Sau Trackday Wrap Up Thread

Sheng

Awesome day, as usual. Had some brake problems by the last session (i had none) and i got a broken windscreen but it was all worth it.

Did anyone catch my epic fail and recover on turn 1 on video, i want it sooooo bad, couldnt have done better if i tried

Thanks to all who organised, it was a very smoothly run event, now hurry up and do another one

• Replies 221

A big thanks to everyone involved in organising it. The day went extremely smoothly and just goes to show how well organised SAU is.

I was extremely thrilled with the way the SS went.. My best of a 1:15.1 hand timed still puts a smile on face :)

Can't wait for the next one... :ermm:

Wayne - wtf no mention of me helping you...well...giving you wrong advice? lol

Glad to hear you guys loved it out there :ermm:

Clappa - yeah I was very impressed with you and your car mate, hats off to ya!

Hey peoples, had a great day thanks to everyone for organising the day, and Adam for organising the great weather ( it could have been a lot worse ).

Big thanks to Neil and Duncan ( Duncan even if you giggled for half the track hahaha ) for the advice i ended up with a 1.11.76 in the last sesion with two 1.12's also, i am very happy with that. :blush:

Good to meet you Chris we will have to team up against the hi po track cars at super lap :ph34r:

Ryan

Ryan,

was great meeting you too mate, and your car sounds HOT!!!

And congrats on the 1.11!!

2 sec's quicker than me !! I wish I had brakes, (could have helped me get in the 12's!) arent they meant to be slotted? lol

hahah yeah bring on superlap!!

post-24539-1214097407_thumb.jpg

Wayne - wtf no mention of me helping you...well...giving you wrong advice? lol

Glad to hear you guys loved it out there :blush:

Clappa - yeah I was very impressed with you and your car mate, hats off to ya!

OMG!! Sorry Chubbs, how could i forget to say thanks. You certainly helped confirm my game plan out there in the first session for the day and calm my nerves down about having my baby out there on the track for the first time too. It was great to have an experienced mate next to me first time out.

Phanks mate!!

PS. Posting last night at 10:00pm after leaving at 4:30am that morning, racing all day and then driving home, i was more than a little fried in the head bud. Sorry Chubby, you know i luv ya mate!!!!

so what's the quickest lap time of the day in a skyline?

Some old fella timed one lap of the white R33 with no wing, sorry to the owner dont know who it is. Licence plate starts with BBR

He pulled a 1:09 on that lap. And pretty much from watching his car in group four while it was still out there in the morning, must have been the quickest car and probably bettered that 1:09 at some stage.

The Fairlady pulled a 1:06.65 WOW

Thanks to all the organisers. Choice day aye!

Thanks to ABoBob for driving tips especially. Made the day so much more fun to have some knowledge to work on. Choice :blush:

Had a freaken ball out there.

Car definitely needs more straight line power....

Big thanks to the organisers for a super smooth day.

All the comments about the car were much appreciated, even with windows up and helmet on my ears were ringing at the end of the day.

If anyone has any video of my car (green soarer) i would love to see it as I have NFI how it sounds from the outside.

Looking forward to the next one.

All the comments about the car were much appreciated, even with windows up and helmet on my ears were ringing at the end of the day.

If anyone has any video of my car (green soarer) i would love to see it as I have NFI how it sounds from the outside.

Dont worry it sounded horn lol, deep v8 growl down the straight.

Here's a vid of one of the last runs I did, with one of Gregs (vspec) mates as passenger: http://www.mediafire.com/?dm3ylw9itlt (Warning 46MB)

Its definitely not a clean lap and it's about 1:12.7

When I find the other tapes I'll post some more!

So pissed off that I forgot to press "record" before the first session when I was chasing Chubbs :blush:

think i might have a vid of you tearing down the straight. when i first heard your car i was like wah? :blush:

Jon, wow good stuff!!

cause we had a good battle at one stage too, but then i had to rest those fubard brakes!!!

next time, its ooonnn!!!

my 1.13 was very messy, I locked up in last turn!! haha

Yer deff a worthwhile day :ph34r:

1st time out at a track, and it was hella good :D!

Thanks to Sam for giving me some pointers, reckon I cut my last time down on the last session after running with you, also caused me to loose it and go into the grass just after the main straight :blush:

ANy pics/vidz of a siver 32 gtr in group one??

hey all,

Yep just want to say a big 'Thank You' to all of the organisers for the day...it was a top day even if it was cold!!!

It was my first time on a track and I learnt heaps and heaps and didn't even scratch the car...didn't even find the mud so maybe I wasn't trying hard enough :blush: Anyway only timed a couple of laps and got a 1:17....

btw did anyone pickup on my quiet screamer pipe?? (black GTST with silver AVS wheels in group 2)

a big thanks to everyone who organised and volunteered out for the day.

thanks to anna for organising the accommodation.

had an awesome time. this was my first track day. got hand timed at 1.45 for my first session pretty shit. then chubbs came in the car showed me a few better lines and think was the third session got a 1.21. didn't get timed the last sessions but reckon was down around the 1.18-1.20 by the end of the day.

was running street tyres. next track day will def get a set of rims and semi's