AE86's with their standard engines are quite gutless. But the handling is magnificent.

I would recommend an mx5, chuck some semi-slicks on and some good pads, exhaust and you're ready for some superfun track days :)

• Replies 55

u want something that handle well and got poweR? easy man get a Datsun 260z or 280z depending if you like the looks i have 1 they are awsome get one thats worked with a 2.8L and triple carbs head work they make more than 150kw @ rears and the sound of the motor is unbelievable at hight revs and its unique not ever person on the street has 1 and alot more people will respect you for it!

for a good built datsun you will be looking at 13g's for 1 that is in mint cond! look into it man you wont regret it

here's an idea

get a stock shitter - dont spend any $ on it

then when your off your p's buy a 15k GTST that has all the work done to it (tons of them out there) and away you go

youll have a cheaper car to run on your p's, insurance will be less, if it gets flogged etc or you bust it, no big loss

then when your off your p's you can instantly upgrade (as youll have money left over) to a nice GTST

youll get a better car, better quality, more safer, and it will have some basic mods too

here's an idea

get a stock shitter - dont spend any $ on it

then when your off your p's buy a 15k GTST that has all the work done to it (tons of them out there) and away you go

youll have a cheaper car to run on your p's, insurance will be less, if it gets flogged etc or you bust it, no big loss

then when your off your p's you can instantly upgrade (as youll have money left over) to a nice GTST

youll get a better car, better quality, more safer, and it will have some basic mods too

Best advice ever!

I wish someone told me this when i was on my P's and spending useless $$$ doing up a Commonwhore which even after modified was still nowhere near as good as a stocker GTR.....

Save ur cash dude...

Few options put on the table.

* AE86

* Pulsar SSS N14 or N15

* MR2

* MX5

* AE101 or AE111

* NA Supra (I think newer ones may come close to power to weight limits though)

* R31 Skylines

* Integra or Civic

Others I can think of.

* 1976-8 Celica. RWD NA.

http://www.carpoint.com.au/used-car/DATSUN....aspx?State=VIC

thats hot!

Its going to be hard to drive a different car to a skyline though :down: the interior and handling on them (even the n/as) are awesome, I am even thinking of a n/a 34 and just turbo it once i'm off Ps. They are quite a bit of money though.

AE86 is way too over priced and there getting quiet old

I would go for a clean SR20DE S13 5 speed.. You would get good milage and also be reliable. You can still make it look good at least, tuff wheels etc

I can think of 1 for sale at the moment, pretty mint condition inside and out, black in colour and its under 5k.. just needs rego and RW as its a fresh import but has been complianced

I also think a 96 model and up Honda Civic would be good, get the VTECH version and do little upgrades like induction, exhaust etc

They are still fun little cars to drive

Go for a newer car so you will at least get some resale value on it when you upgrade in a few years time, you also want something that you won't be repairing/spending money on every weekend so try and find someone reliable

http://www.carpoint.com.au/used-car/DATSUN....aspx?State=VIC

thats hot!

Its going to be hard to drive a different car to a skyline though :down: the interior and handling on them (even the n/as) are awesome, I am even thinking of a n/a 34 and just turbo it once i'm off Ps. They are quite a bit of money though.

I reckon that's ugly. 240Z's and 260Z's look heaps better.

I don't know about you but I hate driving a heap around. I definitely couldn't do it for 3 years on P's. At least get something that's a bit unique.