Buying a skyline is not all fun and games. altho 99% of it is.

The 1% your gonna have include:

+ Rego

+ Insurance

+ Security

+ Police

+ Petrol

+ Some wanker will try to steal it/key it. etc.

+ Maintenance

Its pretty expensive all up, but definitely worth it if you love skylines.

If your buying one just to show off, you're end up selling it 2 months cuz you cbf anymore.

• Replies 56

Yeah, no one wants em!

If I were you, Id go an R31.

+1 to this

A performance car was and never will be intended to be cheap to own. Seeing as your still in school I would be safe to assume you don't have a full time job, if a job at all? I'd be getting a cheap EFI car, preferably Toyota, and drive that around untill you get your full licence and/or it breaks and leaves you without a car. A R31 falls into this catagory.

Here is a rough estimate on what it will cost you in the first year.

$5000 - Initial outlay of cash for Skyline, varies for age, condition, body type, transmission and turbo or lack there of.

$150 - Stamp duty on said Skyline. Its (I think) 3% of the purchace price of the car

$3000/year - Full Comprehensive Insurance. Why full comp? Because if you crash your car you won't be able to replace it straight away. And yes, it could possibly cost you $3000 for the year. You could skimp and get 3rd party, but don't go thinking you don't need insurance at all. Can you afford fixing the damage on someone else's car as well as your own? I can't

$600/year - Tyres. Depending on how you drive you will go through a set of tyres every 12 months. You will put decent tyres on your car. If you can't afford it by a cheaper car.

$60/week = $3120/year - Fuel. This varies on how you drive and how far you drive. I drive fairly conservativly and around 400kms a week so this is what I aim for in my budgeting.

$90/quarter = $360/year - General maintanace, ie, filters and oil. A performance car will require an oil change more often than an average car. It is also recommended you use a higher quality oil. This price is assuming you do it yourself.

$2000/year - Unforseen things. Cars break. Sometimes you can prevent it, sometimes it just sneaks up on you. The cost of this is really unknown, but I'd allow a minimum of $2k to save you from trouble.

That brings to a cost of $14230 from the day you buy it to the same day the following year. This doesn't include speeding fines, defects to clear, insurance excesses, time taken away from you because of your car and I guarantee I forgot something. I certainly didn't take into account money spent hanging out with mates, existing hobbies and various non car costs you may have.

I left school after year 12, became an apprentice electrician and I saved up for 3 and a half years before I got enough money to fund my Skyline with enough money on the side in case all hell broke loose and I needed it. It then took me another 3 months of umming and aahhhing to actually go looking for one. Eventually I bought one and I'm glad I did. But I made sure it wouldn't send me broke.

In the end, the final desision is yours. I really do hope you can fund an R32 while your still at school. I could only fund a R31 Wagon while I was at school but that was enough for me. I tell you now though, you will want to have one hell of a part time job to fund it otherwise your going to have to sell your car just to get by, and you rarely recoup costs on a car.

Hey,

thanks for all your help guys yeah i have a part time job i bring in about $100 a week oo yeeaah :P , i already have a daily driver a 98 civic...it should be ok to start with but i love the skylines. o btw im 15 lol...letting you guys know

I Rekon it wud be mad having a GTR, even tho rollling up on my first day of year 12 in An R32 Would be just as good to see the other kids looking at me continuesly LOL tht wud be Good
Hey,

thanks for all your help guys yeah i have a part time job i bring in about $100 a week oo yeeaah :P , i already have a daily driver a 98 civic...it should be ok to start with but i love the skylines. o btw im 15 lol...letting you guys know

I'm a little confused... to save myself from calling you a lair I'm going to assume you are in year 10, about to turn 16, get your Ls and are aiming to buy a Skyline by the time you get your Ps?

I have to say I like the way you have set yourself a goal :D (if my assumptions are correct, if not I wish you a world of pain rofl)

Earn as much as you can, spend as little as possible (while still spending enough to have fun lol) and you might just be able to swing a cheap R32 by the time you get to year 12. Be warned though, you will be buying a then 20 year old car at least. Might be a little more expensive to maintain as well as hard to find one in good condition to begin with.

Hey,

Yehp L's Coming Up And Yeah Apreciate You Not Calling Me A Lier Your Ausumptions Were Corect Yes, Maybe The 32 isent the Way to Go 33 Perhaps Might Be Able To Snap A Cheap One By The Time In Year 12, The 98 civic Isent Mine It's My Dad's spare/Emergency Car which i Will Get Either Way...LOL

haha ask anyone with a "loved" r32 .. Your going to need more money than the cost of the car, btw they are going up in price as you cant import all of them any more.

Buy a r34 auto non turbo 4 door .. $10,000 thats 3g more than a turbo r32.. enjoy the worry free drive and dont crash (which you will prob do, touch wood but id say youd have a knock or two)

Owned my 32 now for over a year and a half. Did a fuel pump the first month and then no dramas since (touch wood) :P

$60/week = $3120/year - Fuel. This varies on how you drive and how far you drive. I drive fairly conservativly and around 400kms a week so this is what I aim for in my budgeting.

$60 and 400kms?

It's cost me $80+ to do 400kms a week since fuels been over $1.50

Edited by Yidz
hey guys,

sorry i have been an stupid kid again lol dont worry bout this topic any more...lol

anyways as some of you might know i travel to japan a lot, and i have very good acsess to parts from nismo veilside etc etc and shipping is not a problem thanks to my dads sake company who's head company is in Osaka he ships supplies etc etc here and the crates are lless then half full so if anyone needs some lil parts from nismo...etc oil, turbo's etc etc little things you know i can bring it back later this year just PM me and let me know if you need some small things from japan LOL

Sorry hijaked this topic should i start a new one?

Bro, I will definately be using you in future for all my Japanese Performance Parts requirements.

kekekegay.gif

hmm justin, i dont think 100 bucks a week will be enough to maintain a skyline.

you should get to know how cars, specifically skylines, work before you buy one. it will save you a load of money.

fuel and insurance are your main problems.

as for your dad shipments to and from japan, i think i have a business idea for him ! :P

Blitz...so i hear you need some parts shipped from Japan....i may be able to help you.....

hahah

alright im gonna be a prick.. sorry Juz but has to be said.

$100 a week isnt enough to run an R32 or 33. u will not be able to afford it unless ur oldies help u out big time.

You have 3yrs untill you get ur P's thats a max of 15grand if you spend no money what so ever and save all of it. that will buy you a real nice R33 and prolly put rims, exhaust and a system in it.

by the time u get your P's petrol will probably be round $2.50 if not $3 so pretty much, there goes your pay check.

Add the fact of insurance which will be 2grand for 3rd party fire and theft and service fee of $200 every 5000 or 10,000kms (bout once or twice a year).

Maintaining the car is really a flip of the coin. You may not have to spend too much to keep it clean and what not, but then you may have to spend alot. Im lucky enough to not need to spend anything (so far, touches wood). but i have had damage to my car and have fixed it myself. People can be pricks who will damage it.

This is a possibility. Being young and a gregs boy, you're going to show off a fair bit in it. That will mean new tyres every few months, not once a year. The other side of that coin is repairing the damage if/when you crash or the excess. Or even having your car confiscated by the Popos, paying the fines and all that.

My last point ill raise will be the police. They are going to be a prick to you. They are to me. the last car i drove i was never pulled over. I buy the skyline and every cop that is behind me pulls me over just about and goes right through it.

Skylines are alot of fun to drive and own, but they cost alot to keep. I ca afford to buy a R32 GTR if i want one, but i cant afford to maintain it especially if i have to do an engine rebuild. Honestly mate buy a little front wheel drive car and learn to drive. when you finish school get a full time job and then buy one. Its the smarter option.

But good luck either way mate. You got plenty of time to think about it i guess and by the time you're ready to buy i might be ready to sell :D

Juz = an already existing member with a new account.. surely!

If not - get one of these.

http://www.gumtree.com/posting_images/12/2...91d.__big__.jpg

or if you must get RWD

http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y201/Corzza/AE71.jpg

then when you're a growd up, get your skyline.

they'll be worth about $700 by then.

and you could easily afford it with your SAKE money

Hey,

Ha Ha That Is The Truth Smack Bang On My Plate LOL Thanks People...Nice...LOL

Aigght JUZ Be Gone Off This Topic LOL Its Preety Crap, Never Should Of Started It..Thanks For The Help Guys

Apreciated Heaps ;)

Owned my 32 now for over a year and a half. Did a fuel pump the first month and then no dramas since (touch wood) :D

$60 and 400kms?

It's cost me $80+ to do 400kms a week since fuels been over $1.50

Car is completely stock except for wheels. 400kms is around 45L ish for me give or take a few, depending how much I use the power. 200kms of this is done cruising on the freeway once a week, and the drive to work is 10 mins with 3 traffic lights that are rarely red, and because this drive is so short I do my best not to get on boost. Things get quite efficient (and borning might I add lol) when you drive like this.

Granted $60 is probably a little bit lean these days. Tomorrow when I buy fuel I'll re-evaluate :(

Juz - If I knew you in person, I'd punch you square in the mouth if you spoke in your gansta shit.

grow up mate.

do you see anyone else talking like Vanilla Ice in here?

You are but one of Many little skool holleydayz kids that come on here starting stupid shit and lieing to increase the E-respect or something.

Head on over to boostcruising for that type of shit.

and LEARN TO SPELL.

Aiight.. Peace out homes.. Word to your mother..!

Edited by GTST