The person receiving the call on 000 would have no idea whether or not a unit would be attending as they just receive the information which then gets forwarded to a dispatcher who dispatches the job to the unit whose area the job is in. Trouble with jobs like these on freeways etc is they start off in one police area and might go through 5-6 other area which are sometimes crossing over regions and different radio area's with different dispatchers.

The 000 call takers and dispatchers are NOT police and work for a private company so have no training in relation to police proceedures.

Unless major incident police units stick to their own area's. Where I work we have roads which boarder another Region which means one side of the road is my area and other side of road isn't and both sides of the road are on totally different radio channels. So I could be 50m away from armed robbery etc and don't even get informed of it.

I can tell you that every job on freeway is priority one from piece of wood on road to 10 car fatal collision and as such we obviously attend to them promptly when units available.

Drink/Drugged driver's is a hate of every police and we treat jobs like these very seriously. I have travelled numerous times lights and sirens over large distances to track down vehicles from jobs like these.

There are major issues with the way the system works and I hope that I am starting to enlighten a few of you to the realities we deal with everyday and not just police are lazy and only NOU import drivers.

• Replies 51

The person receiving the call on 000 would have no idea whether or not a unit would be attending as they just receive the information which then gets forwarded to a dispatcher who dispatches the job to the unit whose area the job is in. Trouble with jobs like these on freeways etc is they start off in one police area and might go through 5-6 other area which are sometimes crossing over regions and different radio area's with different dispatchers.

The 000 call takers and dispatchers are NOT police and work for a private company so have no training in relation to police proceedures.

Unless major incident police units stick to their own area's. Where I work we have roads which boarder another Region which means one side of the road is my area and other side of road isn't and both sides of the road are on totally different radio channels. So I could be 50m away from armed robbery etc and don't even get informed of it.

I can tell you that every job on freeway is priority one from piece of wood on road to 10 car fatal collision and as such we obviously attend to them promptly when units available.

Drink/Drugged driver's is a hate of every police and we treat jobs like these very seriously. I have travelled numerous times lights and sirens over large distances to track down vehicles from jobs like these.

There are major issues with the way the system works and I hope that I am starting to enlighten a few of you to the realities we deal with everyday and not just police are lazy and only NOU import drivers.

(EDIT - sorry misread what you said... i blame the late night and congested head)

last time i called was for something similar, they put me through to the closest police station and the cop on the other end told me not to bother as they wouldnt be able to get anyone out there to pick them up... so i went home and left them to cause whatever havoc they did.

i see it all the time thanks to starting late nights some times and coming home at early hours of the morning... i dont bother trying to call the cops anymore cause its a waste of time.

^^^ Respect.

Good answer mate, fair enough if they called 000 then. OP doesn't actually stated wether or not he called a particular station so he probably did call 000. As I said, I'm not having a go at the police, I haven't actually had a bad experience with them yet and the car is fairly modified but I can understand why the OP would be ticked off with them after going to that effort. I myself was not such a good samaritan, after nearly being wiped out the other night. After looking to see who it was with the intention of correcting them, I hurled some verbal abuse at the woman and drove off, far away from her! Near death situations will do that unfortunately.

so the moral of the story is, either do nothing and let them kill someone, or stop them, hold them (which will most likly involve bashing them a bit) wait 2 hours for the cops to get there, THEN get charge with assult for trying to stop people from getting killed.

hey also, i bet if i was doing 200km/h in my skyline along there the cops would be all over me like a rash. is a sober, in control driver doing 200 more dangerous then a off the planet driver doing 90-100? (don't worrie i dont drive like that, im just making a point)

the lady on the end of 000 only took the details.... we were talking to a police officer for a majority of the time.... as for treating a piece of wood just as important...... why did the cop say "we get this all the time and just cant get out there".....

can you take a step back and see it from the publics point of view... especially when you say there are no major issues....

i see more signs, TV Adds, NEWs reports.... etc relating to hoons etc.... my father was killed by a drink driver... if i had rang the police and rang about a drunk driver explaining i was scared for someones life(which i did and abviously others have)...... nothing would of happened.... almost gauranteed..... if i had said that they were being a hoon just did a burnout .. you would of done something about it strait away... for the ability to put it on TV and feel good....

im sorry but your a bit one eyed.... i see the good stuff and the shocking stuff the police do..... you dont seem to see nothing but what they should do.....

i wonder if they even followed up the number plate.... doubt that very much aswell....

cops...... pfffffff.... socialites with authority more like it.

Edited by Redback

I once reported an incident like this on the South Gippsland Freeway - a truck swerving all over the road. We rang the 00 and spoke to the local police and thought nothing would be done. A minute after turning onto the Monash we see red & blue lights and the truck pulled over.

The sytem works (sometimes)...

agreed.. system works sometimes, which means more times than none, its not worth risking your own life to do what other people risk there lives for and get payed to do so..

if that junky broad minded female did hit a car and it was a relative of mine, and it was a death (touch wood), i would of killed her and the rest of her no good family, shot her kids and mother...

have you guys ever herd of people saying, "were are the police when you need them"

lol i have herd and said it numerous times, its just one of those things..

next time, report the number plates, say she was doing a 3 lane drift session with other cars and watch the response you will get lol..

The other week I came home at 1030pm to find a pitbull going psycho and jumping at the gate on my property (which my dogs are behind) and a bunch of aggressive Mauri's on my driveway doing god knows what.. short story is we didn't even bother calling Epping cops, even though the Mauris were threatening to throw their 'dog over the fence and rip my dogs apart' and trying to make my other half get out of the car to fight them (him vs 5 Mauris? wow what tough guys they are), my daughter screaming in the back of the car.. but why bother? Last time I went to Epping cops to tell them about someone pulling a gun on me they basically laughed at us, like what we were telling them wasn't serious, it must have been one of our friends playing a joke (wtf??) and they wouldn't even take a report down (thats the short story too). I was afraid of coming home or driving up my street alone in my car for months after that.

Do you think any of the neighbours came outside to see what was happening? Not like they wouldn't have heard my loud car running and the dog going nuts and ppl yelling.. So I guess we have no choice but to just put up a really high fence & locked gate between us and the rest of the world, so I can leave the house with some peace of mind.

Meanwhile we saw a Husky running in front of cars today and stopped to grab it and brought it here til the Ranger could pick it up. I wonder how many cars had driven past? Or the tradie that was working right there where the dog was running around, he didn't bother to help. We've grabbed heaps of dogs off the road. One time we picked up a dog, and then found out later that its mate had also got out (we didn't see it tho) and it had been hit by a car... so I think it makes a difference. Just because some owners don't care and let their dogs escape constantly, doesn't mean the dogs should suffer for it. I went to the Vet to get a microchip scan and there was a tiny puppy that was found on the street too.

half the reason why society is so crap is because ppl just dont care anymore and just keep driving, keep walking or just pretend they didn't see anything. I don't want to be one of those ppl that's given up caring though.

I'm always shocked when I meet ppl in this area who are actually nice, caring and decent ppl.. few and far between.

Anyway I think you did the right thing Rick, good on you for being a decent person who looks out for others.

Anyone trying to promote an uncaring/ignore it attitude is selfish & 'unAustralian' as far as I'm concerned.

cupple of things.

1. its pretty un australian to dob people in, sure I know drunk people on the road is pretty much unnaceptable but reporting the plates and keeping out of it is realistically as far as I would go.. if that. I mean think of it this way, your going up a side street and an aged pensioner gets an earfull of your blow off valve, your not hooning, but they report you and you get pinched.. shitty way to enforce the law imo but its getting like that more and more, do you realy want to contribute to us turning into that kind of society?

2. vic coppers only want to fine you or find somthing to arrest you for, and there is sweet fa presence unless they are pinching you for some minor offence all in the name of the road toll.

meanwhile ice junkies do what the want when they want without much of a worry about getting nailed by the jacks.

Vic police are a joke

thats so true this arab or old afgan down my street was like waveing to me stop stop i thought was some one i knew turned backa nd he said 50 mate i was like wtf i was going 50 idiot and i drove off , just becaue i have load exhaust and turbo i was speeding f*k wits hate that,

The other week I came home at 1030pm to find a pitbull going psycho and jumping at the gate on my property (which my dogs are behind) and a bunch of aggressive Mauri's on my driveway doing god knows what.. short story is we didn't even bother calling Epping cops, even though the Mauris were threatening to throw their 'dog over the fence and rip my dogs apart' and trying to make my other half get out of the car to fight them (him vs 5 Mauris? wow what tough guys they are), my daughter screaming in the back of the car.. but why bother? Last time I went to Epping cops to tell them about someone pulling a gun on me they basically laughed at us, like what we were telling them wasn't serious, it must have been one of our friends playing a joke (wtf??) and they wouldn't even take a report down (thats the short story too). I was afraid of coming home or driving up my street alone in my car for months after that.

Do you think any of the neighbours came outside to see what was happening? Not like they wouldn't have heard my loud car running and the dog going nuts and ppl yelling.. So I guess we have no choice but to just put up a really high fence & locked gate between us and the rest of the world, so I can leave the house with some peace of mind.

Meanwhile we saw a Husky running in front of cars today and stopped to grab it and brought it here til the Ranger could pick it up. I wonder how many cars had driven past? Or the tradie that was working right there where the dog was running around, he didn't bother to help. We've grabbed heaps of dogs off the road. One time we picked up a dog, and then found out later that its mate had also got out (we didn't see it tho) and it had been hit by a car... so I think it makes a difference. Just because some owners don't care and let their dogs escape constantly, doesn't mean the dogs should suffer for it. I went to the Vet to get a microchip scan and there was a tiny puppy that was found on the street too.

half the reason why society is so crap is because ppl just dont care anymore and just keep driving, keep walking or just pretend they didn't see anything. I don't want to be one of those ppl that's given up caring though.

I'm always shocked when I meet ppl in this area who are actually nice, caring and decent ppl.. few and far between.

Anyway I think you did the right thing Rick, good on you for being a decent person who looks out for others.

Anyone trying to promote an uncaring/ignore it attitude is selfish & 'unAustralian' as far as I'm concerned.

what area was this? epping?

sad to hear about it, you sound like a good person...

my fiance and i have caught a couple of dogs and taken them into the rspca/vet... soo many people dont bother anymore :):D

sad thing about this world is that the only way for the police to take there head out of there ass and listen to us is only if they can earn some brownie points, revenue or someones already dead......

seriously f**ked up as far as im concerned. as for stoping for dogs... we found a husky one day..... we picked it up and it had a lead on it..... drove up the road a bit with it in the back of the car and noticed someone had fallen of there bike..... this was a major road... not one person had stopped..... the women was badly grazed but could move.... chucked her bike in back of van with dog.... leant my phone to her so she could ring here partner.. droped her home.... she had been lying there for nearly 20mins.....

same as this man with crutches at aldi having trouble getting his trolly out... so what do people do.... they make him move out of the way while they push infront... i walked up to this kid (18-20yo) took his trolly off him and his missus (they had just more or less shoved this guy aside)... gave them there 2 bucks and handed the guy with the crutchs there trolly.... all he could say to me was... "what you doing fvckhead?".... still winged even after getting his money.....

i cant even get over the lack of random "hello or Hi's" you get while walking some of the busiest streets in melbourne....

for those people who turn a blind eye..... next time you car breaks down... you loose you dog.... stand out side and take notice of how un australian this place is really getting..... especially when to make your day worse you get mugged or something and left on the ground while people walk past and cheer.....

Edited by Redback

I got mugged outside Frankston train station once. It was plainly obvious what was happening, and no one helped. The two guys took my iPod, so I still had my phone to call the Police. They rocked up probably 10min later, one guy in a cop car. I jumped in, we drove around the corner and spotted the guys who mugged me.

He made a call on the radio I swear within 2 minutes there were 20 other officers there (the police station is pretty close to the train station). The cops were pretty good about it from then onwards, but I was a little shocked at the difference in time it took to help a citizen vs. another copper. I understand they want to protect there own, but I was two blocks away and it took them 10min to reach me.

I guess they assumed by the time they arrived the muggers would be long gone, not around the corner sitting on the curb.