• Replies 118

he is around the $250/hr mark but when you win you will be able to go for cost's

Matthew Mitchell soliciters on Prospect Road have helped me a couple times when I was younger ;P

They didnt charge me that much either. Good guys

-D

im just throwing this out there but i would of thought that its the manufacturer that decides how large they want there wheels to be not some ADR thats why there's a tyre placard

i too did, but apparently not. all parts obviously need to be engineered, but even so i think there are certain guidelines they must stick within, regardless of whether it has been engineered or not. well in SA at least, over here it doesnt mean shit if things are engineered.

Its interesting when u consider age and asking Price. You can get a "mint" 88 / 89 r31 for around about $2k, however, if you add on 2 years and get a "mint" r32 1990 w/e you'll be looking at $7k+ Correct me if im wrong :P

Honestly though, when you consider what most of us import drivers have under the bonnet, its somewhat more lethal then allot of the wrecks you see driving around. The old wrecks cant accelerate to 100km p/h in a few seconds, where as we can, and in those few seconds, make a fatal mistake. The road is for driving, keep the nonsense to the track and ur neighbors front lawn.

Its interesting when u consider age and asking Price. You can get a "mint" 88 / 89 r31 for around about $2k, however, if you add on 2 years and get a "mint" r32 1990 w/e you'll be looking at $7k+ Correct me if im wrong :P

not to mention the whole brand new model and supreme just about everything. just because a car was sold a year before doesnt mean it is only a year older technology wise.

The old wrecks cant accelerate to 100km p/h in a few seconds, where as we can, and in those few seconds, make a fatal mistake. The road is for driving, keep the nonsense to the track and ur neighbors front lawn.

no, it takes them another few seconds, whats a few seconds in acceleration compared to shitty brakes, suspension and generally not suited to higher speeds?

Hey Dohmar, looks like uv done this before.

Yea my car was parked on my lawn. I was thinking that he couldnt defect a vehicle that is parked on my property, are you absuloutely certain of this? I am def considering contesting it now. cheers for your suggestions.

this is bullshit, you were well within your rights to tell the officer to get off your property, there not aloud to touch a vehicle on private proprty like that unless there is a warrent or it is a place of business if i remember correctly.....

get a decent lawyer and fight it out then go for damages, cause that cop knows he was in the wrong and if you come correct in a court of law you will be sweet

Many years ago, I was at a party with some mates and a friend informed us all that there was a cop out the front looking over my mates SLR5000. The SLR was parked in the driveway, locked up and secured. The cop asked who owned the car. My mate Cameron came forward as the owner and opened the car on demand (the cop believed there to be a 'firearm' inside the car). The cop went thru the car and ended up defecting it. This SLR was absolutely stock ... totally stock. Got him (after many failed attempts) for something stupid as a 'possible' fray in the seat belt (all the belts where less than 12 months old from a recent restoration).

My mate went to the local cop shop the next day and had the defect lifted without fee or inspection. The cop had NO RIGHT to defect a stationary vehicle on private property at their own private address.

I had a similar situation last year. Parked my bike at a mate's workshop. Went across the street to get food. Cop comes inside asking who the owner of the bike was. I said it was me, why? They wanted to see me about something about the bike. I told them nice try, but maybe later, go find some crooks. They huffed and puffed a bit, but left it. I followed it up with reporting them (got the police rego number at least) thru the relevant channels. Don't know if anything became of it, but at least they didn't get to taint my ride. :P

Many years ago, I was at a party with some mates and a friend informed us all that there was a cop out the front looking over my mates SLR5000. The SLR was parked in the driveway, locked up and secured. The cop asked who owned the car. My mate Cameron came forward as the owner and opened the car on demand (the cop believed there to be a 'firearm' inside the car). The cop went thru the car and ended up defecting it. This SLR was absolutely stock ... totally stock. Got him (after many failed attempts) for something stupid as a 'possible' fray in the seat belt (all the belts where less than 12 months old from a recent restoration).

My mate went to the local cop shop the next day and had the defect lifted without fee or inspection. The cop had NO RIGHT to defect a stationary vehicle on private property at their own private address.

I had a similar situation last year. Parked my bike at a mate's workshop. Went across the street to get food. Cop comes inside asking who the owner of the bike was. I said it was me, why? They wanted to see me about something about the bike. I told them nice try, but maybe later, go find some crooks. They huffed and puffed a bit, but left it. I followed it up with reporting them (got the police rego number at least) thru the relevant channels. Don't know if anything became of it, but at least they didn't get to taint my ride. :P

im pretty sure they can do you if its at a "workshop", they raided a friend of mines shop and couldnt do shit cause not one car in there was registered or had been for quite some time lol

but if its unregistered, how can they prove it is being driven? it might have been at the workshop, ran out of rego, then left there

Or towed on a flatbed trailer for that matter...

Private property is private property. If your vehicle or anything else for that matter, is within the boundary of the property as defined by the council and their surveyors, you're well within your rights to deny entry and co-operation. If they want to get a search warrant, they can try, but you generally need a good reason to get one...

-D

If the vehicle is registered, it must comply - it doesn't matter if it's in pieces, they can defect it so the car has to be inspected before going back on the road.

If the car was in a driveway - but not at the owner's address, then an officer can reasonably assume it is going to be driven.

The biggest problem with the entire system is that only reasonable suspicion is required for a defect.

The onus is on the vehicle owner to prove compliance, rather than the authority to prove non-compliance.

This of course leaves the system open to both interpretation, and abuse.

If the vehicle is registered, it must comply - it doesn't matter if it's in pieces, they can defect it so the car has to be inspected before going back on the road.

If the car was in a driveway - but not at the owner's address, then an officer can reasonably assume it is going to be driven.

The biggest problem with the entire system is that only reasonable suspicion is required for a defect.

The onus is on the vehicle owner to prove compliance, rather than the authority to prove non-compliance.

This of course leaves the system open to both interpretation, and abuse.

^^^ Couldn't have put that better myself :)

a mate was driving his car like a hoon up my street, the cops came and took care of it, but kept going up and down before they pulled up the front of my house. they got out and one of the coppers(who i know pretty well) told me he seen my 4wd driving through scrub land around town, i said no it wasn't me and have a good look at the 4bie. the 4wd had no windows no tray no doors.no bonnet and no interior. he turned aorund and said well i seen those tyre marks everywhere, and i laughed and said now scotty go back to the office mate cause this car hasn't moved in 3 months. he said he was going to have to investigate, i laughed. sorry to highjack a bit but it was funny as.