hate that shit! on the first cruise i only met a few guys! but most people were like look at me and i look back and they turn and go a different direction! what's wrong? do i really look that dodgey?

anyway Pete! as for you, you're big and was wearing a harley davison tshirt and rocked up in a mint chopper just spelt bikie to me! not insulting you in anyway but it was just my ignorant judgement but it still didn't stop me from saying gday

No harm done Son.....it's all good :domokun:

That's sad, going to a meet where every one stands around and nobody actually meets.

Sadly I think it's a side effect of the playstation generation, when I was young we all played in the streets or parks and knew every kid in the estate. It was a very social upbringing, with the generations coming through today a lot of them don't have the social skills.. reason being social skill are learnt through social interaction and become natural/comfortable over time. You don't get it free in the ps3 bundle, p.c or sitting alone in a room chatting online. As you've seen first hand, throw them in a social situation and they'll all just mill around until something happens....which seldom does.

We've bred a generation of malformed/unadjusted nublets.

Offer you're hand to shake and they'll take it as some sort of adversarial test.

Don't get me wrong there are a lot of good-social younger people, they seem to be the ones who's parent/s actually had a go at parenting instead of leaving it up to the TV/ps3.

Very good & insightfull post. :O

• Replies 62

the only crook is you robbing yourself of a social life :domokun: shoot em all sled and let god sort em out :O

next sau group activity, communications course :O

im full of good advice it just comes with a warning to not be taken seriously

I talk to pretty much anyone at the meets - hey i wouldnt have made so many friends off of here if i didnt just start talking randomly to people. I tend to just go up and ask who they are, what their username is. I did see your car last night, first time iver ever seen it, I had no idea who you were, otherwise i wouldve said hi!

Come say hi next time, i wont bite or ignore ya :)

I saw ya there but at the time I was talking to a dude from Unley Nissan about his GTR and then you were deep in convo. Then the cruise started heh.

I think dans hit the nail on the head, bbq and the footy might be the go, I can't play football for shite but I can apply flame to meat with the skill of a samurai.

-D

hotwire is that the titanic breaking the ice and then going down :)

yeah if there's enough interest we could plan something. somewhere with soccer (football depending on your nationality) basketball or skating (id prefer the last 2 :) but im easy) or whatever people wanna play maybe could hold a vote.

Edited by Inline 6

yeah if there's enough interest we could plan something. somewhere with soccer (football depending on your nationality) basketball or skating (id prefer the last 2 :) but im easy) or whatever people wanna play maybe could hold a vote.

Hrm... do u know of any reserves in the hills that'd suit? somewhere with enuff parking?

I vote we play mugby. haha...

-d

yeah i understand where ur coming from. i try to meet at least 2 new people every time and have a decent convo. yeh damo bring out the name tags again. im sure over time everyone well get to know each other. i think there are alot of new members as of late makes it tricky.

(***edit**) usually day or night events that dont involve much driving and more... interaction help. like the sau dinner recently was pretty chilled. i recon paintball :) nothing like shooting each other then having a laugh and a chin wag after. also go carting would be sweet.

sounds like an outdoor lan :) with human interaction

this thread cracked me up, i thought the same thing when i first rocked up to a cruise, but then steve and cubes started chatting to me, and it was all good.... I'm a proud member of the playstation generation, but i find in situations like that i always try n go by myself... can be a bit unnerving but ur more likely to meet ppl cos u dont have a mate as a security blanket :P

when i next get off my lazy ass to come to a cruise/meet i'll be saying hi to everyone :D

I tend to be a bit shy on cruises and don't go out of my way to talk to people, I usually go with a mate so I don't have to :P

Having said that I'm always down for a good chinwag and if someone was to come up and say g'day they always get a friendly g'day and a handshake in return :)

One day I might register my skyline and attend a cruise :D

hey dohmar sorry i didn't chat was kinda preoccupied as per the pm i sent you!

that was the 2nd meet i have been to and so far you are the only person that has spoken to me so thanks alot for that :woot: hope to chat more next time!

i agree with andrew as well, i'm shy as and thats y i always take a friend too hehe

this thread cracked me up, i thought the same thing when i first rocked up to a cruise, but then steve and cubes started chatting to me, and it was all good.... I'm a proud member of the playstation generation, but i find in situations like that i always try n go by myself... can be a bit unnerving but ur more likely to meet ppl cos u dont have a mate as a security blanket :woot:

when i next get off my lazy ass to come to a cruise/meet i'll be saying hi to everyone :D

Yeah I reckon you're due to come out fella

Damn straight Pete, I'm keen to get out soon... i enjoy the social stuff moar than the cruising :P last time i went out for a bit of a cruise with a few guys from here I got pulled over (and yes i deserved it :) )