Hi all , someone on that form mentions tuning an RB25DET on E85 and the owner seems pretty chuffed .

From what I've read E85 is I think now available through two outlets in Sydney , one at 127 Victoria Rd Roselle and I believe another on Warringa Rd Forrestville ?

I rocked up to the Roselle one yesterday and filled a couple of smallish fuel containers (17L) so I can boost the E10 that my dinosaur Subaru RX Turbo is running to E15 . If the mileage and performance stays the same I'll try mixing in a slightly greater amount to get E20 .

The first thing you notice about this stuff is the smell - almost too good to pour in your tank !

A feller from Willall ? Racing I think in Adelaide is singing huge praise for this stuff having tuned later Commode door V8's to run it . He mentions that they can feed a fair bit more ignition advance with E85 and it tunes a bit like VP109 or Sunnoco 110 octane ULP .

He's also tuned a few "Ricers" and they like the stuff as well .

I've just finished reading through this thread http://www.ls1.com.au/forum/showthread.php?t=99917 and there are many interesting opinions floating around .

The ones I wanted to know about are the fuel system ills of using E85 in a system not originally intended for it .

The few snipets mentioned were injector O rings changed when installing larger squirters , people reckoned the factory 11 yr old ones looked pretty maggoty anyway so starting out with new genuine ones pre E85 was a good starting point .

A few have mentioned fuel lines turning a bit gluey but again I suspect they are factory originals on 10 + yr old cars .

Can we assume that standards for fuel system hoses and seals have changed to cope with ethanol blended fuels ?

Lets hope we can get more E85 servos esp in Sydneys southern and western suburbs . I have a feeling that once it's more readily available and a few more cars tuned for E85 it'll really take off .

Cheers A .

Edited by discopotato03

I was a bit skeptical about this fuel at first, but have heard some great factual info about this fuel from my tuner.

Higher ron rating

Burns colder,able to run more timing without knock showing

Very consistent quality from batch to batch

Cleans your fuel system,including rust from your tank.

And a hell of alot cheaper

My tuner is starting testing on it very soon,and wants to make sure that it does whats been claimed before he recommends it to customers.

Well it's quite popular in the US and the bald headed kangaroo often hops in the same direction .

I cynically suspect Shell worked out that achieving 100 RON was cheaper and easier with ethanol blended garden variety ULP . I also think that the dreaded eco natzi can be more easily mollified with this stuff than anything else currently available .

The impending Generals Alcodore means they must be taking this fuel pretty seriously .

I reckon bring it on , 105/110 Ron at the servo for ~ $1.26L sounds like a godsend . Everything I've read points to this stuff producing emissions a lot less "illegal" than most/all petrol tuned cars so another ace up the sleeve .

One thing that also looks positive is that the greater consumption quoted may not work out to be as bad as I thought . Me thinks that possibly enough extra timing can be screwed it to make an engine more efficient in it's use of fuel and air so you could possibly come out in front performance and cost wise .

My experience with the water cooled dak dak , stop laughing Gary , on E10 is a bit more low down torque and slightly better throttle response . Fuel consumption is unchanged - 10 to the 100 . My self blended E15 is in at the moment so I'll get back on that in 7 days .

If this can be had from a 282K old 2 valve/cyl dunger I think more sophisticated engines should do far better . The LS1 mob are talking about 10.5-11:1 CR turbocharged engines working well so that's food for thought .

I really should have gone for 740's instead of 555's , cheers A .

Only downside is, I don't expect it to stay at $1.26, as soon as the gov't stop the ethanol subsidies to the companies and as soon as they tax it at the same rate I reckon it will be as or more.

small world!

still happy, useing about 2-3 more litres per hundred, but i'm a hoon.

running a gt30 around 22 psi my 740's are just hitting 90%, at 7.8 afr's

next ill need a fuel pressure gauge to lift the pressure a smidge

180 or 200 , yes it was your input at LS Edit that I was reading . I'd certainly like to hear anything you have to say about your R33 GTS25T E85 experience .

I now have a spare S1 RB25DET head to play with and I'm beginning to wonder if material could be added to it's chambers to pump the static CR to 9.5:1 - if this fuel becomes readily available . There's alwas water injection to fall back on if it doesn't eventuate .

Very interesting about the 740's and 90% duty cycle , I'm not so sure 555's will be enough - anyone want to swap new for new Nismo 555's for 740's ?

Cheers A .

No worries disco, I havn't any power numbers to relay yet, but my seat of the pants dyno is reading much higher!

I have read drag racers in the US lifting CR for the e85 by shaving the head, couldn't say whether this would be possible for the RB's.

Cold starts aren't great but i have improved it by adding more cranking duty at 10+(double), I dont see this being a prob in summer.

I tune my own car more as hobby and have been trying to get some info from Ls1 and silvia sites but it seems all they want to share is whats in my wallet!

The scary part is this stuff just wont knock so I havn't pushed the timeing yet only 2-3 degrees more so far, will need to get on the dyno to see where the torque peaks, for the first time since i started fiddleing with fc's i'm considering unplugging the hand controller, dont need to worry whether it's knocking anymore!

Edited by 180or200

Yes I think that if E85 gives us the ability to run as much timing as does any good that's way to go , sort of what Mafia was doing with water/alcohol injection .

I have to wonder if engines like his had 9.5 to 10:1 CR and a larger turbine housing what the result would be - provided of course there was some way to prevent detonation .

I may be optimistic but it sounds like the potential is there .

Can anyone remember what the GMS cars ran CR wise (9.4:1 ?) and what the fuel was - probably some witches brew .

Cheers A .

Hi all , someone on that form mentions tuning an RB25DET on E85 and the owner seems pretty chuffed .

From what I've read E85 is I think now available through two outlets in Sydney , one at 127 Victoria Rd Roselle and I believe another on Warringa Rd Forrestville ?

I rocked up to the Roselle one yesterday and filled a couple of smallish fuel containers (17L) so I can boost the E10 that my dinosaur Subaru RX Turbo is running to E15 . If the mileage and performance stays the same I'll try mixing in a slightly greater amount to get E20 .

The first thing you notice about this stuff is the smell - almost too good to pour in your tank !

A feller from Willall ? Racing I think in Adelaide is singing huge praise for this stuff having tuned later Commode door V8's to run it . He mentions that they can feed a fair bit more ignition advance with E85 and it tunes a bit like VP109 or Sunnoco 110 octane ULP .

He's also tuned a few "Ricers" and they like the stuff as well .

I've just finished reading through this thread http://www.ls1.com.au/forum/showthread.php?t=99917 and there are many interesting opinions floating around .

The ones I wanted to know about are the fuel system ills of using E85 in a system not originally intended for it .

The few snipets mentioned were injector O rings changed when installing larger squirters , people reckoned the factory 11 yr old ones looked pretty maggoty anyway so starting out with new genuine ones pre E85 was a good starting point .

A few have mentioned fuel lines turning a bit gluey but again I suspect they are factory originals on 10 + yr old cars .

Can we assume that standards for fuel system hoses and seals have changed to cope with ethanol blended fuels ?

Lets hope we can get more E85 servos esp in Sydneys southern and western suburbs . I have a feeling that once it's more readily available and a few more cars tuned for E85 it'll really take off .

Cheers A .

Martin Donnan from Willall Racing in Adelaide is the guy I reckon your thinking of. I overheard a conversation between him and some others at a race day at Mallala regarding this new E85 fuel.

Thought i'd better see what this e85 was showing, bottom lines are from a dyno dynamics run against a mainline, so all being equal looks awesome.

On pulp I had alot of knock if I pushed past 240 rwkw, as u can see was able to put in more psi, awesome stuff!

the torque line is arse about.

gallery_34685_2764_65001.jpg

Thought i'd better see what this e85 was showing, bottom lines are from a dyno dynamics run against a mainline, so all being equal looks awesome.

On pulp I had alot of knock if I pushed past 240 rwkw, as u can see was able to put in more psi, awesome stuff!

Not that i am a non believer (i was when V-Power Racing RB26s above 300rwkw picked up a tasty 20-30rwkw midrange)

And probably will have a map for the E85 here in Vic as its out any day now i believe.

But...

If your knocking above 240rwkw with a GT30 on PULP - you seriously have problems dude with the tune or other associated parts.

The fuel is just masking a clear problem and that graph is inflated because of the fuel countering whatever issues you have

Not that i am a non believer (i was when V-Power Racing RB26s above 300rwkw picked up a tasty 20-30rwkw midrange)

And probably will have a map for the E85 here in Vic as its out any day now i believe.

But...

If your knocking above 240rwkw with a GT30 on PULP - you seriously have problems dude with the tune or other associated parts.

The fuel is just masking a clear problem and that graph is inflated because of the fuel countering whatever issues you have

your right the fuel is masking a problem, heat, the gt3076 i have is bastard with a std 25 comp cover, i presume thats why it hits the wall, just cant flow anymore! and is it inflated with 4-5 psi pushed in it!

Edited by 180or200