are you f**king serious? commodore owner's had a RACE and KILLED elderly people on great western highway, withint the coming day's the police announced operation "taipan" which was a blitz on japanese import's.....

dont give me your sob story crap

Operation Taipan was established on 22 August, 2007 and focuses on inappropriate driver behaviour in the Sydney Metropolitan area.

Thirty-six police officers are specifically targeting illegal street racing, ‘burnout’ offences, anti-social driver behaviour, and vehicle and traffic law compliance as part of the operation.

Operation Taipan has so far resulted in 399 arrests and 829 charges laid and more than 7,860 traffic and 2,207 speeding infringements issued along with 660 defect notices and 17,900 vehicles stopped for road breath testing. Also, 135 people have been charged with drink driving charges and 55 vehicles confiscated.

END OF STORY!!!

Police don't just target imports.. If anyone actually does what the news, I see these idiots in BMW's, HOLDEN Barina's, Toyotas etc. have their cars confiscated because they were "street racing" or doing something stupid. Did anyone actually see that 16yo who took his daddy's Merc out got caught and had it confiscated?

The only reason if you do get pulled over in an import is because you're either doing something stupid, have something illegal on your car or they just want to have a sticky beak which I know some police officers who are really into cars and just want to have a look see.

• Replies 141

Ooh, an exciting thread.

Jeez but yeah how did the cops catch the dude if he was actually going 265k? i think its abit skewed the news, maybe it was going 200 and plus cop cars aren't THAT fast or neither are they THAT good at driving to chase the dude at 265km/ph or neither are they THAT gutful enough to attempt it. :D

I reckon an SS Comode could probably go that fast and I can tell you that they are that good at driving. My mate was HWP in Canberra and they have their own private track which they practice on all the time. Not only no costs but they even get paid to practice. I've also been in a HWP car on a high speed chase (years ago, prolly wouldn't be allowed these days) and seen the skills on the streets. Also I can guarantee you they have the guts. Lastly, since the guy pulled over they only would have had to come out onto the pretty much straight fwy, floor it until the guy they were chasing saw the lights then cruise up to a stop. Hardly taxing.

what an absolute idiot. mainly because he actually stopped :|. not very hard to pul into a street, dump the car in the car park of a set of flats, den report it stolen and catch a cab home :) (by the time they actualy would have gotten to him, hede be long gone).

therefore the fact that he actually chose to stop and not pull a chase (which he would have most likely gotten away from) shows that he has some common sense. so plz no need to be keyboard warriors. afterall im sure most of us have broken the law for speeding. so what makes u any better than him?

Yeah cos there's so many blocks of flats around the Hume fwy. Side streets every 50m too. Ditto cabs.

You know what sucks.. I bet that he will get a worse punishment than someone who has committed a way worse crime...

Probably. Parity in law and punishment is not a concept our governments - or out people for that matter - are interested in.

as if you'd even stop
i knowww. if anything, it shows hes got more common sense then most of us. i sure as hell wouldnt have stopped. nor would most people on this forum. so seriously, let it go ;)

I think most people on this forum would stop. There's no where to run out there and they can radio ahead for other cop cars to intercept you.

sorry i just found it funny how he think's comodore's are more targeted then jap import's...

i thought i was being nice :S

/shut's mouth

It's probably all just a matter of where you sit. If it's in an import you think it's imports that are being targeted, if it's a comode then it's comodes that get targeted. Certainly the last time I saw an article on street racers being caught with a pic I counted about 7 VL's, 2 newer comodes, a falcon and something else I can't remember.

The only reason if you do get pulled over in an import is because you're either doing something stupid, have something illegal on your car or they just want to have a sticky beak which I know some police officers who are really into cars and just want to have a look see.

Not true. If you are young you have a good chance of being 'randomly' pulled over. If you drive a 'hoon' type car then your chances are probably tripled. I used to get pulled over heaps when I was younger in my v8 days. In 4.5 years of owning the Skyline I can only think of 3 times. Well justified on at least 2 of those occasions and possibly on the 3rd.

I wouldn't quite say that Adam. As you know I'm young and drive either the GTR or GTST daily.

I have maybe been pulled over once or twice over the couple of years that I have owned it but I have never been harassed.

I wouldn't quite say that Adam. As you know I'm young and drive either the GTR or GTST daily.

I have maybe been pulled over once or twice over the couple of years that I have owned it but I have never been harassed.

That can possibly be attributed to your distinct lack of penis

Back on topic.....

The radio dude read on nissansilvia.com a post from the alledged 263km/h speeder.

they say he wrote 'I was in 4th gear,still had 5th to go,,,i coulda clocked 310 i reckon.

can someone who has a nissansilvia account check this out for us and link us up?

Well my car sure as shit couldn't do it, even if the gears could, the engine couldn't :D

Went through the NS website (such a cluttered design, and now it's all bunched into hardtuned.net) and they have pretty much cleared up any info that was there...

I will say to all the clowns who said they would run you really are thinking with your arse. for one thing if you want to willfully break the law and are willing to escalte your crimes in order to escapte a speeding fine, then keep it to yourself. posting about your hardcore wannabe mentality on the forum is just plain stupid. you might as well youtube yourself comitting some nice petty crime and see how far that gets you.

also, before you run think about what you have to lose. on the one hand you pull over, get your pants pulled down a good spanking by the judge, most likely accompanied by a licence suspension, a thousand or two in fines and maybe even a bond. on the other hand you run. the police radio ahead and ask for more cars in the area to assist in the chase. they are able to intercept you further up the road, and may even run you off the road (thus badly damaging your car, which likely no insurance will cover as you were engaged in a criminal act). now you have police that are fired up and likely to give you a little kicking whislt yelling 'stop resisting' just in case someone is watching. now you get charged. you will get a criminal conviction which may prevent you getting certain jobs or even travelling to certain countries. hell you may even lose the job you have now. and at worst you may even earn yourself a nice trip to long bay for a few months. or even worse your fully sick skillz may desert you as you attemp a corner 50km/h too fast and you crash and die. all over a speeding fine.

when you rationally look at the risk and benefit of running vs not running you would have to be a moron to even consider running away over a speeding ticket. I mean it's suck a petty thing. it's not like you are driving away from a bank robbery, nothing really bad will happen when you pull over.

I will say to all the clowns who said they would run you really are thinking with your arse. for one thing if you want to willfully break the law and are willing to escalte your crimes in order to escapte a speeding fine, then keep it to yourself. posting about your hardcore wannabe mentality on the forum is just plain stupid. you might as well youtube yourself comitting some nice petty crime and see how far that gets you.

BUT man u can't really say "speeding fine" lol, its jail term at that speed for sure. So i guess its worth it if there was a closer exit nearby

Back on topic.....

The radio dude read on nissansilvia.com a post from the alledged 263km/h speeder.

they say he wrote 'I was in 4th gear,still had 5th to go,,,i coulda clocked 310 i reckon.

can someone who has a nissansilvia account check this out for us and link us up?

total lie...

BUT man u can't really say "speeding fine" lol, its jail term at that speed for sure. So i guess its worth it if there was a closer exit nearby

I will be very surprised if he does a single days jail over this one.

I think what people may be missing is the complete and utter stupidity of doing such a speed on the road & the completely indefensible nature of this fkwits actions.

The bloke was lucky to be stopped before he killed himself or others.

No amount of "my car is in better condition than 90% of the cars on the road", nor "i am a really good driver" nor any other bullshit reasons can ever explain away the inevitability of a terminally bad result from such willfully dumb behaviour. The word culpable comes to mind.

Personally I was nearly cleaned up by a nutbag in an Evo doing a Vmax run as I was on the way home from a track day. I didn't enjoy the experience.