Hi all,

I was wondering if anyone has had a stock r33 s2 gtst fail or stop working due to wear and tear or general age?

Also mods id consider on stock would be limited to cat back and air filter, no boosting..

Im justing wondering cos i dont want to get a clean s2 then have it fail all of a sudden etc

thanks heaps

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/213701-stock-gtst-failure/

havn't really heard of something like that happening, unless the previous owner hardly maintained it. you can usually tell if the engine is on it's way out by irregular noises or bad driving symptoms.

if you're paranoid, get a reputable mechanic or friend who has knowledge in turbo cars to check out the car with you. insist on doing a compression test and even maybe a leakdown test.

and make sure to remember, there is no such thing as an 'unthrashed' jap import. they've all done their hard yards, but they love it. :D

hope that helps,

dave.

like any car is prone to failure if its abused or not serviced properly etc

its just a normal car dude, theres nothing special about them really

change the oil, service normally etc and it will be fine

theres no reason it should fail "out of the blue"

I killed the motor in my s2 gtst (97)

after 5 years, 150,000klm and about 30 track days the compression finally started falling. that was standard intake, exhaust, intercooler, bov etc just running 10psi thru a bleed valve.

these cars are brilliant, and very reliable when you leave them stock.

I killed the motor in my s2 gtst (97)

after 5 years, 150,000klm and about 30 track days the compression finally started falling. that was standard intake, exhaust, intercooler, bov etc just running 10psi thru a bleed valve.

these cars are brilliant, and very reliable when you leave them stock.

wen i first bought my car it was still stocker with a cooler xaust 14psi and a mines tuned ecu. it was a freak for a stock car it only made 244hp but i was chewing cars with dyno sheets for 290hp and so forth i was very suprised at wat it did for a stocker... i bought it with 97thousand k's on it and they were very hard kilometers as the car was an import x weekend flog car... was cheap enough so i bought it...

then i got sick of the power i had and went and put a greddy plenum on it 650hp turbonetics turbo power fc and so forth and was making 340rwhp safely.... the car had 165000km on it and the reason i pulled it was bcuz the rings just started to let go and it started losing compression in #6... i service my car very very regularly call me pedantic but i do it every 3000kms.... oil and filter... i look afta it, it looks afta me.

mate skylines motor from wat i have seen are one of the most reliable motors ever built if they are serviced rite and treated to with reason theres no reason y u couldnt possibly get 200000kms out of it...

neways mate good luck

Yea thanks for the info,

I have a rb30 at the momment, very reliable and ive seen them running with over 500,000 kms, if its anything to go by the rb25 should be just as reliable if not better, but yea maintenance is the key to longetivity.

Mine is 10 years old. I had some of the the bushes in the suspension wear out - the rear cradle ones. My mechanic said he was surprised, but then commented that he guessed they were coming into that kind of age now (mine's 10 years old). My radiator and water pump were both stuffed shortly after buying it. My turbo died a few months back running normal power, driving very boringly, and having done only 1 track day. The brake rotors were also cracking about 6 months into ownership (had it 3 years now). None of these things resulted from the car being flogged (at least, while I've owned it...).

wen i first bought my car it was still stocker with a cooler xaust 14psi and a mines tuned ecu. it was a freak for a stock car it only made 244hp but i was chewing cars with dyno sheets for 290hp and so forth i was very suprised at wat it did for a stocker... i bought it with 97thousand k's on it and they were very hard kilometers as the car was an import x weekend flog car... was cheap enough so i bought it...

then i got sick of the power i had and went and put a greddy plenum on it 650hp turbonetics turbo power fc and so forth and was making 340rwhp safely.... the car had 165000km on it and the reason i pulled it was bcuz the rings just started to let go and it started losing compression in #6... i service my car very very regularly call me pedantic but i do it every 3000kms.... oil and filter... i look afta it, it looks afta me.

mate skylines motor from wat i have seen are one of the most reliable motors ever built if they are serviced rite and treated to with reason theres no reason y u couldnt possibly get 200000kms out of it...

neways mate good luck

How the hell was your car stock if it had "cooler xaust 14psi and a mines tuned ecu" and making 244hp which I'm guessing is at the wheels? so 182rwkw skyline with exhaust, intercooler, a tuned ECu and double stock boost.

This is your idea of a STOCK car?