If you had the magna full lock while going straight (and I've done this many times in the various FWD's I've owned), then you obviously still had your foot into it.

For an INEXPERIENCED driver, not knowing how to countersteer effectively is what makes RWD's dangerous as opposed to just not going round the corner.

Lol nope. I came off after it understeered to try snap it into oversteer (read: less understeer to the point where it was almost neutral) but it didn't happen, so waited for it to grip up by itself, then tapped brakes to help it because I was running out of road lol.

This was in the rain btw, turning off Wanneroo road where kingsway maccas is.

As for inexperienced.. I'd say I'm inexperienced too. Yet I know how to grab oversteer, it's understeer that I struggle with lol.

Edit: I just hope the no modifications rule is for power mods only, because factory NA Z31 brakes & suspension sucks.

Edited by s2k12
  • Replies 209

they still can do stupid things in a not so powerful car. And honestly its not only the P platers who are driving recklessly these days,

They sure can, but they would be less prone to actually doing anything stupid in a not so powerful car, I think the main thing they are targetting here is speed, I mean thats all you see in the media is to do with speed and young drivers...

Of course it was in the rain, you'd need a heap of hp or some really bald tyres to do it in the dry :(

Haha, bald RE92's and f**ked brakes in the wet on that thing while I was on L's was a little scary to say the least. In hindsight it was stupid to drive that on public roads back then, but we didn't really have much choice. Damn I learnt fast though lol. Something like that, but not on public roads, would be an interesting vehicle to learn car control in..

Eugene, we all acknowledge that fact BUT not every P plater is like you. Therefore the government has to cater for ALL P platers.

Law making like this is something I don't agree with, and will never do so. Making laws in reaction to target a slim minority simply discourages the individual capacity for personal responsibility. Catering for this lack of good judgement and irresposibility makes the problem worse..

Interesting... i come from an well below comfortable family... poor if you like... and alot of people i know have had to tgeach themselves to drive, or get help from older friends... getting your parents to help sometimes isnt that easy... my parents never had a car, and if i asked them to teach me, it was either not enough time or "no you might crash it"... Half of my friends parents have a car or two, yet still they wont teach their kids to drive... makes it just that little harder for ppl like me ya know... i guess what im sayin is, not all parents are willing to spend that valuable time teaching there kids simply because they either dont have the time or are not willing to have there car OWNED!!

Yeah I was like that too, I had to buy my own car, even then my parents didn't want to be in the car with me fearing that I'd crash and they wouldn't have any control over the car (wussies) so they payed for a few lessons with an instructor and if I did well they'd risk it and come for a drive, lol.

Even the RAC said in relation to young people and high performance vehicles there is no link between the two and the statistics back that up, only 2% of all P'plater crashes happen in high performance vehicles.

like I siad, THERE GUNNA CRASH NO MATTER WHAT CAR THEY DRIVE!!!

If they do change the laws to those simlar to the eastern states, I hope they follow it like the other states where only the new drivers after the date of the new laws is affected & the drivers before it would not.

I don't want to go back driving my mum's mummobile, & she doesn't want to drive my line.

Man the bad news just keeps on coming, 1st the government already pushing on further to test the content filtering to the ISPs & now this... :)

Edited by Mayuri Krab

QUOTE([Michael] @ 29 Jul 2008, 02:30 PM) *

if it saves one life, its better than nothing....

QUOTE({bubba] @ 29 Jul 2008, 05:33 PM) *

Exactly.

Whoohoo Captain Karl and Grant the Man will be so happy to hear that one.

Lets ban all cars, trucks, motorbikes and bicycles and we will stop all deaths on the road. Oh sorry lets ban walking at more than a moderate pace as well (heart attacks) and ban lycra on fat people walking in public (just not good taste) and ..... sorry thats just getting silly.

How about make the maximum speed limit 25 kph and fit all vehicles with proximity sensors and linked GPS so they will never be allowed within 10m of each other. That way we get to keep cars and not kill people - what a wonderful land we would live in.

Come on guys how about a bit of personal responsibility and respect to those people we share the planet with.

If we need to start somewhere with cars why don't we try making getting a licence a bit more that a half assed written test in the language of your choice and a practical test that is nothing more the physical basics of keeping your mind on the job long enough to pass a drive around the block.

Even driving schools only teach you how to pass the test not how to drive. Ye pays ye gets ye licence.

I appreciate your passion and I hate seeing unneccesary deaths on the road but you are starting to sound like idealistic wowsers.

A single pronged approach to a complex, multi-causal problem will never work.

:sick:

Scooters? Have you seen the death rate for bike/scooter riders? fck that... give em all some fwd colts... worked for me, handbreakys on dirtroads ftw.

Oh wait what we talking about? oh yeah. Um yeah, buy a rollcage & good seat belts kids, especially if your a 16yr old girl.

Man f**k that, ive seen a scottoer get nailed b4, even seen a guy get run over on a cbr 600f... and not to sound like a sexist pig, but, every time i see or hear about this happening, usually a female driving a big car... fwd and so on...

FAIL!!

Im a freakin P plater with a turbo'd car, Have i crashed yet no? coz ino how to handle my car,And drive resposibly. Its these new 16 yr old straight off there L's from the city and there Mummy n Daddys buy them V8's n sh!t, and then they go out with there mates and show off, and write there cars off... Thats nothing to do with Us P platers, Ive seen 30 yr old do the same freaking thing! Not a complete ban to all P platers! but maybe some sorta month thing, like the red n green plates... IM still voting No!

Oh and ive seen some 4cyl cars anihate skylines, and commodore ss's, So even if they wanted a ban, you cant stop the mods!

Like the red and green thing??... i have been on my P's for just over a year, and still got hit with the .00 alcohol limit shit... even though they said it would not affect people on p's already!!

N/A 4cyls? not many of those around that would spank a turbo6 or v8.

And responsibly? didn't you get hoon lawed?

Agreed, not many NA's would, but i have a mate with a TX3 laser... awd and man that thing is quick..lol

And Kels kinda got dicked on that hoon thing, cop was hungry i reckon... i was right behind her when it happened, the copper pulled right out in front of me and another car... it was the smallest spin ever... but with all those cars they had to get someone i guess!!

if these laws came in and i was on Ps i'd be buying a Type-R straight away...

stupid Government isn't smart enough to put a ban on such cars over east...

well... Type-R or S2000 bahaha...

R32 Golf is also an option with money for anyone that's cashed up...

stupid laws...

im a P plater and had my license for a year and a bit and i nearly spun out turning onto left onto morely drive from wannaroo road, just now coming home from the movies i spun out coz i made a wrong decision, instead of stopping at the light i kept going[not accelerating] and acclerated at the wrong time so i spun out and stalled on the kurb. but this has nothing to do with me having a high powered car. i drive like a granny most times. banning P platers from hp cars wouldnt help and as some of you have said making the driving test include situations which would teach you how to respond. when i spun out it was my fault coz i am inexperienced but i wasnt speeding or hooning around. banning drivers from a certain type of car isnt fair because it will make it harder for the new drivers fomiliarize themselves to their cars and how to drive in different seasons[unless they are an idiot who buys the car thinking they can drive coz they play nfs and watch fast and furious]

Just watched it, the other thing that I got me interested is when they mentioned that they are planning on banning P platers from driving any car that is a V8, turbo or supercharger.

To me all this means is if these laws comes into affect we will just see more "tough" guys hooning around in 1/2 dying v6 commos (or similar tough v6s) from the prehistoric era & doing stupid things.

as if there weren't enough of them already...

No we shouldn't ban EVERYTHING AND NEVER DRIVE AGAIN. fkn retard.

It is a RESTRICTION that is in discussion. Quote all the statistics you want as we all know 80% of statistics are made up on the spot.

Obviously the lacklustre standard of education and training in regards to driving that we currently have doesn't work. Of course I would prefer that to NOT be the case and it is also obvious this latest outcry is a result of that tool putting his 180 into a tree.

There is a VERY clear cut case for NOT allowing new drivers to get directly into a high performance vehicle. If you read my posts you would also see that I think the restrictions should extend to 6CYL FAMILY CARS too. They should be allowed to drive them for work purposes if needed, but not allowed to own them.

Another thought is that P platers should have to pass an advanced driving course of some sorts before being allowed OFF their P's and able to drive a real car.

I'm not even going to bother to respond anymore as all I get back is tanty throwing P platers who dribble shit and think they are the world (some of you excluded, s2k for example).

Edited by bubba

Only issues I see with performance bans, is that an old gutless 253 V8 will probably be banned but a 3800 V6 commodore probably wont. And if they extended the ban to 6cyl cars, then the R31 skyline & Z31 300zx & even the old 202 commodores & kingswoods will be on the ban list, while a corolla of similar power will be fine (think late 80's 100kw 4AGE models).

My want for restrictions isn't so much because I think it'll save someone, because in all honesty, it probably wont. I just want to kill their ego's a bit lol, because THAT is what kills them.

As long as the modification bans are for power mods only, I'll be happy. If the ban is for all mods, including brakes & suspension, well, it'd be a bit hypocritical. Actually, knowing the government, they'll probably ban the lot, leaving me with dangerously shit brakes from the 80's lol.

+1!

and what are people talking about when they say it does not matter what car you drive because you can still speed and have an accident. no shit!

Does not change the fact that the majority of P platers are stupid immature little pricks. And then you want to let them drive around in a car that has more balls than they would know what to do with seeing as theirs have only just dropped themselves. It Sh*t's me to tears the number of P plate Di*k heads i see speeding in busy built up areas. I have had so many little tirds trying to show off and almost clean me up. They don’t have nearly enough time behind a wheel to understand how a car handles and just how dangerous they can be if not respected. If they have the sort of attitude where they are going to show off they will do it no matter what car they drive yes, but the difference is if there showing off in a 1.3L Barina they are far less likely to get them selves in a situation that they are not yet capable of controlling where as you chuck someone in a car with some grunt and it is going to be far easier to get in out of your depth. Plus I don’t know about you guys but if I am driving around in a little Barina or something I am not likely to try and draw any attention to the fact. Where as in some nice big v8 or hotted up turbo powered car you are going to want to show off.

I dont think it should efect the people who are already on P's but believe there is no reason not to inforce these restrictions on any new drivers. It is in every ones best interests at the end of the day. Not just for the driver but for the (16 year old girl) other people whos lives are in the hands of the yound driver sat next to them who has no idea what they are doing.

Ahh, I was going to reply to this before but lost it in the merge lol.

I disagree with alot of what you said.

Firstly, it feels like everyone speeds in built up areas. The amount of people tailgating, flashing, beeping, etc. that I've had from people telling me to go faster is shocking. But I don't think I've had another P-plater do it yet.

Secondly, pretty sure I'm not the only P-plater that drives better when I have a passenger(s) and/or there is other people around. I don't do skids to show off, quite the opposite infact, I only do them when the roads are dead, for the fun of it. I have a friend who has a Z31 and an excel. The excel get thrashed on almost every corner, the zed only rarely. Because he has respect for the zed, unlike the excel.

And lastly, can you please use paragraphs next time, it was a little hard to read as one big lump of text.

Edit: A P-plater chick in a celica let me in today, after several fully licenced drivers went as close as possible to not let me in. Pretty sure that me and her aren't the only ones that always let people in either.

Edited by s2k12