well i put my new exhaust on the other day and i love it. It's a Trust Power Extreme II. Has helped dramatically with fuel consumption and im now getting figures of around 500km per tank on Shell V Power. What i really hate is that now i can hear every slip and slow gearchange the trans does. i have been thinking about doing a manual conversion and this has just tipped the scales cause i dont want to be just another auto skyline with a big exhaust. did think about a valve body upgrade but what the heck. i know a heap of u guys have done the conversion before but i have only read about AWD conversions. my stag is only RWD and i just wanted to get some extra info on a few things. the parts list for u AWD guys read that u need GTR pedals (clutch anyway) and other GTR parts and that the tail shaft is the same length for auto and manual. will i be requiring the same GTR parts to do my conversion or will i just be able to use GTST parts. any idea if i will be able to keep my traction control also if i go to a PFC after the conversion. cheers for any info

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/208105-manual-conversion-for-rwd-only/

At a guess you will be the first RWd owner on SAU to convert to manual, so you may or may not have some hurdles

No need to use GTR parts ie clutch pedal, that is only if you want to run a booster assit clutch which is not needed. Just use a standard stagea s2 manual/R34 GTT master. Should be able to keep traction control, would be the same as a r34 GTT conversion from auto to manual.

Parts list

Stagea S S2(factory manual) complete clutch pedal and bracket, will need to buy new. $200-250

Stagea S S2 or R34 GTT master cylinder, new or s/hand $30-110

R33 gtst or gtr brake pedal and bracket, s/hand $30-40

Stagea 2 s2 handbrake lever, new from nissan or modifiy a r33/R34 lever, need to bend mounting feet $50-150

Handbrake level mounting bracket, new $50

R33 GTST or R34 GTT rwd manual gearbox, note R33 has cheaper push clutch, R34 has dearer pull clutch $1000-1500

New complete clutch kit $300-1000

Any s/hand RB flywheel, get it machined $50

New flywheel bolts $30

Manual spigot bearing $10

A few new longer bolts between the engine and gearbox $5

Clutch slave cylinder, new or s/hand $100

clutch line, easy to a new custom braided line $90

Rubber boot fits around gear stick hole $10

Manual centre console, new from nissan $800

Gear knob $5-100

Extend foot brake light wire to new handbrake, hook up reverse light wires to g/box, disenable auto g/box inhibitor, hook up electronic speed drive

Will need to check gearbox lengths for tail shaft length, g/box output spline to tail shaft size

Best to buy all the new genuine parts thru www.japanparts.com Will work out cheaper than nissan aust.

But you will need to know the parts numbers to order.

I think that is it off the top of my head

Holy sh1t long list... Still wanna do it....?

Thats crazy. But hey, you will have a unique RWD 5 speed stagea.

thanks heaps guys. i like the idea of being the first to do something to one of these cars. it seems like everything has been done by someone. no way will i be selling my car to get an AWD manual. im getting 500km or more per tank of fuel and thats with no piggy backs or adjustments made to fuel or the ignition and i would assume it will omly get better once i put the manual in (right foot depending). i will probably go for an emanage ultimate over the pfc as im not sure if i will be able to keep the traction control if i change the computer. does any one know if an r34 maual ecu will plug in or will i need to source a stagea one, thats if RWD stageas ever came out manual. also has anyone ever modified the foot brake to allow for room for the clutch pedal or do u need to get rid of it to allow for the clutch bracket. i was thinking of cutting it shorter and bending it so it was out of the way cause it would be very embarassing to accidently slam the brake on in the middle of a drag. just seems like a much cheaper and easier option than getting a new console and shit.

What Terminal said.

You CAN get by with the auto console (I am), but the handbrake has to be squeezed between the console and the seat: not exactly ideal in looks, or very healthy for the leather of the seat... :turned: Get the manual console, is my advice.

I got the RS4S console, and it's way better. it looks a lot neater and like factory. The only problem is it doesn't come with leather on the storage unit, so it looks a bit different to the rest of my interior. it's still a dark fabric though.

yeah mine is exactly the same - been meaning to get it retrimmed in leather but haven't got around to it yet. the manual console is a beautiful fit, I reckon these cars are too nice to deserve a hacked up console

At a guess you will be the first RWd owner on SAU to convert to manual, so you may or may not have some hurdles

No need to use GTR parts ie clutch pedal, that is only if you want to run a booster assit clutch which is not needed. Just use a standard stagea s2 manual/R34 GTT master. Should be able to keep traction control, would be the same as a r34 GTT conversion from auto to manual.

Parts list

Stagea S S2(factory manual) complete clutch pedal and bracket, will need to buy new. $200-250

Stagea S S2 or R34 GTT master cylinder, new or s/hand $30-110

R33 gtst or gtr brake pedal and bracket, s/hand $30-40

Stagea 2 s2 handbrake lever, new from nissan or modifiy a r33/R34 lever, need to bend mounting feet $50-150

Handbrake level mounting bracket, new $50

R33 GTST or R34 GTT rwd manual gearbox, note R33 has cheaper push clutch, R34 has dearer pull clutch $1000-1500

New complete clutch kit $300-1000

Any s/hand RB flywheel, get it machined $50

New flywheel bolts $30

Manual spigot bearing $10

A few new longer bolts between the engine and gearbox $5

Clutch slave cylinder, new or s/hand $100

clutch line, easy to a new custom braided line $90

Rubber boot fits around gear stick hole $10

Manual centre console, new from nissan $800

Gear knob $5-100

Extend foot brake light wire to new handbrake, hook up reverse light wires to g/box, disenable auto g/box inhibitor, hook up electronic speed drive

Will need to check gearbox lengths for tail shaft length, g/box output spline to tail shaft size

Best to buy all the new genuine parts thru www.japanparts.com Will work out cheaper than nissan aust.

But you will need to know the parts numbers to order.

i've got an R33 clutch pedal + pedal box, brake pedal, clutch master cylinder, brake master cylinder and hand brake if you need it too! :)

send me a pm if your interested.

thanks heaps guys. i like the idea of being the first to do something to one of these cars. it seems like everything has been done by someone. no way will i be selling my car to get an AWD manual. im getting 500km or more per tank of fuel and thats with no piggy backs or adjustments made to fuel or the ignition and i would assume it will omly get better once i put the manual in (right foot depending)

hi dmonic1 good luck with the car pal, but 500km you must be wearing thongs or it,s non turbo, not taking the piss mate but nobody gets 500 in a stagea unless it's a hw'y trip or mums in the car

ps not trying to be s/ass mate, i have done 10ltr/100k on long hwy trip(no booost)

hi dmonic1 good luck with the car pal, but 500km you must be wearing thongs or it,s non turbo, not taking the piss mate but nobody gets 500 in a stagea unless it's a hw'y trip or mums in the car

ps not trying to be s/ass mate, i have done 10ltr/100k on long hwy trip(no booost)

kylies stag got 519km to the last tank, and regulary gets ~480

i will admit that it only just gets 500km and yes that is with easy driving but i still only have a pretty stock car and unlike some of the dyno charts i have scene on here my A/F ratios are pretty good until its up in the boost. i also drive around in 3rd gear when im doing 60km/h so my car isnt struggling and it allows the the torque converter to be more locked up. 60km/h in fourth it sits at 1600 to 1700 rpm and that is below the stall of the converter.

• 8 years later...

I hate bumping up such an old thread. But  I've got a c34 s2 rs-v (rwd) and I'm doing research to get it manual convo. 

I'm wanting to know what tail shaft to use? I assume the auto one won't fit. I'm looking at getting a r33 gtst gearbox. 

I have tried researching but there is so little info on factory rwd stageas.