• Replies 344

hey all, what a great day!!

i had so much fun. especially doing the back track and trying to set decent times, a fairly unfamiliar thing for me and my slider. the skidpan was great soo much fun, especially smoking 3rd doing about 120. i only wish i took another pair of tyres, and didnt have to leave early to goto work

huge thanks to all the organisers for making it a totally awesome day, and im looking forward to next time

cant wait to see the times, as i think i ended up in the top 5.... not bad for a 31 drift car haha

at lunch i was 2nd fastest only to reece, and if i had of had more federals for the arvo, instead of the shitty tyres i ended up using, i reckon i could got pole. oh well ill remember to bring some more next time

DM

yup.... doof picked it up on the way out.... Its currently residing on the SAU engine crane in the garage... :)

oh thank god someone picked it up... I could have received some strange looks when I dropped the key back today otherwise :(

i think i'll have to buy an R31 to disrespect at the next event in september...

Do it! and make sure you have a passsenger seat!

There are some very nice photos taken so far, many thanx to all who did such a great job of capturing the competitors at play while having so much fun.

Hope to see more to come, especially of me chewing up a set of 4 day old 265/35/18's on the skid pan ( rego JET 959 ) :( .

Thanx guys. :)

Ps please pm me if I can get a copy or prints, that would be awsome to have framed on the wall in the pool room :) .

Thanks for the spin Jason! i might disregard the seatbelt next time :D

OMG MY CABLE TIES ARE FAMOUS! :D

NO THEY NOT!

We had to pull over on the Freeway, coz one of them come off, it's pretty scary changing cable tie when trucks come

flying down literally a metre and half away from you...plus i had no shoes on.

28 more uploading now. Should be available for view in the next 10 minutes or so.

Please excuse the shadows across the cars in the tracking shots :whistling: Next time i'll try and do some setups without shadow.

Oh, and I grabbed a pic of X's car too on the way past Lake George :blush:

2467004147_4aaff5082b_o.jpg

You never have shoes on...

and whatev, you voided the warranty when you put them on a 32 so get farked! :blush:

anyway, did he make it back alright?

yeah lol, man the drive home was so slow and dry.. every 5 mins, Micro-sleep mmm, then only thing thats keeping me awake are those trucks come flying down next to me ..:whistling:

28 more uploading now. Should be available for view in the next 10 minutes or so.

Please excuse the shadows across the cars in the tracking shots :whistling: Next time i'll try and do some setups without shadow.

Oh, and I grabbed a pic of X's car too on the way past Lake George :blush:

2467004147_4aaff5082b_o.jpg

Nice shots, Craig, but the only Volvo-looking beasties that you should be posting up here look more like this:

Wagon002.jpg

yeah lol, man the drive home was so slow and dry.. every 5 mins, Micro-sleep mmm, then only thing thats keeping me awake are those trucks come flying down next to me .. :blush:

Aw yeah, I made Jay drive rest of the way home while I had a nap...

I woke up and he kept on revving up, hearing the intake, then stepping off and letting it flutter... must have been doing it for five straight minutes til I just yelled out "OI, knock it off! Flutterz cost money man!" :ermm:

I think he likes my car a little bit better then his corolla :whistling:

Had a great day even if I was only spectating :)

My pics can be found here -

SAU Texikhana 2008

Some good, some average, some shit :blush: (Though I left heaps out)

Great Pics,

Good Weekend,

I have footage of each and every entrant either on the back track or the skid pan.

Await one hell of a video in a week or two.

How long before it will be out

Oh my god what a good weekend, i'm still groggy, sunburnt, frostbitten and snot-nosed but i'm still grinning about Sunday. :)

4.5gb of photos were shot by me so i've got a lot of post-processing to do, I tried my best to get everyone on film but if I did miss you I do apologize in advance.

Very special thanks to the organisers for piecing together a truly great weekend and for devoting their time to running the event and putting up with our drunken arses on Saturday night. :D We salute you! :)

Whether I run or volunteer in the next one is irrelevant because i'll still be there regardless.

Photo of the day from me.

IMG_0502.jpg

See you all at the next one - sans big black cock. :D

Great photo!!!!!!!!!!!!

Pfftt... Can we still put bets in for the starlet comp??? ahaha..

I will rig it so I win.. :ermm:

I have a feeling he will have done pretty well.. He would be in the top 8 that's for sure..

8th in the starlet? Two up and a big black dong for wind resistance, I don't think I did that well

Also a great big thanks to all the people that brought this all together, and thankyou to all the entrants for making it a great competitive day!

Had a few/alot of braking issues (Rear brake bias was through the roof) and should of got a good set of tyres not just cheapies (Had strands of rubber falling off towards the end), Still had a ball of a time, Can't wait til the next one :D :D

And one more thing .... wait till my car is sorted and I have some semi's :whistling:

Edited by TURISMO
Yeah a great bunch of pics so far, once again thanks for the organisers and all involved, very fun day.

hey mate what motor / turbo setup were you running in your car? i watched it on one launch on the backtrack and it absolutely screamed along, cant still be an rb20 is it?

Full frame/Graig did you gat any shots of my car doing a little smoke show? I really love that pic of my car on the freeway! and that you shopped the dent out of my bonnet in one of the pics LOL

Hehehehe I was wondering if you'd notice that :whistling:

Sure did. Im actually going to put them into a filmstrip style so you can see it happening as you look along them.

Then I'm thinking about converting them into a GIF and animate it :blush: It would make a good avatar lol

Craig