Hey everyone

I just got my hands on an R33.

Had an RAA check and everything was fine before I bought it, the car is generally in great condition.

Then when I started driving it now, the speedometer sticks to 0 and doesnt move when im accelerating.

When i accelerate, the car obviously goes fine, but the speedometer sticks and doesnt move, sometimes it will be stuck on 0, when im clearly doing like 50 or 60. Its obviously dangerous to not be able to see what speed u are going. Sometimes it will head back up again and behave normally, sometimes it wont.

Any help in fixing this problem?

I guess im gonna have to take it to an auto electrician either way

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/221712-speedometer-sticks/

hey same thing happend with a friends car before and the problem was the hose thingo was blocked and he just gave it some hard acceleration and it was all good again

Hey man.

Yeh ive noticed if i slam my foot down most the time it comes out of it.

So you dont reckon I should bother getting it looked at? i got a mate whose auto electrician neway

Hey man.

Yeh ive noticed if i slam my foot down most the time it comes out of it.

So you dont reckon I should bother getting it looked at? i got a mate whose auto electrician neway

give it a good boost down a deserted road in first gear, getting the revs to about 6 grand, happened with my R31, did that a few times and it fixed the problem :] hope it does for you

similar thing happened to my 33 and i wouldn't suggest boosting it heaps hard to fix it. asked ages ago how much to fix at sinergy and they told me bout $180 so i left it. does the problem get fixed if you tap the dash above the speedo? that also usually fixed the problem for my car aswell but kinda got sick of doing it after a while. got a power fc last year so i've been using the speedo off the hand controller from that to tell exactly how fast i'm going instead now though, haven't really noticed it happening too much anymore. you got a few options where you could get your stock one fixed, look into upgrading it to a nismo item (320kmph speedo) or get a digital speedo you can put somewhere near your steering wheel. mate got one with his 34 which is kinda handy and i'm pretty sure you can buy those kind of things from somewhere pretty cheap and then your auto electrician friend can install it for you!

i am thinking of getting a digital speed display thingy for my car....just to be accurate

I run my Satnav to get an accurate speed reading, even tho nothing is wrong with my speedo. :D My speedo is only 1-2kph over according to my Satnav.

BTW I have a window that won't wind up properly. If I boost it and speed down a neighbourhood street, will that fix it? :laughing-smiley-014:

I have one you can buy doesnt have the harness though but thats $20 from nengun its a greddy auto timer does lap times 0-100 and all that it monitors speed and has a warning indicator if you go over a preset speed

i am thinking of getting a digital speed display thingy for my car....just to be accurate
I run my Satnav to get an accurate speed reading, even tho nothing is wrong with my speedo. :thumbsup: My speedo is only 1-2kph over according to my Satnav.

BTW I have a window that won't wind up properly. If I boost it and speed down a neighbourhood street, will that fix it? :laughing-smiley-014:

Quite possibly :D

:blush:

I have one you can buy doesnt have the harness though but thats $20 from nengun its a greddy auto timer does lap times 0-100 and all that it monitors speed and has a warning indicator if you go over a preset speed

Come to think of it yes i do have a Greddy Full auto turbo timer....why didnt i think of that before...thanks for reminding me steve

• 1 year later...

Sorry to revive such an old thread but I am having a similar problem with my car where my speedo sticks and not only that it jumps up and then back down again sometimes. Did you end up fixing that problem without a digital speedo or cluster replacement etc.?

I would be driving along doing obviously about 60kmph and the speedo would stay at zero and sometimes never come up for a good whole trip (15mins) and then sometimes it would pop up to working then pop back down to zero again. It's very temperamental.