http://www.theage.com.au/news/national/spe...0765140194.html

"Police have blamed speed and "hoon" driving for a crash in which two men were killed and five people injured in Melbourne's inner north.

Senior Sergeant Michael Talbot said the two men killed in the crash on Carlton's busy Lygon Street this afternoon were 19 and 21.

He said three men were in the Commodore travelling south on Lygon Street when it collided with a parked and empty black Honda Civic near the corner of Palmerston Street about 2.15pm.

The crash sparked a chain reaction involving five vehicles as the Commodore spun and hit two stationary taxis with drivers inside waiting to pick up passengers.

The second cab was pushed into a stationary grey Mazda hatchback.

MICA paramedic Geoff Taurins said one of the Commodore passengers was dead by the time ambulance crews arrived and the driver died at the scene a short time later.

Both men were from Melbourne's north-west.

The third man was taken to The Alfred hospital with injuries thought to be serious but not life-threatening.

A VicRoads spokeswoman said Lygon Street between Palmerston and Elgin streets had now been reopened to traffic.

Mr Taurins said paramedics arrived to a chaotic scene with people yelling and screaming, broken glass and pieces of the wrecked cars strewn across the road, and up to 150 onlookers on the busy street.

A driver in the first taxi, a van, and a driver and passenger in the second taxi, a station wagon, were taken to St Vincent's Hospital with minor injuries.

Mr Taurins said a female pedestrian walking near the parked Civic at the time of the smash had "narrowly avoided death".

The woman, believed to be in her 20s, was hit by shards of windscreen glass but was uninjured.

Mr Taurins said she had helped paramedics treat patients before she was taken to hospital.

Senior Sergeant Talbot said the woman had been "severely traumatised".

"The total here today we have five cars involved, two young men have been killed, five others have been taken to hospital. High speed is involved," said Senior Sergeant Talbot, who was unable to confirm what speed the car was travelliing in the 60km/h zone.

"This is another example of what you could say (is) hoon behaviour, hoon driving and young people thinking they can outdo themselves and the results are tragic."

Senior Sergeant Talbot said the parked vehicles had blocked the Commodore from mounting the footpath and potentially hitting pedestrians preventing what could have been a tragedy of "monumental proportions".

He blamed the accident caused on "ridiculous" driving.

"We just can't get it through the young people's heads that they are not invincible and that they will crash and that they will die."

Tony Follara, who lives in a nearby housing commission building, said he heard the crash from his first-floor flat.

"It sounded like a big bang. I didn't understand what it was," he said.

The VicRoads spokeswoman said the traffic flow in Lygon Street was returning to normal."

Poor bastards. Luckily no-one else was killed. But my question is, how did the police know they were hooning? They had no eyewitness reports of hooning. The police got there after the accident, and admitted they didn't know how fast the car was going. Travelling at 60km/h and crashing into a parked car is enough to kill people. The only thing good to came out of this was removing a commodore and civic off the streets.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/219550-carlton-st-crash-two-killed/

• Replies 55

other people might think differently to me but Y THE HELL would you give your car a gutfull down a street like that??? people and cars everywhere and to do as much damage as those photos show he must have been doing a fair pace, agreed?

its sad that two young people were killed none the less, but things like this give everyone with a modded car a bad name in my opinion

Yeah saw this on the news. Looks like an ex taxi with steel wheels on the back. Sad when lives are lost but more so in needless situations like this and very fortunate that other parties were not more seriously injured or killed :)

Phatboy - there are reports of them hooning with the heraldsun site quoting they were estimated to be doing twice the speed limit and also seen weaving in and out of cars prior to the accident. Lygon St is very busy so witnesses will come forward, I just imagine they are collating information before releasing it.

yer aparentely they wetre doing about 110km/h, the driver and the back seat passenger were very close friends of mine and both lived around the corner from me, the survivor which was in the passenger was my family friend, they were all one of the best kids and never saw nothing in them, it was mistake they shouldnt of being doing in a stupid street like that, may both ali andmohammad RIP and send the family and other friends my condolences, wurst crash i have ever seen in my life, thanks guys

Jeez, over 100 km/h on Lygon Friday arvo is not a good speed to be at. Thankfully no-one else was seriously hurt.

Anyone else notice people driving more aggressively every Friday?

fridays are always like that......i had a dickhead who tailgated me ont he fwy (where road works were happening and where it was 80), and started flashing his lights. Let him go past, was a p plater unfortunately, and just yelled obsceneties at them. Had a 350z convertible, weave in and out of traffic last weekend as well......flashed my lights at him, and he gave me the finger.....

ass bandits......

fridays are always like that......i had a dickhead who tailgated me ont he fwy (where road works were happening and where it was 80), and started flashing his lights. Let him go past, was a p plater unfortunately, and just yelled obsceneties at them. Had a 350z convertible, weave in and out of traffic last weekend as well......flashed my lights at him, and he gave me the finger.....

ass bandits......

Man WTF is up with them, just cuz hes in a 350Z (fat ass convertible) he thinks he king d**k. Same goes with P Platers in Mini Copper S. Buzzing around like Hoons which I have noticed.

Well if you speed then thats what happens as posted above and which I saw on the news last night and in the news paper this morning.

Probley some small d**k loser whos got chip on his shoulder had to show off.

BTW did ya notice his POS of a car had bigger rims at the front and commodore silver stock steelies at the rear = probley burnt up a few tyres from burn outs = what a lame f**k.

It's ppl like this F**ktard who give car enthusiest a bad name, caused a hell of a lot of porblems for others and at the end of the day lose their own and other lives.

Bloody Friday nights / Saturday mornings...

An idiot in a R32 came flying down my street at 5am this morning, slams on his brakes and *BANG*.

He/she ended up doing a runner but idiots like that give us bad reps!

Alloys on the front, Steelies on the back should = instant impoundment. It's like a person being done for carting tools for breaking and entering and being charged for it, even if they didn't get caught doing so.

ey mate the stockies were on the back because one of the international wheels on the rear were buckled so he had to put the stockies on the rear, as i said they were very good mates and the wheel is actually getting repaired as we speak so the car doesnt deserve to be impounded but yer i know the cop will think the other way but the real reason was the wheel was getting repaired but i dont know what went through his head doing over 100km/h on lygon, i guess its just stupid thinking, oh well i guess shit does happen so all you turbo people out there watch wat yous do because you cant guarantee you will be alive tomorrow,

cheers guys

Man WTF is up with them, just cuz hes in a 350Z (fat ass convertible) he thinks he king d**k. Same goes with P Platers in Mini Copper S. Buzzing around like Hoons which I have noticed.

Well if you speed then thats what happens as posted above and which I saw on the news last night and in the news paper this morning.

BTW did ya notice his POS of a car had bigger rims at the front and commodore silver stock steelies at the rear = probley burnt up a few tyres from burn outs = what a lame f**k.

It's ppl like this F**ktard who give car enthusiest a bad name, caused a hell of a lot of porblems for others and at the end of the day lose their own and other lives.

ey mate watch what you say on the forums orite, he didnt burn any tires, he lived couple blocks away from me, as i said i dont know what went through his mind doing 100km/h in a 60k zone, so you are trying to say you havnt been twice the limit aswell, mate you got a gtr, everyone on these forums have been twice the limit and i guarantee ya, his no lame f**k so just watch what you say, one of his international wheels were getting repaired as we speak because he bought one of them buckled and he bought the car not long ago of some aussie dude and it came with stockies, anyway mate just wanting to tell ya this so you dont think the other way,

cheers mate

I've had stock rims on the rear of my car with my 18's on the front, as I was waiting for the weekend to have my new tires fitted to the rears...the above idea to have cars impounded for stock wheels on the rear is ludicrous.

My car is currently has stockies on the rear...and on the front. I guess it should be impounded.

Hey mate, bit of respect is in order. He made a mistake and has paid the price, no point acting all tough guy over the net. :happy:

ey mate watch what you say on the forums orite, he didnt burn any tires, he lived couple blocks away from me, as i said i dont know what went through his mind doing 100km/h in a 60k zone, so you are trying to say you havnt been twice the limit aswell, mate you got a gtr, everyone on these forums have been twice the limit and i guarantee ya, his no lame f**k so just watch what you say, one of his international wheels were getting repaired as we speak because he bought one of them buckled and he bought the car not long ago of some aussie dude and it came with stockies, anyway mate just wanting to tell ya this so you dont think the other way,

cheers mate

Yeah sure!

Hey mate, bit of respect is in order. He made a mistake and has paid the price, no point acting all tough guy over the net. :happy:

Iam not playing tough guy over the net, just voicing my opinion...

Edited by (00)SKYLINE(00)