well I guess we'll see when SK takes his GTST to Superlap? only issue will be putting a reasonable $ value on his suspension development work on his own car, and approximate $ values of the GTRs there... how hard can that be? :lol

Edited by hrd-hr30
  • Replies 84

Interesting comment. Which seems contra to what usually is the outcome ie a good four wheel driver will always beat a good two wheeler.

Let's try a couple of examples;

1. I reckon a 250rwkw R32GTST at 1200 kgs with $20K spent on it would be faster than a 250rwkw R32GTR at 1500 kgs with $20K spent on it.

2. I reckon a 400rwkw R32GTST at 1200 kgs with $60K spent on it would not be faster than a 400rwkw R32GTR at 1300 kgs with $60K spent on it.

Whadyareckon?

Gary

well I guess we'll see when SK takes his GTST to Superlap?

I don't think we will, very underdeveloped car with a rusty old driver. I have very low expectations for what will it's first time out.

Gary

:) Well guys the good news is that this arvo i've just fired the new engine in the triple one skyline and will be ready for the track next week. Just in case your wondering i;ts the white r33 in brisbane the 1 that;s always behind the pink toyota.
LOL, because i am about the only guy in SAU-Vic (BBGTR springs to mind, but thats about it) who uses a data logger.

Best $1,200 I ever spent. I have never gone to a track with it and gone slower at the next attempt when the car specs were identical.

DL1 FTW!

Are there any advantages in suspension tuning in a Gtr over Gts for track work if using same brand componantry ?

Nope, actually the reverse due to the following.

and can you achieve the same balance when stressing and wedging the chassis ????

Nope, a GTR is much more front weight biased (~180kgs) plus RHS weight biased due to the 4wd hardware. Add the driver to the RHS and they are quite difficult to balance, front to rear and left to right.

The single advantage of a GTR is traction from the 4wd. That can manifest itself in a faster single lap time if the 4wd is needed for the power level. Or, a faster full race distance due to better use of the tyres, particularly rears.

Gary

From personal experience at Baskerville in Hobart about three years ago

175kW, 1220kg GTSt with similar suspension and tyres was a second a lap quicker than a 260kW 1520kg GTR... the GTR felt very heavy were the GTSt felt nimble.

In a 1.1km hillclimb the GTR was 5 seconds faster with two tight hairpins.

In a tarmac rally the GTR could produce times comparable to the Targa Tasmania top ten in other events, on estimation the GTSt would have struggled to run inside the top 20.

Nope, actually the reverse due to the following.

Nope, a GTR is much more front weight biased (~180kgs) plus RHS weight biased due to the 4wd hardware. Add the driver to the RHS and they are quite difficult to balance, front to rear and left to right.

The single advantage of a GTR is traction from the 4wd. That can manifest itself in a faster single lap time if the 4wd is needed for the power level. Or, a faster full race distance due to better use of the tyres, particularly rears.

Gary

Gary you just shatteredmy dreams of achieving a 1 second gap with a GTR on time attack in brisbane . So This is the challenge ! suspension tuning with your input and your componantry mate i;m only looking for 1.02 misrebale seconds is it possible ???
And there I was considering a 32 GTS-t Stu.

Way to pop my bubble dude!

But what were you gonna do with it Ben?

As a circuit car I'd get the GTSt everytime as its heaps cheaper make faster thanks to light weight so long as 4WD cars arn't caining your poor 2WD starts... as as a rally car I'd run with the GTR cause of the max grip and 2 second gain on every start, but remember 1989/90 models are eligable for Classic therefore GTSt would be an awesome thing against the old shitters.

Bottom line, I rate GTSt's highly... please remind me why I'm building this farking RX7!

the perfect time attack aero kit - ok so we got bored and thought it might look cool... finished it at 2am the morning before a race meet and took all of one race before it was removed by the front of another car under brakes!

post-5400-1212388433_thumb.jpg

Been thinking of an '89 Gts-t for tarmac rallies and occasional circuit fun (the circuit would be purely for occasional fun, I'd prefer to spend my money on tarmac rallies). I've even thought of speaking to Murray Coote about a 2nd set of suspension for gravel rally use in some local stuff up this way. :teehee:

I was toying with the thought of importing an RS500 niow they're elligible for late classic, but I don't know enough about them, where as I know the Skylines backwards and inside out.

I guess late classic is where I reckon some fun could be had, as late modern is only going to get quicker with more guys being able to afford to put everything on the line.

Gary you just shatteredmy dreams of achieving a 1 second gap with a GTR on time attack in brisbane . So This is the challenge ! suspension tuning with your input and your componantry mate i;m only looking for 1.02 misrebale seconds is it possible ???

We fixed the rear bump steer on John's 300ZXX and put some decent springs and shocks in it and it was 1.5 seconds faster at Philip Island and almost 1 second faster at Wakefield. So 1.02 at QR should be doable.

Gary

We fixed the rear bump steer on John's 300ZXX and put some decent springs and shocks in it and it was 1.5 seconds faster at Philip Island and almost 1 second faster at Wakefield. So 1.02 at QR should be doable.

Gary

See here is the thing, so many variables. No doubt the tweaking of the Zed made a difference to for its second visit to the island. But his first time there was exactly that, his first time there. Not to mention he had dramas with traffic as it was a very busy Nationals day. Secondly he wasnt even running the same tyres front to rear. And when you say decent springs and shocks wasnt he still running the Teins at PI?

All true, but then there are other truths as well that indicate it should be even faster. The tyres were hardly pristine, so it would have gone faster with better rubber. The rear bump steer and camber angles are much better, but the front is still far from ideal, it would definitely be easier to drive and faster with that fixed. The spring rates and shock valving I chose for it were a guess, I have never been involved with that 300ZX configuration before, so it truly was a guess. The number of laps was limited due to other issues etc etc. So there are plenty or valid reasons to believe that there is more potential there.

The glass is most definitely half full, not half empty.

Gary

i know this may be a silly question but Gary if u had to choose between a gtst and gtr for circuit and had an unlimited budget would u still go for a gtst? i dont have an unlimited budget but am still undecided on which way i wanna go.

say your pushing 450kw at wheels with a rb26 and t04z (good power between 4200rpm-9000rpm) and have a gtr ppg dogbox already would u ever considering using a gtst? do u think i would get any advantage with a gtr over gtst with that combo? I dont know if you know Barbegallo Raceway in perth but this is the track i would be running on 99% of the time and possibly the track down at Collie but only on rare occasions.

I can either...

use the ppg box with cut off tf case for rwd and my engine as is making 450kw in gtst?

use the ppg box with cut off tf case for rwd and my engine with a gt3540 making around 360kw in gtst?

or ppg box and 450kw engine combo in a gtr?

im soo unsure and keep trying to convince myself on either options its driving me crazy lol :thumbsup: