Not that my current engine needs one yet (touch wood!)...

but having recently moved to Tassie I'm not clued into all the good shops down here.

Since I live out in woop-woop I don't much care if they are in Hobart or Launceston - my main concern is to find knowledgeable mechanics with good RB engine experience who take pride in their work. I'm actually considering getting an RB30/25 hybrid type engine built and dropped into my 34 - has anyone here have experience with these - or would I be better off getting it built on the mainland and installed here?

Also keen to hear about good tuners experienced with Power FCs.

Oh yeah - and also suggestions for performance parts, oil filters etc for the RB. Where are the best places for these?

I had a look on the forum but havent come across anything on the above, so maybe this thread could be useful to others as well.

Looking forward to any good recommendations, thanks.

Great stuff, thanks guys for the info.

Does anyone sell FRAM oil filters to suit the RB25 down here by any chance, or any other decent brand filters?

Actually Ditto for Motul oil as well.

Just out of sheer curiosity, how many dynos are there in Hobart?? :D

Thanks very much for the advice!

yer mate u can get motul oil at repro. Good oil

im building rb25/30 myself

tas engine recon are good at sourcing parts (cheap) and building motors if ur unable to urself. speak to matt rodgers.

as for tuning in tassy.... no comment lol

Edited by tm_r33

As everyone has said, for rebuilds Tas Engine Recon are the go.

There are decent tuners of power fc's in tassie. Everyone has their personal preference. As far as i am aware in Hobart there are three main tuners:

1. Pro Automotive <-- Kutzi

2. Nick Summons

3. I think the third one is Tas Mobile Mechanics, unless I'm getting my companies mixed up.

As for performance parts I'd say the internet is your best bet.

just to clear up the above.

Pro automotive has a dyno and can tune power FCs and andrew is very good at tuning and biulding RB engines. just ask about his VL turbo.

nick summers has moved away so he doesnt do them any more

and tas mibile mechanics are just mechanics no tuning as far as i know but they have been doing a lot of work on some of tassys best drift cars. SR and RB motors.

i belive there is 3 dynos in hobart. Pro automotive, Jadamzik (but i am unsure of there tuning capabilitys) and proformanace autos but i think it is for inhouse stuff only.

launcestion has 1 being boost automotive and i think there is one on the NW coast.

Pro automotive, tas mobile mechanics and definatly rons automotive have experiance with rb25/30 hybrids. not sure about boost thoe.

most auto shops have motul, repco autobarn and some of the launni workshops have it in stock to.

i think most people just run nissan genuine oil filters. you can get them from motors launcestion and i think hobart to. they cost less than $10.

I always ran rb30 filters on my car, my friend worked at a certain large automotive store and got them for "free".

Autobarn stock Motul turbolight which is the only oil I would reallly run in an rb, not sure but other places might aswell.

As for dynos in Launceston, a few places that dont have dynos down here in launceston can still tune your car as they get the car transported to tafe and use the dyno there.

whitehot performance in devonport is purpose to be good got a dyno too.

Have a dyno but wont let general members of the public use it.

Down south there are dyno's at: Pro Auto (Kuc) Howell Automotive, Jadamazik, Huon Auto's and all have experience with Nissan tuning and a wide variety of ECU's.

Plenty of people experienced with Nissan engine's and most already named in this thread so you shouldn't have trouble finding someone to do what work would be required in the future :P

Great stuff guys & thanks so much :P

Thats a good list of shops across Tassie.

I'll have to take the 34 down to Hobart for a run (I still havent been to Hobart since I moved here a few weeks ago).

Gotta do an oil change first though, as its overdue by about 1000km.

Meantime I have my hands full as I just bought an old 75 series Landcruiser ute, which is a lot more practical for daily stuff here and I don't have to worry about the paintwork :ermm: Its in pretty good nick for its age/price but has a few things I'd like to improve, particularly the suspension and brakes (which are woeful but typical Landcruiser brakes of that era!).

i think most people just run nissan genuine oil filters. you can get them from motors launcestion and i think hobart to. they cost less than $10.

Seems like the easiest/cheapest solution, thanks. I guess the genuine filter must be of good enough quality if everyone is using them on modded engines.

Cheers :P

I am running an RB30/25DET in my R33, If you are the hands on type of person you could probably get a hold of some people with good experience to build it for you over a weekend with beer involved.

That's what a lot of people do once they get to know the macanic nuts in the car clubs around the place.

Might not be an option you would like to even consider but I know a lot of people with crazy engines in Tas and they have all been built in some guys garage over a weekend.

Infact 2 mates of mine just rebuilt an RB30ET yesterday, full rebuild, head, block every thing. Main reason is the cost of getting this kind of work is crazy but if you have got the $'s then why not.

As far as re-builders and tuners down here..... well I don't trust the tuners in Tasmania as I am running a Microtech LT12s so I am getting Brock from MAZFIX/Microtech in QLD to fly down to tune my car for me. If you have a PowerFC or something like that then yeah Tassie tuners are fine but I am running a Microtech and there arn't a lot of tuners here with experience in them, sure I can some one will be able to tune it fairly well but Brock will do a much better job.

go tas engine reco as they get good parts for cheap as prices and have many years of experience over 20 years..

my mate got his engine rebulit with s15 crank +_ bearings and head gasket etc for $800 from tas engine reco ...where another well known company with a big repuation from heaps of ppl that i wont say quoted 5-6k,,,, ;)

they got him parts heaps cheaper then on the net ie multi layered metal head gasket for sr20det $140...

Speak to the ppl that have been doin it for years and know their sh*t not a bunch of blokes with a few tools in their hand that think they are the shi*t cauz a few ppl rave on a bout them

Edited by tm_r33
I have just built a 25/30 for my 33. Bought the bottom end for Proengines then just had to put my 25 head on it. Should make well over 400rwkw :)

Sound nice :(

I've often thought about a 25/30 - how much did the bottom end cost, if you don't mind me asking?

Is your 25 head stock? Probably not if you already had 300KW I suppose...

If I could achieve a lazy 300RWKW, I'd be pretty content with that - for a while anyway :D

I am running an RB30/25DET in my R33, If you are the hands on type of person you could probably get a hold of some people with good experience to build it for you over a weekend with beer involved.

That's what a lot of people do once they get to know the macanic nuts in the car clubs around the place.

Might not be an option you would like to even consider but I know a lot of people with crazy engines in Tas and they have all been built in some guys garage over a weekend.

Infact 2 mates of mine just rebuilt an RB30ET yesterday, full rebuild, head, block every thing. Main reason is the cost of getting this kind of work is crazy but if you have got the s then why not.

As far as re-builders and tuners down here..... well I don't trust the tuners in Tasmania as I am running a Microtech LT12s so I am getting Brock from MAZFIX/Microtech in QLD to fly down to tune my car for me. If you have a PowerFC or something like that then yeah Tassie tuners are fine but I am running a Microtech and there arn't a lot of tuners here with experience in them, sure I can some one will be able to tune it fairly well but Brock will do a much better job.

Sorry for the slow reply - I'm not getting any email alerts like I'm supposed to be...

Yeah, I'd like to be all DIY one day, but I've never done any engine work before and I'm a bit too obsessive about having everything perfect on the 34.

I'd sure save on costs as you say though!

I should buy an old clunker, pull the engine down and re-assemble it just for the experience/confidence, then I'd probably be a lot more confident about rebuilding the RB25 :)

Also yeah, power FC here so thankfully at least there are a few more people around that can tune those.

go tas engine reco as they get good parts for cheap as prices and have many years of experience over 20 years..

my mate got his engine rebulit with s15 crank +_ bearings and head gasket etc for $800 from tas engine reco ...where another well known company with a big repuation from heaps of ppl that i wont say quoted 5-6k,,,, :)

they got him parts heaps cheaper then on the net ie multi layered metal head gasket for sr20det $140...

Speak to the ppl that have been doin it for years and know their sh*t not a bunch of blokes with a few tools in their hand that think they are the shi*t cauz a few ppl rave on a bout them

$800 is bloody cheap for a rebuild alright :(