of low-down torque so the engine spends a lot of time hardly revving which also helps it to last longer - only problem they often have is auto gearboxes tend to crap themselves due to the increased torque at low revs....only a problem for people like me who prefer an auto (lazy i know but hey).

Turbo's dont suffer this so much because most of the torque os at higher revs and you can stay off boost until the trans warms up etc. but on the other hand the jap engines normally rev pretty high so are not as likely to last as long overall. I'm generalising here so there will always be exceptions.

But the bottom line for me is this:

V8's are powerful etc. but turbos are way more fun. The whole power delivery is so much more involving in a turbo. There's no comparison to boost. V8's get the feeling of being pushed back in the seat but not like boost - where its a positive feedback loop - meaning that the acceleration increases very rapidly rather than being constant acceleration.

Last thing I want to mention is that you CAN combine them and have the best of both worlds. I've always preferred turbos to superchargers, particularly with v8's since you already have enough torque at low revs with a v8 so you dont NEED the supercharger and would get more benefit with a turbo since it would spool instantly with a v8 and there are no losses on the system so you'd get a much larger power gain. 6 on one, half a dozen on the other though...both can work very well, depending on the application.

very hard to have a discussion like this with hot-headed v8 lovers (or hot-headed turbo lovers) though...

i luv both

i love it when u see an 8 go flying past with the engine blasting away, theres nothing else that sounds like it,

i was at work one day and this ss came screaming up the road, and the noise was so loud i had to cover my ears and i still thought my eardrums were guna blow

but then again

i love my r33, the sound of the turbo spooling and then the feeling of getting pushed back into the seat when it comes on boost + the handling braking etc

If you only like v8's for the sound it makes....

drop off your exhaust after the dump and there you go!

Its time for v8 drivers to get with the times and strap some technology onto the v8s..

then they will feel the wrath...

A v8 will always be good.. but imagine the grin on their faces with either a turbo or supercharger setup..

mm mm mmmmm

my 2c

Edited by lighty01
the road that goes past poeple's houses and a SCHOOL!!!

lol

Nah down Reserve in between the two golf courses. It goes from Reserve to bluff. Straigh line no streets. Mac Daddy road I call it to piss the old man off. lol

I find about 90% of V8 lovers will Hate 'Jap Crap' with a capital H and swear by there extra cylinders.

I also find that 90% of Turbo lovers swear by there turbos however can still manage to appreciate the power and ability of a V8

Just shows the ignorance of V8 owners.

Can someone remind me what happened at bathurst in 1992

+1

Totally agree.

I don't mind a V8 (VX Clubbys especially) but I'm a import fan through and through. Wouldn't have it any other way.

I used to think HSVs were the shizzle and Jap imports were just for looking good until a ride in a mates T-K R33 GTS-T converted me for good. The way it got around the corners and the way it just launched from the lights.

Boost junkie ever since. :)

I think with V8 drivers (and lovers) is that they've never experienced a turbo import before, and are prejudice and quick to jump to the "fact" that "Jap = Crap". One of my mates (he's a bit of bogan LOL) used to hang shit on my other mate for driving a S15 Silvia (Jap-spec), until we were at Maccas one night and he would not shut up about it saying shit like "Look at you boys with your toy cars", "Get a real car.... like that *points at a BA XR8*" and "Nice car. Do they make them for men?". So, my mate just told him to get in and took him for a spin. 10 minutes later, they both get out of the car and my bogan mate is like "THESE CARS ARE F*CKEN SICK!!!!"

SO.... I reckon we should have an Turbo Awareness Week, where everyone around Australia with a turbo import should pick up as many V8-diehards and take them for a hoon. :)

But having said that, most V8 drivers (and lovers) that I know of have deep respect for the R32 GT-R "Godzilla" anyway. Maybe just a matter of time till enough of them get into an import and experience it first hand then will this whole "V8 vs Jap turbo" thing will end.

Edited by turbodragon

the missus family is full of v8 lovers. her dad is a hot rodder. he used to go on about little turbo cars being crap. then he saw a few, and talked to a few guys that lived across the road from where he worked who had a gemini with a sr in it. he came home and said how it had run whatever time at the drags and i just turned to him and said that it was reasonably stock and that my 33 sitting in the front yard was stock.

and the missus brother is sort of the same, but he knows that turbo's are quick, but i think he still thinks his very mild 202 torana will beat my old 33. although he did drive the 33 once and nearly lost it. he booted it taking off from the exhaust shop and had his hands full for most of first and second gear, lol.

+1

Totally agree.

I don't mind a V8 (VX Clubbys especially) but I'm a import fan through and through. Wouldn't have it any other way.

I used to think HSVs were the shizzle and Jap imports were just for looking good until a ride in a mates T-K R33 GTS-T converted me for good. The way it got around the corners and the way it just launched from the lights.

Boost junkie ever since. :)

I think with V8 drivers (and lovers) is that they've never experienced a turbo import before, and are prejudice and quick to jump to the "fact" that "Jap = Crap". One of my mates (he's a bit of bogan LOL) used to hang shit on my other mate for driving a S15 Silvia (Jap-spec), until we were at Maccas one night and he would not shut up about it saying shit like "Look at you boys with your toy cars", "Get a real car.... like that *points at a BA XR8*" and "Nice car. Do they make them for men?". So, my mate just told him to get in and took him for a spin. 10 minutes later, they both get out of the car and my bogan mate is like "THESE CARS ARE F*CKEN SICK!!!!"

SO.... I reckon we should have an Turbo Awareness Week, where everyone around Australia with a turbo import should pick up as many V8-diehards and take them for a hoon. :)

But having said that, most V8 drivers (and lovers) that I know of have deep respect for the R32 GT-R "Godzilla" anyway. Maybe just a matter of time till enough of them get into an import and experience it first hand then will this whole "V8 vs Jap turbo" thing will end.

Here Here!

I like your idea. Iv'e been cruising heaps of my bogan mates around and they f*cken love the difference in power.

I'd have to say that I like V8s and Turbos but nothing beats that boost kicking in. I drove two V8s before getting my R33 and they were impressive especially my mates old worked 253 HZ but when it came to cornering I thought I was going to fall out of the drivers side door due to the bodyroll. I love the R33 it does exactly what I tell it to do cornering and in a straight line even in stock form and being my first turbo car its a lot of fun. Theres one thing that no one mentioned here though and thats fuel economy vs power and I think the turbocharged cars win that argument as they have some of both not just one or the other. Thanks goes out to DRIFFT for helping me sort out my SA to NSW rego hassles :wave:

More then whether its a V8 or turbo, i look at it as displacement and application. For the life of me i dont understand why Honda work so hard at getting power from 2L motors etc. They lack torque. Turbos are great for mid range torque.

To me the perfect engine woudl be a 4.5L V8 with twin turbos. Run 9.0:1 compression, only run abotu 8-10psi and have aHUGE amoutns of torque and still be a nice light alloy engine packaged well into a chassis. The only issue is cooling and cost over just throwing a 6L at the thing :wave:

Here's my take on the whole thing...

The rest of my family is all pro-ford and pro-v8 etc...

I dont mind v8's, they sound great, and watching the v8 supercar races on tv is pretty cool.

As far as which is better, I believe that within reason, turbo cars will go quicker for less money, but technically speaking v8's will last longer and handle a lot more power if you're into ridiculously high kw numbers...

v8's can make big numbers and still last 300,000+ kms due to being bigger and therefore stronger. As for road-going v8's they have a lot of low-down torque so the engine spends a lot of time hardly revving which also helps it to last longer - only problem they often have is auto gearboxes tend to crap themselves due to the increased torque at low revs....only a problem for people like me who prefer an auto (lazy i know but hey).

Turbo's dont suffer this so much because most of the torque os at higher revs and you can stay off boost until the trans warms up etc. but on the other hand the jap engines normally rev pretty high so are not as likely to last as long overall. I'm generalising here so there will always be exceptions.

But the bottom line for me is this:

V8's are powerful etc. but turbos are way more fun. The whole power delivery is so much more involving in a turbo. There's no comparison to boost. V8's get the feeling of being pushed back in the seat but not like boost - where its a positive feedback loop - meaning that the acceleration increases very rapidly rather than being constant acceleration.

Last thing I want to mention is that you CAN combine them and have the best of both worlds. I've always preferred turbos to superchargers, particularly with v8's since you already have enough torque at low revs with a v8 so you dont NEED the supercharger and would get more benefit with a turbo since it would spool instantly with a v8 and there are no losses on the system so you'd get a much larger power gain. 6 on one, half a dozen on the other though...both can work very well, depending on the application.

very hard to have a discussion like this with hot-headed v8 lovers (or hot-headed turbo lovers) though...

Holden Statesmen series 1 with the 5.7 ltr V8, do you know how much oil and engines I went through when it was brand new? In 2 weeks mind you, you can't tell me they are tougher, Aussie throcast US surplus crap. European V8's FTW, take the OZ and US shit and through it out I see OZ and US still persisiting with 20+ year old technology and have a dedicated racing category to support it V8 supercars. F1 Eurpean muscle, now that is a V8. imagine a F1 engine twin turbo.

at the end of the day turbos will always be the winner in my eyes. i do like the sound of an an 8 too. for instance a mildly worked gen3 with small cam package/ heads will go awesome on the track but not for street. A turbo will go just as hard without the heads and cams being done and half the price, maybe even better.

my 2 cents

Edited by R33GOD