wats up SAU?

Can you fit 6x9 back speakers into an R33 GTS S2?

This dude at JB's trying to rip me off while i was looking at equipment reckons you cant, but i reckon he is full of shit. There is alot of space back there

any confirmation?

Bryan

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/228022-6x9s-in-skyline-r33/

http://www.skylinesaustralia.com/forums/Fi...33-t113967.html

search ftw :D it's all in there, im gonna be building a shelf for my 33 this week so this thread will come in very handy.

Ric

ahh wicked cheers for that dude

Can you mount the speakers horizontally or do they have to face vertically on the shelf like in that diagram?

not sure mate as i haven't tried it yet... it will probably depend on the particular speaker you get. also i believe having a thicker shelf (making the speakers sit higher) can help clear the holes in the metal parcel shelf. i know it looks a bit crappy with them facing north-south, but with enough experimenting im sure anything's possible.

haha yeh i dont rate facing them north/south. my first car i wanted 6x9's and couldnt fit em, so i spent a f**kload just to get the best rounds I could get. would have sounded sick if i repped and sub and amp with them, cause i was missing out on heaps of power by just going through the head unit.

but really, i rate 6x9's and want em in, instead of having to go through that process again. Im not very good with hands on work and building shit, so there is no way id be able to construct that shelf myself. But, if I was going to get them fitted by a car audio place, do u reckon I could say, actually, u can fit 6x9's this is how it can be done, sorta thing? With the info from that link

yeah im not exactly a handyman either lol.. you can get some mdf from any hardware store to build your shelf, then maybe ask a mate or relative to cut it to shape? if not ask at the hardware store what your options are, but a car audio place wouldn't go cutting wood and stuff for you. Either way you need to replace the stock shelf as its like carboard and the speakers will sound sh1t if you install them.

ahhh ok. do my only option really is to get the shelf done myself. And then get an audio place to install them? i have mates who can put in the speakers, but id prefer audio places just, to get the warranty. Cause ive had some loose wiring before and then suddenly one of ur speakers dont work and ud be like wtf? at least the warrranty covers that. but yeh, ur basically saying if i say to a car place i want to put 6x9's in they will say, yeh well we aint doin that cause u 'cant'.

if you're dead set on going to an install place then do, but it's pretty easy and theyll charge you for doing basically nothing!!

i'm no expert, but your car already should have wires leading to the rear ready to just crimp/solder onto your new speakers, if you're just running them off the head unit it's as easy as plug n play!

my advice would be get your mates to put them in.

if you try the spacers option like usmair did, then you could take it to autobarn etc to have it installed... ive found that they always have a way of making stuff fit, eg. with spacers/extra brackets etc.

something to think about, but by all means have a go yourself first it can't hurt :thumbsup:

wats up SAU?

Can you fit 6x9 back speakers into an R33 GTS S2?

This dude at JB's trying to rip me off while i was looking at equipment reckons you cant, but i reckon he is full of shit. There is alot of space back there

any confirmation?

Bryan

Yes you need spacers, or thicker shelf, or a big hacksaw...

or you could just put a speaker in there that fits (6.5" Coaxial)... but no one ever whats to do that

depending which way you want your 6x9's it doesnt take much to make them fit. the guy who told you they cant fit is a complete idiot!!what i did with mine is just mount them diagonally like this / \ in the shelf. all i had to do was cut the parcel shelf. didnt use spacers ether. just placed insulation under the speakers to stop short outs